We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara to your Saves list
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   224/21 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly The Waterfront Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Karon
St Petersburg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked two units for a family holiday and will stay again.

The Good - The complex has spacious, comfortable, well-appointed rooms. The apartments feature magnificent beach views, especially at sunset. It has an excellent pool area, with two small pools suitable for young chidren. There is a great choice of restaurants at the front of the complex. All of the staff at the complex are very helpful, and the reception staff in particular were both friendly and professional. The facilities on-site are not the greatest, however, facilities at the nearby Centara Karon Resort are excellent. ie Spa, Fitness Centre, Kids Club, Kids Pool Complex, Kids Playground (Guests at Waterfront Suites have card access to all these additional facilities). The welcome basket is a very nice touch upon arrival.

The Bad - Rooms were a bit out-dated. Kitchen is basic. ie No oven, shortage of appliances, cooking utensils etc Bars behind the complex can be noisy.

Room Tip: If booking a two bedroom unit higher floors on the south side are quieter. ie 10D, 11D, 12D etc If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
53
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just come home from Phuket after staying two weeks at the Waterfront Suites. We were in need of a two bedroom apartment as we have three children. The apartment had a small kitchen with a full size fridge which was great. An eating area and lounge room. Both bedrooms had an ensuite, the kids ensuite was a bit bigger and it had a bath. The beds in the kids room were king single so my 9 and 5 year olds Topped-n-Tailed. There is a sofa bed in the lounge if needed. My husband is very fussy when it comes to his shower (pressure, temp, etc) and he said that he was really impressed with the shower. We didn't have any problems with the room eg. power or lights out, like others had had.
The swimming pool was lovely, however the only down side to the swimming pool was that the other guests would go down to the pool early in the morning and place their towels on the sun lounges and not return for a few hours. When we were wanting to go to the pool and watch our kids swim we didn't have a lounge to lay on and the lounges were still unoccupied!! There are only 24 sun lounges by the pool and there are 20 levels of apartments with 4 rooms on each floor. An investment in more lounges are a must. I think management need to deal with this and put a stop to it!!
The staff are wonderful, very helpful. The welcoming gift of fruit, bread, milk, juice and eggs were a wonderful surprise.
I would recommend this place to stay as there aren't too many apartments/suites available in Karon.
When we return to Phuket we will book at the Waterfront Suites by Centara again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the WaterFront suites Phuket by ‘Centara’ last June for 2 weeks.I got amazing rates on booking.com and everything went smoothly since then.

From the moment we arrived at ‘Waterfront’ we were greeted by a resounding Salute ‘Military style’ by the guard, heels clicking and all. The guard at the entrance continued this brilliant greeting every time we came in or out of the Hotel. The ladies at the reception greeted us with smiles, gave us welcome drinks and checked us in swiftly. They apologized for the lack of bell boys that day and insisted on helping us take our luggage up to the 11th floor. They showed us around this huge 167 square meter apartment & provided us with a small welcome basket of food. The apartment had balconies on 3 sides with amazing picturesque views of the beach, mountains, & town and nearby resorts. Both Bedrooms had ensuite Bathrooms, one with a shower & the other with a bath tub & shower, one had a T.V. & an electronic safe. The large living area had another T.V with ample seating area. The dinning table could accommodate 6 people, large kitchen area, with almost everything you would need in a kitchen at home.i.e. Microwave, cooker, crockery, cutlery, fridge & kettle. Daily free sachets of tea, coffee and sugar. Even a storage room to stow away your luggage and a shoe rack near it.

I had a couple of issues with the apartment. Most of the apartment was quite worn but the room rate i got was so ridiculously cheap,it didn't bother us. The bed was as hard as rock and the noise from the main street below, go go bars blaring music till 3:00 to 4:00 am kept me up most of the first night. So I requested the cleaning lady ‘Noo’ to make up the sofa bed for me in the living area with an extra duvet for padding and she complied according on a daily basis and I slept soundly from the 2nd night onwards. ‘Noo’ was one of the most friendly and helpful housekeeping ladies I have ever come across in our many trips to Thailand. She made up our apartment every day, (she didn’t even take a day off) & would provided us with extra of everything without asking, i.e. water, tea, coffee, sugar, bathroom amenities etc.

The ladies at the reception ‘Wannipha’ & her crew inevitably greeted us with a beaming smile every time we came in & out of the hotel.

One evening my wife cut her finger quite badly chopping guavas, I called down for help and the bell boy ‘Tep’ came rushing up in a couple of minutes with a first aid kit and did a bang up job. Well done!

The pool was nice and we never had a problem getting loungers. The pool towels were available from the reception (don’t forget your pool towel cards which they give you at the time of check in).Despite the fact that there was no onsite cafe or restaurant, there were enough minimarts outside the hotel just off the road with several restaurant & bars and much more round the corner on Karon’s main street called ‘Patak Road’ (Try the ‘Little Mermaid’)

Immediately after you go out the front gate of the Waterfront there is a complex where you will find 4 to 5 very good restaurants serving excellent Thai & International food. (Try ‘Vitaporn’ and ‘Hakens’)Check out the little bus like cocktail bar just off the road where they serve super tasty & cheap cocktails, don’t miss out on the bar guy who puts on a great Tom Cruise Style ‘Cocktail’ making Show.
Overall, we loved staying at the ‘Waterfront Suites’ and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO AE
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It's near shops, partying and beach. We stayed 4 adults and fit comfortably. The room was really run down though. Ceiling in bathroom molded and falling in, no lights in bedroom had working bulbs and some of the doors didn't lock. The staff were helpful and the accommodation was just a place to sleep while on holiday. This fits lots of adults and that's the major perk.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here with a friend in a 2 bedroom suite. The room was huge! There were 2 separate bedrooms, a full kitchen, dining room, living room, 4 balconies. Complimentary fruit, bread and eggs. It was like staying in a large luxury 2 bedroom apartment. The price was o.k. when you figure what 2 separate suites would have cost and this was my traveling partner was right there but we had privacy. Nice pool and the staff were great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket,
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent our holiday here in the two beded room suites. We were assigned on 16th floor with over 180 degree view over Karon Beach..Room is hugh but furnitures are dated. Room assignement is wrong. Why, Because usually Master Bedroom should have a good view and good quality amenities but here. It's the second bed room that has all the mentioned. This place is more like a Service Apartment with full kitchenettes facilityes, dining table for six persons, a large TV with various programme both local and satellite. In general, the place is good for relaxation. Nothing fancy inside but surrounding area within walking distance, there are lots of eating joints, Bar, Shop house, entertainment places like in Patong Area but smaller. The place has a reasonable size swimming pool and one tennis court. The price was not so expensive even though you will not feel like staying in the hotel but a condominium, it served all you need and we love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferntree Gully
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 14 nights, with our 14 yr old grandson, in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor. It was the best. The location is great, walking distance to shops & restaurants. The staff are very friendly & helpful with tour & transport bookings. The welcome gifts of fruit, bread, milk & eggs was most welcome. The views from all the balconies are amazing, out across the ocean at the front & to the mountains at the back. We could even see the Big Buddha. For cheap & comfortable accommodation you could not find better. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara

Address: 224/21 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly The Waterfront Suites)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Karon
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Suites Hotel Karon
Central Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Suites Phuket By Centara Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.