We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, beautiful gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thavorn Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Thavorn Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   311 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 hotels in Karon
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, beautiful gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel location is very good. Right opposite the beach and about 5 - 10 mins walk left of the hotel to the shops and restaurants. Very nice gardens with roaming rabbits and chickens which my daughter enjoyed patting and feeding... 5 swimming pools with 3 kid pools. 2 kid pools are attached to the big swimming pools, the lone kid pool in front of the seemingly abandoned kid club doesn't seem to be much of use though. Most of the kids are swimming in the big pools... Staffs are on the average friendly except for those during breakfast time.. Breakfast is of a good variety, good mix of American continental as well as Asian.

Room is of a comfortable size with a big terrace overlooking the pools, gardens and a bit of seaview. The lifts are under renovation during our stay. I wish they consider giving me the first floor rooms instead of the second floor rooms so I don't have to carry my 2 years old up and down the stairs...the first floor rooms is of direct access to the gardens and the pools... Bed and pillows are slightly too hard for my preference and we requested for a king size bed but it's actually 2 twin beds combined together.. so you will feel the bump in the middle.. but that's not too big a problem for us

on a overall, the stay was pretty pleasant but average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for your valuable feedback. I am pleased that your family enjoyed the spacious grounds and that your children enjoyed petting the rabbits and chickens. I would like to advise you that if your preference is for a softer bed and pillows, then please just ask at main reception and we will be more than happy to arrange a roll top mattress and extra pillows for you.

Allocation of rooms is subject to availability at the time, but again, please just ask at reception during your stay and we will be more than happy to try and arrange king size beds or 1st floor rooms for you if they are available.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    129
    35
    20
    16
See reviews for
79
106
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Thavorn Palm Beach Resort in Thailand, this is a lovely comfortable hotel set in the most beautiful gardens with several large swimming pools and a pool bar. Rooms have been recently renovated in cool attractive colours and have good air con,the new bathrooms are well appointed and there was a lovely large patio to sit on and admire the gardens. Morning breakfast really does have something for everyone. Staff were helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is situated close to Beaches and shops, we really could not have asked for more. We hope to return to this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013


Do your self a favor, don't book this hotel. Old, not so clean, the staff is not kind. For sure not a 4 star hotel.
To get to the beach, u have to go out of the hotel and to cross the road.

And one last thing... Be careful from the rats next to the pool !!

Tzafrir & Carine

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on TripAdvisor and I am disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing friendly, traditional Thai hospitality in a clean and natural beach front environment, so I am surprised to read your comments. However, I will mention these at our daily management meeting to ensure our normal high standard of service is maintained at all times.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Returned after many years following the improved reviews from guests. The refurbished rooms were very nice. The décor in our room was as shown on the website, a cross between French Provincial and English Country Garden. Might be a bit fussy for some but we enjoyed it.
Our room was very clean when we arrived with all amenities included. Serviced on the first day to the same standard but the following days fell away somewhat. One day it seemed that all we got was the bed made. None of the bins were emptied and nothing replaced or cleaned. The next was a hit and miss mix. Not consistent and not expected for the standard that the Resort rates itself, especially when not at full capacity.
Public areas at the front of the property are well maintained. Gardens and pools great . Swim-up Pool bar was closed during our stay.
The breakfast was good, but the Restaurant area needs to be the next to get attention. Fittings are old and we were put off by the dirty chairs and chipped and stained counter and table tops. Backs and arms of the dining chairs all need a good clean as they are sticky and dirty.
We ate one evening meal at Windsong Terrace and were the only sit down customers for the time we were there ,though there did seem to be room service orders going out. Plenty off staff around could have been cleaning ready for the morning breakfast service .Instead, they were setting tables , which given the open air nature of the premises and the wildlife we saw , which is able to crawl all over anything left out at night, may not be best practice. We certainly got ourselves clean cutlery each day.
The resort seems to be trying very hard to impress but just misses in too many areas.
Refurbished rooms will soon deteriorate if not cleaned.
Gardens are good but don't neglect the other areas. We used the stairs to access our room and the visible areas behind the buildings were awfull. Black rubbish bags piled high, broken tile and glass strewn in neglected garden beds, more rats running around in daylight, not surprisingly. (we did see traps).
For the 3 days we were there, water was running from under the door of a ground floor room opposite the lift, and the solution was to roll up towels to mop-up/channel it away. Great trip hazard when you got out of the elevator!
Overall impression ; that even a good make-up job needs to be backed up by a great soul, and though trying hard, there needs to be more done here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Good quiet resort with upgrade rooms!
Good service from all staffs!
Good location with many small restaurants,massages, minimarket....etc !!!
Good pools that were loved by my small babies!
Good free shuttle bus to Patdong beach!
Beautiful sunset over the beach!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose the Thavorn Palm Beach Resort after reading reviews and a suggestion from a friend was recommended by my friend. From the movement we checked in we felt welcomed and experienced the friendliness of the staff. The moment we entered our Premier Deluxe, we were wowed by the size of the place as well as the lovely sea facing view. The interior decor is a combination of traditional Thai & Colonials and very well designed. Personally, we have always loved such combination in architecture and interior decor. It makes the place look contemporary while retaining the warmth and beauty of designs.

The pools are excellent, the 5 pools provide to people with different preference and so every pool is not crowded. we enjoy the Chaba pool with a swim up bar the most, it is just what we need.

There are about 4 restaurant/cafe options to choose from. But we especially liked the authentic Thai restaurant with the "Thai-style" seating. Great views of the ocean as you feast on some spicy yellow curry.

Especially the breakfast, There was so much to choose from that we struggled to decide each morning.

The staff are friendly and greet you every time yoy walk past (typical Thai hospitality). It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The service from the staff was simply exceptional. They made a commendable effort in making sure that you are feeling comfortable throughout the stay at the resort.

The perfectly maintained gardens gave a sense of tranquility and offered many paces to sit away from the crowds relax and enjoy, a lot of greenery and frangipani trees, blossoms of colorful bougainvillea are falling from the balcony of the building, lovely rabbits and cockerels running around the garden creating paradise atmosphere. As a result, the resort has a lovely feeling of seclusion within the greenery surrounding.

This resort is an absolute pleasure to stay and is spacious, quiet and beautifully manicured.

This is an excellent resort and I would thoroughly recommend to all age groups.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a wonderful week at Thavorn Palm Beach. Location was great, just across the road from beach. Karon shops, restaurants and pubs about a 10 minute walk away. If you need to go to Patong regularly like we did, this resort may be just a little too far, but personally I loved the fact it was far away from the craziness of Patong. Breakfast was good only negative was the hard beds and pillows. View from the room was awesome. I would stay again if I came to Phuket again.

Room Tip: Definitely suggest you choose a garden view room. Top floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thavorn Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavorn Palm Beach Resort

Address: 311 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thavorn Palm Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sprawling Self-contained Resort Hotel set amid lush tropical gardens close to beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Thavorn Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavorn Palm Beach Hotel Karon
Thavorn Palm Beach Karon
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.