We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   509 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,364 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is the second stay at Movenpick Karon Beach. Please refer to our first review back in Dec 2011 where we rated movenpick as faultless. unfortunately we did not encounter the same for our second experience. We do love this resort but discovered a few floors this time around which was a shame as it was our honeymoon. Our review is based on a deluxe plunge pool villa and our experience at the time. Any other time with no construction would have been 5 stars again.

Positives (see review dec 2011)
1. Staff - all so amazing & friendly
2. Gardens - best I have ever seen
3. Breakfast - still the best I have encountered around the world
4. Reception lobby area - Amazing
5. The bed - hard to get out of.

Negatives:
1. The hotel is in need of some maintenance and that is exactly what is happening now. Our view is of a major construction site :( Also the whole frontage of the resort is under construction with many of the hotel restaurants not open, including the renowned pizza restaurant. The noise of electric saws and nail guns can be heard all day. A negative for us but a positive for people contemplating visiting in the near future once renovations complete.
2. The dive pool is also under maintenance and not open. No biggie
3. The deluxe plunge pool villa is beautiful but the plunge pool itself is quite grotty. We would not get in it
4. Not the hotel for a honeymoon. It is very much a child friendly hotel and there appear to be more screaming children than Adults. BIG issue for us
5. Upon arrival the reception staff did not know it was our honeymoon nor what our honeymoon package included. We had to ask for our complimentary champaign and basket of fruit. Not a major drama. What is more concerning however was being placed directly opposite the construction when equivalent rooms were available away form the construction.

Hotel Suggestions:
- Make the Coconut Grove Pool an Adults only pool so there is a sanctuary for honeymooners or adults with no children.
- Tile the internal courtyards in the deluxe plunge pool villa so they look more inviting. Perhaps some plants.
- Have the reception staff know exactly what the honeymoon packages includes to make honeymoon arrivals extra special.

We do love Thailand and have many fond memories of Movenpick. We would definitely return to stay here but perhaps not until we have children (which could be soon).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent experience whilst staying with us at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket and we would also like to thank you for your continuing loyalty to our hotel.

We regret that you were disturbed by noisy children during your stay. We are reviewing your suggestion of keeping the Coconut pool if not a children free but at least quiet area.

As we continuously strive to provide the best of product and service for a more enjoyable experience at times it is necessary to make improvements. An increased repair and maintenance program is presently in process including progressive room refurbishment

Your comment regarding the lack of knowledge of our front team has been discussed with Director of Rooms so that our consistency of service can be improved. We will also set up training programs for our staff and make a constant effort to improve our standards.

Again, thank you for your value comments. We depend on our guests to let us know when there is a breakdown in the first class service we strive to maintain. We hope you will choose the Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach and give us an opportunity to restore your opinion of our service and facilities.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    415
    144
    63
    35
See reviews for
489
532
23
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Excellent place to stay- the staff are fantastic, the food is amazing! The rooms are spotless air conditioned with a king bed ! The spa is too expensive and so too is having your laundry done - but too minutes onto the street and you can have both for half the cost!! Totally recommend this resort but its the staff that make it such a wonderful place especially Simon and Pal !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and we are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendations. We sincerely look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the MoevenPick for 8 nights back at the start of June. We thought we would try something different after spending several previous holidays over the years in neighbouring Patong.
Really enjoyed our stay at this resort. Good international feel with guests from a range of countries. Set in luscious tropical gardens. From check in to check out resort staff go out of their way to ensure your time is memorable. Stayed in a Deluxe garden villa near to the Coconut Grove Pool. The room was great. It was just a couple of metres to walk to the pool. Another busier pool with a swim up bar was located a short walk from our Villa. Love the way housekeeping turn down the bed every afternoon. They even tidying up every electrical cord from all our devices we have on charge. The interior of the room is tastefully decorated with Thai influenced décor and wall paintings. Only criticism I have of the room one aspect of the bathroom. It featured a shower in a bath setup. The sides of the bath were fairly high.That was not a large concern as there is another shower outside in the private courtyard. The king size bed was extremely comfortable ensuring a great night sleep. Being a Villa you don’t hear a single noise as you sometimes get when you have adjoining rooms. Breakfast was superb as you would expect featuring the usual Asian and western favourites. All served fresh. The Resort is well located in Karon. Some great restaurants are just a short walk with a 7 11 also just located across the road. If you need the beach it just a short walk through the hotel grounds and across the road. Patong it’s just a short 10-15 min taxi ride.
If we ever come back to Phuket we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay in a Deluxe Poolside Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are happy to know that we have exceeded your expectations. Your appreciation of the services and facilities on offer is greatly appreciated and will an added inspiration to do our utmost in delivering the high standard of service we strive for. Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach is delighted to keep up your expectations. We will definitely look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I'm about to conclude my stay here with my two kids aged 9 and 10.
We have all had an amazing time. The facilities and friendliness of the staff has been outstanding and we have truly had a wonderful stay.
From the friendly staff at breakfast in the morning, through to the life guards and staff at the kids club, it has been so enjoyable.
We had the unfortunate circumstance of my son getting unwell but the resort nurse took great care of him and the other staff also showed care and concern. I felt so reassured by their professionalism.
Nothing is too much of a hassle!
We are staying in the main building and are not at all impacted by the current renovations. We have easy access to the markets and town, however, we happily spend most of our day in and around the pool.
Happy hour is great and really makes each day so relaxing.
I'd highly recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your entire stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the personalized service our nurse extended. It will be motivating for her to hear this.

We do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcoming you and family back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent kids club, friendly atmosphere and great location. I was a little anxious coming to a resort hotel as our usual holiday preference is a villa rental but we were very happy with our choice. We stayed in one of the garden villas as opposed to the main hotel and it was perfect for the family.

Room Tip: Garden villas away from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am indeed delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your entire stay with us. We will look forward to your family's next visit and wish you pleasant journeys.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed in Garden View room. Nice room. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Lovely grounds and the nicest accom at Karon beach. Booked from Wotif.com which meant we got a ridiculously cheap price with breakfast and wifi included.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Your appreciation of the facilities on offer is greatly appreciated and will an added inspiration to do our utmost in delivering the high standard of service we strive for.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've visited the Movenpick Karon Beach for Honeymoon 3 years ago and it was one of the best experiences of a resort hotel; when returning to Thailand for my daughters 1st birthday, I knew I'd like to stay at the Movenpick again but for longer.

After I booked the Movenpick I noticed that the reviews were quite mixed and significant number of people mentioned it had poor service from the staff. I can truly say that I feel sorry for the staff at the hotel, they are significantly short staffed and overworked given the number of guests. Not something I experienced during my first visit. For example, staff at breakfast had to seat guests, serve coffee and clear tables; when usually this is separate activities at other hotels.

I was also disappointed that the Coconut Pool is now exclusive to villa guests only! This places this resort (in my opinion) as a single pool hotel! I do not count the scuba pool as it's so small, it's not even worth visiting. For a hotel of this size, a single pool available is not good enough!

I do agree with other comments that the hotel is dated and in need of renovation. Everything looked exactly the same as 3 years ago and the up keep of furniture and deco is poor. I even fell through a chair, hurting my back, in my room without any apology from the hotel; just simply change the chair for a new one.

Being a holiday with my daughter, this resort does not cater well for strollers. We had to carry the stroller up and down a lot of stairs to go from the main hotel building to the pool or to walk to the back of the resort. A few ramps wouldn't hurt given the number of kids at this resort.

The main positive was the accommodating nature of the front desk to supporting our efforts for my daughter's first birthday. They were able to knock up a cake to our specifications (given it was Thai New Year and all bakeries in the area were closed). They also allowed us to have a little photo shoot with our photographer in the grounds which is normally chargeable for weddings etc.

Although I love this resort, I don't think I'd return unless significant improvements were made.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor following your return stay at the Mövenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket. Although your stay dates back to a couple of months, over the Thai New Year celebrations in April, comments from our guests remain an important element of our overall quality assurance process.

Your concerns about the lack of service staff during your stay have been discussed with the relevant management team and action plans have been made to rectify any short staffing situation.

Indeed, since your recent stay, we have initiated room renovations in one of the hotel blocks, and have plans to gradually bring technological and physical enhancements to all our rooms; until this is fully completed, an increased repair and maintenance program will be running in parallel. Our sea-front outlets have also undergone a major lift-up for the past 2 months, and shall re-open soon with a total new feeling. We are also adding even greater facilities for families with young kids as well as physically challenged guests with the installation of ramps over a series of staircases, which happens to be one of the points that you raised in your review; to-date, two ramps have been completed to allow easier access around the main pool and to the main restaurant Pacifica, while a third one will be completed within the next week or so.

I was certainly pleased to read that the celebration of your daughter’s birthday was most memorable, and have passed on your comments to the Front Office team.

Your opinion is very important to us, and we assure you that the first class and consistent service you expect when staying at the Mövenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket is our primary goal. I will be glad to personally care of your next stay should you decide to give us a chance to regain your confidence.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Address: 509 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Family Hotel in Karon
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket is the perfect place for relaxation in some of the most beautiful natural surroundings in Thailand. Here, all your wishes will be fulfilled in the perfect peace and well-being of a tropical atmosphere. At the Moevenpick Resort and Spa you are one step closer to paradise. In one of the Kingdom of Thailands most enchanting natural settings you will experience a genuine dream destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Movenpick Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.