We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but reviews/photos are misleading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Seaview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Andaman Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
Andaman Seaview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Karon Soi 4, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok but reviews/photos are misleading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review from Bangkok and am still confused by the tripadvisor ranking of Andaman Seaview. The only accurate one I saw was a rater commenting not to expect 4-star quality. The staff are extremely friendly and the location in Karon is very good. Across from the beach and an easy walk to shopping areas/restaurants. Additionally, the common areas of the hotel are very nice. Decks, pretty pools, well kept landscape. However the rooms that you see in the photos on here are not accurately depicted.

We were expecting simple, non-luxury, but still clean and newish looking. Any one of the following observations would not normally turn me off, however when all of the following are present, it's disappointing.

Lighting in bathroom dark and inadequate
Paint peeling off excessively from doors
Chrome/stainless fixtures very dull and worn
Grout in tile and tub sealing all mildewy
Unclean shower (excessive hair all over wall from previous occupant(s))
Shower door old old and no lighting in shower
Front door had daylight showing through all three sides when shut
Front door did not secure well: took full weight leaning in plus finess to throw deadbolt
Lighting in room poor
All fixtures pretty wornout

My wife and I weren't looking for anything special but our room showed way too much mileage for us to be comfortable and confident. We ended our stay early and changed hotels. If you're not expecting a lot and get a good deal, there are many positive qualities about the Andaman, but everything I wrote is an accurate observation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    222
    70
    14
    8
See reviews for
130
290
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Seaview end of November. The hotel, though older is very well maintained and very clean. The staff were very friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor with an ocean view. Small balconey but did not use it much so that was fine. The breakfast was excellent. Who knew that ice cream could become a breakfast staple. Great food right on the beach. There are tons of massage places right outside and we enjoyed a few of them. Also the 4 seafood restaurants right oustide were fantastic. The hotel is across the road from the beach. Towels and a beach bag are thoughtfully provided. There are a ton of beach chairs for rent at the beach. 250 baht for 2 chairs and an umbrella. Beach workers are very friendly. Great food right on the beach. Very nice beach. My only issue is the bar closed at 8:00 pm and as there were 8 of us travelling together a meeting place for a night cap was not available. Would stay at the Seaview again.

Room Tip: If you like a larger balconey do not stay on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just back from 2 weeks at Seaview. Chose it from previous reviews and was not disappointed. Very clean, well maintained, friendly hotel and the staff were courteous and helpful throughout. Location is great, 100yds walk to beach, easy walk to bars and restaurants (plenty of) but far enough away from nightlife of Kata, so nice and quiet at night. Not surprised its ranked #4.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stays 11 days in hotel in September with my bf :)good location near to the beach easy to go but we love to use swimming pool in hotel with pool bar and enjoy with cocktail . My room very cute clean and can see the pool view all staff very kindness and work hard !!! Breakfast amazing good foods by the way i want to recommend your staff whom so nice Thankful Ning assistant operation manager very very good helpful between my holiday deserves to be praised . We will come come back next time because of her !!!!!!!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Absolutely love this hotel & would recommend it to anyone - couples, friends, family with children... anyone :).

We visited this place with our parents & didnt want to stay in Patong. Hence, picked this hotel after reading reviews on the net & absolutely loved our 4-day stay here. The highlights of the hotel are.
1. Great location - right opposite Karon beach. The hotel provides enough beach towels, slippers etc. so that you can make the most of the location.
2. Spacious, spotless clean rooms, with tasteful wood decor.
3. Bathroom had a bathtub, new fixtures & no creaks/leaks or any minor unpleasantries.
3. Great breakfast spread. They even made us vegetarian noodles since we were all vegetarians - and the serving was HUGE.
4. Has enough parking space.
5. Service & staff are very cordial & courteous, as is the hallmark of the Thais.

If you have a car, main Kata / Karon streets for food is a very short drive. Else, you can get Tuk-tuks from the main road. The hotel has the usual options to book snorkelling trips etc as well.

We paid ~SGD80-90 per night (breakfast included) for our stay here - and felt it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: They have 2 types of rooms - some have a view of the stadium next to the hotel. Others have a poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemof, South africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a breathtakingly BEAUTIFUL hotel!!! The manager in particular, as well as the other staff really went out of their way to make my stay a WONDERFUL, SPECIAL one!! You could literally "fall into the swimming pool" so close it was to my room!! Absolutely lovely!! You will not be disappointed with the tranquil, beautiful setting of this hotel! The rooms were so big and lovely!! If you need to unwind from a stressful life, this is the venue to come to!!

Room Tip: Rooms that walk out onto the pool is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a pleasant 12 night stay here. The staff are friendly & hard working - they alone deserve to be rated a 5. The hotel rooms are very clean. But you cannot escape the fact that this is a 3 star hotel & needs work doing to do it to make it the 4 star it claims to be.

We were a little disappointed that despite informing them we were celebrating our friends 35th wedding anniversary & their promising to put a surprise cake & fruit for them in their room that this never materialised.
___________

The pros:

Great location within very easy walking distance to the beach, shops & restaurants. Could not be located better, whilst still being set back & tranquil.
Great staff.
Rooms are very clean
Useful beach bags & towels are in the room for your use
Umbrellas, slippers & dressing gowns are in the room if you need them.


The cons:

The restaurant has no air con & is open to the pool area which makes it easy for the birds to enter the dinning room. This is very unhygienic as the birds then leave droppings on the chairs etc & fly up on the tables & drink out of the milk jugs placed there for your tea/coffee. I saw this happen several times. Really these jugs should have lids, or & even better would be to enclose the dining area.

The hotel grounds need updating, particularly the decking round the pool. It moves & is coming apart, really needs replacing.

The rooms are very tired & paint is peeling off all the wood areas. Although there are various lamps around the rooms the lighting is very poor, it's a struggle to read comfortably. And limited light in the bathroom makes it so difficult to shave or get an eyelash out of your eye!

A real refurb is required in the rooms, & bathrooms. Our tap on the bathroom sink was loose - I'm amazed it never came away in our hands- & despite reporting it was never fixed. The toilet just constantly flushed. even when you thought it had been sorted it started again.

The rooms (or at least the 2 rooms we had) have connecting doors to another room, (sadly we were not given our friends as the occupients on the other side of the door) & unfortunetly this means if the people next door to you smoke, then smoke will filter into your room, which is very unpleasant. It also means that if they're a little loud then the noise will stream into your room through these doors.

Our rooms on the 4th floor had balconys but to be honest they are so small & cramped that you wouldn't want to spend any length of time on it, & the peeling paint on the rail makes it unpleasant & uncomfortable to just lean on to look down over the pool..

_____________________

All in all, if you're limited in budget & get this hotel on a good deal as we did then it's a satisfactory, average stay, bearing in mind that you will not be getting a 4 star hotel. However if you're expecting a plush, quality, high standard 4 star accomodation, this is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaman Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Seaview Hotel

Address: 1, Karon Soi 4, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andaman Seaview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Andaman Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Seaview Karon
Hotel Andaman Seaview
Andaman Seaview Hotel Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.