We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent service at Andaman”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Andaman Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
Andaman Seaview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Karon Soi 4, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Karon
K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
““Excellent service at Andaman””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently I stayed at Andaman Hotel and I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent service. Good location. Rooms good size. The staff were always friendly and willing to help. Mosty notable was a lovely girl by the name of Ning. She was always friendly, and solved a couple of minor problems regarding the room about aircondition not working and reception stall always good helpful. The food at the hotel was excellent and I enjoyed the breakfast especially! I would certainly return to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    233
    73
    14
    9
See reviews for
166
337
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm so relieved to see some balanced reviews for this hotel coming through now. We stayed in December 2012 and I have been hesitant about posting a review as all the rest were glowing reports and I wandered if we had missed something special about the hotel.
The location is good, opposite the beach (which is lovely) but as another person has mentioned the area of Karon/Kata has changed a lot over the last few years as have the type of tourist that now seem to stay there.
The rooms are quite tired, there are large gaps between any door frame so we got lots of insect bites from bugs coming in plus the door that could be used for adjoining rooms isn't sound proof so woken up each morning by the people next door at 6.30am going to breakfast.
The bathroom has really poor lighting, limited space to put cosmetics on and our sink leaked the whole time.
Balconies are tiny and with large chairs so make it virtually impossible to sit comfortably.
Whilst check-in and check-out were very speedy any questions to the reception staff - even "do you know how much a taxi to Nai Harn beach would be", were met with blank looks, normally reception staff would have jumped at the chance of trying to organise a hotel taxi.
The room was often cleaned very late in the day i.e after 5pm, which isn't great if you have spent the day on the beach and want to come back and once the room wasn't even cleaned at all.
I would go back to Karon again but I'm sure there's got to be better hotels - even if this one is meant to be number 4 on the ranking on Tripadvisor.............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was the last of 3 properties we stayed at during our recent trip to Thailand and my review is probably colored by the fact that we liked the previous two much better. Also, the checkin and checkout experiences left much to be desired. More on that at the end of the review.

The hotel itself is in a good location across the street from Karon Beach though it can take a while to cross the street because of the cross traffic. Also, the hotel has no lounge chairs and umbrellas of their own on the beach; these need to be rented from a private operator.

The property itself, while of somewhat old construction, has been kept in mostly good shape. I agree with other reviewers who say it is 3 star at best. The once exception to the state of the rooms is that there was rust/mold on the flexible hose to the showerhead in the tubs in both of our rooms. We had the Superior rooms on the ground floor that connected in the back to the swimming pool which was a nice design touch. One thing to note is that there are plantation style windows between the bathroom and the living areas and their construction does not allow for complete privacy from other occupants while in the bathroom. This may be a problem for some guests though it wasn't for us.

Breakfast was self-service and in an area with open walls which allowed the local birds to drop by. We found this cute but could see that other guests were annoyed by this. The selection was large and diverse.

The staff is very polite in general but, even those at the Front Desk, struggle with English. The hotel and the neighborhood must be popular with people from the erstwhile Soviet block countries because the signs and menus were in Cyrillic; I wonder if the staff's spoken Russian is better than their English.

Now for the big negatives. At check-in, they asked for the rooms to be paid in advance and ran our credit cards. Then they told us the hotel was full and gave us a strong pitch to move to other of their other properties, either at Patong which is not too far away or at Khao Lak which is 2+ hours away. After strong protests from us, it being evening already, they backed off and said this was only a suggestion that would improve our quality of stay. I think this was unprofessional since they took our money before bringing this up.

Also, they said that we could settle our accounts in cash when we checked out even though they had run the credit cards. At actual checkout, they said we had paid at checkin and it was too late to change the form of payment.

I'm still having a hard time this was entirely due to language/communication problems and it cast a shadow over our stay though I have not dinged the overall rating because of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If I had to use just one word to describe this hotel, it would be this: avoid!

Old and dirty (hairs in the shower from previous occupants) with supremely unfriendly staff (not all - but reception was particularly bad though) for whom any request was met with the sort of reaction you might expect if you'd asked them to perhaps donate a kidney as opposed to, say, organise a taxi to the airport.

The room was probably chic sometime in the mid 70s; an era from which the television, furniture and bathroom would no doubt feel at home. Two crappy lumpy pillows, two threadbare towels whose best days were long gone, a shower that alternated between freezing cold and boiling hot.

The good? It was close to the beach. And, err - that's about it. Don't be fooled by the photos of the pool - it's really a small moat with far too few loungers for the size of the hotel.

The worst part was the price. Ok, so we stayed over new years eve - you expect a price hike - but I'm now back at the Sofitel in Bangkok which is costing me half the price for twice as many days - and _everything_ is twenty times better than this dump.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndamanSeaview, Manager at Andaman Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Francis

Greeting from Andaman Seaview hotel

On behalf of Andaman Seaview Management team please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at the Andaman Seaview Hotel.
We strive to ensure all our customer experience the best visits possible during their travels. We always take every complaint seriously and we will keep your comment to improve our service. Please trust us for next visit we will treat you as a VIP guest.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Sincerely,
Andaman Seaview Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent 6 nights here over new year 2013 period. Very clean hotel, incredibly friendly staff. Included breakfast was excellent with a great choice for all tastes. Stayed in a Superior room with pool access which was ample in size and cleaned and maintained daily. Location is great for beach lovers, out of the drive across the road and your there. Plenty of free bottled water supplied daily. Check in and check out were quickly and efficiently dealt with. We certainly have no complaints about using this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Spa was very reasonably priced for a hotel spa which in Thailand are usually a rip off but not in this case and our visit was a truly fantastic experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review from Bangkok and am still confused by the tripadvisor ranking of Andaman Seaview. The only accurate one I saw was a rater commenting not to expect 4-star quality. The staff are extremely friendly and the location in Karon is very good. Across from the beach and an easy walk to shopping areas/restaurants. Additionally, the common areas of the hotel are very nice. Decks, pretty pools, well kept landscape. However the rooms that you see in the photos on here are not accurately depicted.

We were expecting simple, non-luxury, but still clean and newish looking. Any one of the following observations would not normally turn me off, however when all of the following are present, it's disappointing.

Lighting in bathroom dark and inadequate
Paint peeling off excessively from doors
Chrome/stainless fixtures very dull and worn
Grout in tile and tub sealing all mildewy
Unclean shower (excessive hair all over wall from previous occupant(s))
Shower door old old and no lighting in shower
Front door had daylight showing through all three sides when shut
Front door did not secure well: took full weight leaning in plus finess to throw deadbolt
Lighting in room poor
All fixtures pretty wornout

My wife and I weren't looking for anything special but our room showed way too much mileage for us to be comfortable and confident. We ended our stay early and changed hotels. If you're not expecting a lot and get a good deal, there are many positive qualities about the Andaman, but everything I wrote is an accurate observation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Seaview end of November. The hotel, though older is very well maintained and very clean. The staff were very friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor with an ocean view. Small balconey but did not use it much so that was fine. The breakfast was excellent. Who knew that ice cream could become a breakfast staple. Great food right on the beach. There are tons of massage places right outside and we enjoyed a few of them. Also the 4 seafood restaurants right oustide were fantastic. The hotel is across the road from the beach. Towels and a beach bag are thoughtfully provided. There are a ton of beach chairs for rent at the beach. 250 baht for 2 chairs and an umbrella. Beach workers are very friendly. Great food right on the beach. Very nice beach. My only issue is the bar closed at 8:00 pm and as there were 8 of us travelling together a meeting place for a night cap was not available. Would stay at the Seaview again.

Room Tip: If you like a larger balconey do not stay on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Andaman Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Seaview Hotel

Address: 1, Karon Soi 4, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andaman Seaview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Andaman Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Seaview Karon
Hotel Andaman Seaview
Andaman Seaview Hotel Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.