We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normally hate resort type hotels but this one was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   509 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Weekend
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Karon
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Normally hate resort type hotels but this one was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I would not normally stay in a resort hotel but the girlfriend booked it on a whim. However was pleasantly surprised andI can not fault this hotel, it was excellent with absolutely fabulous service from the staff who were so friendly. The location of the hotel was fine next to the beach. The room was a villa with a plunge pool which was fab, very clean.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a villa with a plunge pool , they are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 644Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October for 5 nights as part of our Honeymoon. We decided to splurge a bit seeing as it was also our first overseas trip and we booked a Penthouse Plunge Pool Villa. The room was massive and we really enjoyed the rooftop area - plenty of time spent lazing on the daybed reading a book or napping between dips in the pool.

The resort gardens are immaculately maintained - the gardeners do a fantastic job! We also spent plenty of time swimming in the main pool & drinking cocktails at the swim up bar. If you go and Prin is working be sure to order a mojito - he makes the best ones we've ever had!

Udomrat or "Tony" on the Concierge team is the other staff member to look out for... He always knew our names and room number and was always there ready to help no matter what we were after. That said - all the staff were great and very helpful.

Would definitely recommend this resort as a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Plunge Pool Villas are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansPhuket, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
thank you for taking the time to express your happiness and overall experience of our service while staying in our resort. It is always encouraging to read when we meet guests expectations , as our team will be happy to hear that our good service will be noticed . we are looking forward of welcoming you back to our Resort when ever your travel brings you back to Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel has great grounds and nice pools. The buffet breakfast is great. The rooms themselves are okay, but are not overly spacious. The ocean deluxe rooms had underwhelming views. Rooms are clean. Located just across the road from the beach but it is a fair walk from the hotel rooms to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here in early November for our honeymoon. Got upgraded to a plunge pool room by the lovely lady at reception (didn't even tell them it was our honeymoon, maybe they guessed!). Hotel grounds are very well kept and especially pretty at night as they are all lit up. The pools are also very nice and they have a good fitness centre.

We ate in two of the restaurants there, one was a Gaucho style restaurant which was OK the other restaurant was the Pacifica where they have breakfast in the morning, we had two buffet meals one was seafood the other an Arabian night, we really enjoyed the food and there was a very good selection, the breakfast buffet was also very good each morning.

Staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, our only recommendation for improvement would be with the housekeeping, We were doing a PADI divers course and arrived back to the room at about 4-5pm on a number of occasions and the room was not made which didn't bother us so much but then housekeeping would knock to tidy the room and disturb us, this is my only complaint.

Room Tip: The resort is quite big, so a room near reception is handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingcrisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved this place! This was the first place we stayed on our recent honeymoon and were here during the third week of November 2012. We arrived at around 12 noon and had to wait until 2pm for our room to be ready which was fair enough as some checkouts were 12 noon by others. We sat in the Kinnaree bar and had a few drinks then toured the resort while we waited. The resort gardens were immaculate with not a leaf out of place. No rubbish, mess or weeds! The buildings all looked in tip top condition.
Upon arriving at our room (we had a Deluxe Plunge Pool Room), we were stunned, it was so beautiful. There was a cute decoration on the bed for our honeymoon that night mad of fresh flowers! The room was cleaned twice daily around 9-10am most mornings with our bed turned down every night around 5pm.
The buffet breakfast was amazing and beutifully set in the Pacifica restaurant overlooking the pool daily. The selection of food was amazing. We also ate tea here which was a great mix of different foods and decent prices. Food was also eaten at El Gaucho which was great view of the beach and road area, The sand bar which made great pizzas and cocktails, and the pool bar which was good for snack style food.
We didnt go to the Spa, nearly did and found the prices were on the high side but overall not too bad! We got a massage at the place to the left of the back of the resort close to the markets and for 400 BHT found this was great value too!
The local area of Karon was good for a walk around and the Movenpick is well situated in this area with easy access to Patong via tuk tuk and also to 7/11 for supplies.
All in all, i would have to say that with the modern surroundings in our room and the lush gardens, together with the very professional and friendly staff, this made for a very pleasing visit. Would i come back here......? For sure and with bells on!

Room Tip: If you are on your honeymoon be sure to ask for an upgrade as you are entitled to one with their ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Waverley Vic Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here early November 2012, upgraded to a garden villa which was very worthwhile as you enjoy several benefits such as King beds, garden area, unlimited water, large shower bath room and cofee machine. The most comfortable bed we have had in Thailand after 7 visits here. Tremendous buffet breakfast with huge variety. Lovely manicured grounds and the staff are very nice and helpful. Beach just across the road and like eveywhere in Thailand you pay for use of a sun bed. We prefer the beach at Kata (a short taxi tuk tuk ride)as it is a lot quieter in the sea. Another benefit of a villa is that you have exclusive access to the Coconut Pool which is away from a lot of the kids in the main pool. Only negative is perhaps the price of drinks which seemed very high however you can easily buy outside or at the beach a lot cheaper.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Villa rooms although more costly are great and situated in the garden area away from the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob001_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Movenpick early Nov.for 11 nights in an ocean view room in the main building with my wife and 4 year old , the resort is great for familys , the pool area ,gardens are a nice sanctuary and the staff were friendly and helpful . Our room was on the 3rd floor which overlooked the pool area and had a nice size balcony, unfortunatly the way the resort is built you dont get 180 degree views, our room was old but well maintained and the room attendants did an exellent job every day, the beach is about a 5 min walk from main building and was easy to get to, we had a pram with us and had no problems getting down onto the beach and back, i would go back to this resort

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Address: 509 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Karon
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#17 Family Hotel in Karon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket is the perfect place for relaxation in some of the most beautiful natural surroundings in Thailand. Here, all your wishes will be fulfilled in the perfect peace and well-being of a tropical atmosphere. At the Moevenpick Resort and Spa you are one step closer to paradise. In one of the Kingdom of Thailand's most enchanting natural settings you will experience a genuine dream destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Moevenpick Resort and Spa Karon Beach Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Movenpick Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing