We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Night Stay at Centara Kata Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Kata Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Kata Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   54 Ked Kwan Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Jiva Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 73 hotels in Karon
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“6 Night Stay at Centara Kata Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from 6 night stay at Kata Beach resort. Arrived just after midnight but reception still open and had two people to deal with our booking. We travelled with another adult couple. No bar open at that time, but mini bar in room was reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast was good with plenty of variety. Chefs cooking fresh eggs and omlettes each day. On the second to last day, the main restaurant was full, so we were directed to the Wave Bar grill. Found this restaurant much less hectic, although it doesnt open until 8.30am where as Emerald restaurant opens earlier. There were lots of families, so we used the adult only pool. This was very quiet with plenty of sun beds available. Location as described, about 15 mins walk from beach. You turn right out of hotel, and then either left past all the shops , or turn right again, and left alond the river. This was the shortest. Sun beds on beach were 200BTs for two beds and umbrella. Sea was very warm and inviting. We ate out each night. Had two meals at 8Fold (opposite hotel) - very good food and service, also Dannys bar which was off the main road to the beach. All the restaurants were reasonably priced especially the Thai menus. We did the elephant ride at Saim safari. Booked through tour rep, but you can organise it direct with the company locally. They will pick you up and return you to the hotel. Also visit Pipi island. Our boat had 27 people on board, did snorkeling and visited other islands during the day. If you dont like swimming, you dont have more than 45 minutes on a beach. Found hotel staff very good, plenty of laughs with the bar staff especially Pat. Plenty of shops to visit at night, remember to barter for everything. Found a Tha elvis in town - decent bar, with two entertainers each night. Hotel provides brollies, which you need as when it rains, it definitely rains. Most of the shops and bars close down between 11-12 midnight. Didnt go into Karon apart from one lunch time, but this is about 20 minutes walk. Think hotel best suited to families rather than couples.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the bar amd pool - third floor - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    144
    48
    18
    5
See reviews for
197
86
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We were a travelling party consisting of two families. Each family had a 8-9month old baby and a 4yo. I had a 14yo daughter with us as well. The staff were helpful, a cot was provided with each room, rooms overlooked the main pool, the waterslide was awesome, food was like any other hotel if not slightly better.
The location is great, I thought the kata beach markets were the best and we managed to visit a number of phuket's markets. Surprisingly, the kids club staff were the least smiliest but were still good at their jobs.
Aside from minor toilet clogging issues, the hotel was well maintained. WiFi was available from all corners of the resort. We ended up spending the other half of our holiday at sunwing karon which wasn't as good, and hence made this resort seem so much better.
I recommend this resort to families travellingwith young children.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is great if you are travelling with small kids.
We travelled with our 2 year old daughter and our 6mte old Sohn.
We booked a family-suite (one-bedroom and a living-room) on the ground-floor which is perfect for privacy if the kids are sleeping early.
The baby crib was ready when we arrived. We also requested a Baby-Bathtub at the reception which they arranged for us free of charge.
Breakfast was good, we did not try the other restaurants since there are plenty of good restaurants in kata.

The beach is not very close. They offer shuttle-service (one-way) in the morning.
We only went once to the beach since it was not so convenient to walk back with the baby-stroller.

All in all a great resort if you are making family holidays.

A tip I give to everyone, take enough Mosquito-repellent with you since there are plenty of mosquitos in Phuket.

Room Tip: If traveling with a baby-stroller, choose a room on the ground-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Centara Kata, definately recommend and would definately go back!
We had a 1 bedroom suite which was HUGE!! It was perfect for the kids to sleep in the living area on the sofa bed & trundle, but we could then stay up in the privacy of our own King size bedroom. TV in both rooms kept everyone happy too.
It even had a small kitchenette and dining table. The kitchenette was handy to give the kids a snack for lunch - featured full size fridge, microwave, toaster, hotplates etc.
Our room opened up to the Emerald Pool, which was so convenient as that's where we lived! We all loved that pool and of course the kids (and Dad!) loved the slippery slide. They even offered an aquaerobics class at the pool every morning - for free.
There are 3 pools - including an adults only pool, but unfortunately I didn't get to venture there much since I had the kids....but all the fun is at the children's pool anyway :) There is a great pool bar playng music and with Happy Hour each evening.
The only not-so-good thing I would say about the room was that there was no bath. For a family room I would have expected a bath -and there is room for one- but it would not deter me from recommending or staying again.
The staff at the Emerald Pool bar and Seasons restaurant weren't rude but they weren't particularly friendly - nowhere near as friendly as other resorts I have visited in Thailand - some would barely crack a smile. The rest of the staff at the resort were lovely.
The Kids Club is small, but had activities planned all through the day to keep children amused if you needed some time away. There was even a small playground - though was a bit too hot to play there for too long.
The resort is about a 10 min walk from the beach - but it is a reasonably easy walk with no hills. And there are plenty of shops and restaurants along the walk to keep us interested. We used the free shuttle in the morning, then either walked back or caught a tuk-tuk for 150THB.
Several massage shops and restaurants directly outside the resort and there is a couple of minimarts and pharmacy just around the corner.
There is no FREE wifi, not even in the lobby. However, if you buy a drink at the pool bar or restaurant, you can get 1 hour free per day. You can pay for wifi in the room if you need, but I would prefer to go to a restaurant nearby which has free wifi just so I can check my emails.
Overall, we LOVED our stay at the Centara and highly recommend it - we would definately go back if I were able to get a good rate again.

Room Tip: If you have children, try and stay in a room overlooking the Emerald Pool - as that's where they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Centara Kata Resort. Great poolarea, comfty and clean rooms, tasty food in the restaurants, nice bars, plenty of activities and a great fun for the kids in the "superkidz" arrangement.

Lovely staff, and once - when our daughter got sick after eating something bad, we got great support and help from the staff, even a stylish floral set to cheer her up. =)

Definitely a hotel worth returning to, the next time we visit Phuket.

Room Tip: Take a cab and visit the nearby beaches of Nai Harn, south of Kata. Another trip to consider, is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here with a few friends for 8 nights at the end of October. We requested a room down the back away from the kids and pool up the front. I think the room was 8104. The complex is very secure and as others have said, while the rooms aren't the same as the brochure they are still pretty good. I brought my External Hard drive with my movies so if nothing was on tv of an evening i plugged that directly into the TV. I had an issue with the hot water and also the air con but after calling reception it was fixed in no time. They also left a fruit platter as an apology and the manager has also emailed me and apologised. I have to say the service here is excellent.

If you want to hire motorbikes like myself you should speak to the guy across the road from the hotel gates. He sits outside the tailor shop. Tell him you are staying at Centara and all you have to do is fill out some paperwork and pay him and you're away. No passports required. He is very helpful and one bike broke down so he quickly swapped it without a fuss. Bikes are around 250 baht for a day or $8. They cost around $3 Aussie to run ALL DAY. Its a very cheap and effective alternative to Tuk Tuks. You can park them up the front of the hotel in the secure area. Thai traffic is okay. They look out for you.

Breakfast was a big buffet and wasnt too bad. They had themed dinners which were pretty good. Room service was excellent! and very cheap. I'd recommend using their system of paying 9,000 baht to the hotel and receiving a bonus 15,000 baht to spend only at the hotel. There were three of us so we chipped in 3,000 baht each and got 5,000 back to spend at the hotel on room service, happy hour cocktails, themed dinners etc. You cant redeem any money at the end but we got a balance and finished it off nicely at the bar on the last night.

Wifi will cost you about $10 aussie for 8 nights and it was very quick.

I would definitely recommend Centara. Its priced well, clean and if you book room 8104 you should have excellent Air con and hot water. You're welcome :-)

Room Tip: For quiet rooms request a room up the back near the "adults pool" My room was 8104. Use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in September in a one bedroom family suite. The room was a little disappointing, as it was not as nice as it had looked on the internet, - with a rather old looking kitchen facilities. However, it was good value for money, clean and spacious and we were very comfortable during our stay. Breakfast was great, and generally the food was good,. We tended to eat dinner out at one of the many restaurants nearby as there was so much to choose from. The pool area was very clean and well maintained. I would definitly recommend the resort to families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Kata Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Kata Resort Phuket

Address: 54 Ked Kwan Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Jiva Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#17 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#26 Business Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Kata Resort Phuket 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Centara Kata Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Kata Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Kata Hotel
Centara Hotel Kata
Centara Kata Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Kata Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.