We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   509 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 hotels in Karon
Cape Otway, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pool area is fantastic. The children loved kids club. We have been there twice and will return. The family villas by the pool are fantastic, clean and serviced well. Restaurants in the hotel are good and the town is great to explore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    368
    133
    58
    33
See reviews for
448
484
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our first Thailand experience. Arriving late at night, we were warmly greeted with cool towels and a refreshing drink, upgraded to The Residence rooms and driven down with our bags.
The rooms were large and well appointed. We had a ground floor room which meant we could access the private pool directly from our back door.
Bottled water was provided for us when ever we asked, the staff were lovely and accomodating.
Breakfast was amazing, I had something different every morning.
We ate at 2 of the 3 restaurants and loved them.
Appart from my husbands fall in the room, which he now needs surgery for, and has put a bad taint on our holiday,we would go back to the Movenpick every year.

Room Tip: The Residence was well away from the main pool and has close beach and street access and sunset view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent experience whilst staying with us at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket.
It is a pleasure to learn that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket should your travels bring you back to Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed our time at this beautiful resort. I would definitely go back if I am lucky enough to visit Phuket again.

Plus:
-The main pool is just magnificent (clean and perfect temperature)
-The sea view villas have their own pools and jacuzzi (absolutely breathtaking)
-The price is awesome considering the complementary breakfast (great quality) and the free Internet
- not far from the airport and interesting beaches
- taxi service always available
-located in a very nice neighborhood and close to a Tesco store
-walking distance from one of the best restaurants in Phuket (ocean view restaurant)
-great for family vacations
-very nice and polite staff
-extremely clean and comfortable (we seriously did not want to leave)
-this hotel is listed as 4 star. Seriously, I have been to 5 star hotels that were not as good as this (to me it was a 5 star hotel with all the 5 star services, spa, food, pool, etc)

Minus:
Well I don't have much to say other than the fact that our jacuzzi was not heating up the first night, which was unfortunate but nothing to discredit the hotel. They came by the next day and fixed it for us.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide - Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived at the resort quite late due to our late flight but nonetheless were greeted warmly and were checked in promptly. Our room was lovely, we stayed in a Plunge Pool Villa for 7 nights which my only fault would be that the bed was too hard for my liking. It wasn't until the next morning that we got to look around the resort and admire the lovely gardens that surrounded it.

We had breakfast with the other villa guests which is a separate area to where the hotel guests ate. We were always greeted by the friendly waiting staff and given lots of attention. The breakfast was incredible with a very large selection to cater to everyones needs. There were never any crowds which made this a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.

The main pool was busy at times, with the majority of guests sun baking instead of swimming which made finding a sun bed a little hard at times. The swim up bar was wonderful with happy hour between 11am-12pm.

We dined at the resorts restaurants most of the time and could not fault the food or the service. The food served was delicious and the service from the waiting staff was very professional and attentive. This was definitely a big highlight of my stay at the resort. The pizzas at the Sand Bar are the best I have ever tried and the cocktails were incredible - Mango Dream was my favourite!

The location of the resort was right near the beachfront and within walking distance to connivence stores and tuk tuks/taxis.

The resort is a little pricey compared to others in the area, but you do get what you pay for and personally, I prefer to spend a bit more to receive high quality accommodation and service.

Movenpick Karon is definitely a place I would come back too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform TA of your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach.The Team will be happy to hear that our guests are leaving the resort with happy memories.
We are proud when we achieve good notes , whether it is the modern swiss touches, our passion for food and beverage or the warmth of our service we lovei that people visit us again and again.
Look forward to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The bridal party stayed in this hotel, beautiful stylish rooms, but we visited for the day for the hen's party. It was exceptionally catered and the cocktails were tasty. Activities included pool swimming and pool bar, cocktail-making class and manicure & pedicures.
We all enjoyed our time here, even as visitors, we were warmly regarded by staff, and able to use all the facilities. The bathrooms are great, and the pool is huge and great for kids!
We were given a large outdoor dining area to ourselves, unlimited alcohol for 2 hrs, and everything was well-organised.
The reception staff were fantastic, great english, and even helped us with our hair styling on the wedding day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Residences at Moevenpick were fabulous for our 12 day family vacation. The rooms were huge and beautifully appointed. The hotel staff were totally accommodating and maintenance issues dealt with promptly. All of the four pools in the resort were great, but we loved having a Residence pool that was gated for all of the 30 residences and found that there would usually be only 2 or 3 families at most at this pool area at any time. The residences are on the beach side of the resort with access directly to the beach road. The hotel is in a great spot in Karon Beach and has a market right next door and shops and restaurants nearby in either direction. Gardens, restaurants and facilities were all faultless. We would highly recommend anyone prepared to pay a little more for a bit of extra luxury to stay here and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easy access but could be a little noisier and less private due to other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 11 days in a family villa which was fantastic. Very clean. Staff very friendly, huge variety for breakfast. Grounds were so well maintained and so beautiful. Cannot understand anyone whinging about this resort. Service overall was very very good. Minutes from shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend to both families and couples.

Room Tip: Family villa ideal as it is very spacious, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 verandas and overlooking the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Address: 509 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket is the perfect place for relaxation in some of the most beautiful natural surroundings in Thailand. Here, all your wishes will be fulfilled in the perfect peace and well-being of a tropical atmosphere. At the Moevenpick Resort and Spa you are one step closer to paradise. In one of the Kingdom of Thailands most enchanting natural settings you will experience a genuine dream destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo, Jetsetter and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Movenpick Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.