We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Villas Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Villas Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Villas Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 682 Reviews
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed in this hotel during our Honeymoon. It is really great for couples. No children, very quiet and calm, all villas are separate and have their own privacy. The location is very good, between Pathong and Karon. You can choose where to go. Free shuttle bus to both centers 3 times a day. SPA is good enough, service, atmosphere, ocean-view, we really relaxed there. 5 minutes walk to Karon beach, and it is better than Pathong, cleaner, fewer people. Buffet-breakfast is standard but enough food for everyone. Friendly personnel/ WE are fully satisfied with our vacations on Phuket and in this hotel. Recommend for honeymooners and love couples who are looking for isolation and romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    219
    72
    32
    21
See reviews for
52
463
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

PLUS Points:
- Nice individual villa (a big bedroom space and shower room). No bath-tub but the toilet is clean and has hot water.
- 2 pools with a waterfall feature, enough sun-deck chairs.
- Located away from the crowd, Karon beach is a 10min walk down the stone paved hill. Karon beach is not as crowded as Patong and definitely a better beach to be at.
- As the villas are positioned on a hill, a buggy is provided for transport within the resort, climbing up-slope to the lobby might work out a sweat. Buggy is free and arrives within 1-2 mins.
- The floor staff is friendly, however the receptionists could be more helpful.
- Free shuttle to Karon (10am,12pm,5pm), Patong (1030, 1230, 530pm). Try your very best to catch the free shuttle cause cabs are very expensive.
- The bext experience in Centara Villa was the SPA. It was great and cheap as compared to the other branches in Thailand. Good service and massage. Located with a view of the sea.
- Breakfast was not too bad, continental style and quite a good variety. Opt for breakfast with the room as it will be hard to get food around the hotel. Dinner was costly hence we did not try.


MINUS points:
- We had a hard time making a local call and had to get the receptionist to help us. Not very friendly in that aspect as they kept repeating the same instructions, would be more helpful if they had offered to make the call and connect to the room.
- Ridiculous priced hotel serviced car. The trip to Patong cost 300baht, a tut tut hailed would cost us ~200baht only. As the hotel is located on top of the hill, there is hardly any tut tut/ taxi passing through hence we have no choice but to pay for the hotel car.
- It is impossible to get a metered taxi in the area, if possible do have the number ready (esp to get to/fro the airport). The hotel car cost us 1100 baht to get from hotel to airport, a metered taxi only cost ~650BAHT. and the hotel would not provide us the number to call for a meter taxi. We had to get the number by calling the tourism board (after much tries and difficuilties in making the local call) and after connecting to the local taxi service, the operator could not speak english and when we got the receptionist to help us make the phonecall, she seems very reluctant and grumpy about it. In the end she told us, the taxi service is full for the day, which seems a tat ridiculous cause we are calling at 12pm for a cab to pick us up at 5pm.
- Hotel bed was not very clean. The sheets has black spots and marks on them. As the comforter has no cover, it was a concern when we saw the cleaners throwing the comforter on the floor while they make the bed.
- No free internet. It cost about 200+ baht for an hour.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

After many months searching on the internet for the perfect place to spend our honeymoon, I am SO glad I chose the Centara Villas as our acccommodation. The resort is beautiful, not as big as many of the others, but just what we needed. It's located on the side of a rocky cliff between Patong and Karon and is just far enough out of both to be secluded and private.
The whole resort is in a Thai Villa style, so much nicer to be around than a concrete high rise. There were lush plants all through the resort and it was a delight to wander through.
We stayed in a pool villa which was beautiful. We didn't actually use the resort pools as we spent our time lazing around in our own. The room was beautifully decorated when we arrived and we had champagne, fruit and a honeymoon cake waiting for us. I would definitely recommend paying the extra and staying in these pool villas, it was well worth it.
There are a lot of steps in the resort as everyone else has mentioned. We managed to walk up and down to the lobby several times but also made use of the mini car service too and the staff were always willing to give you a lift, in fact there was nothing that we could fault about the staff. They were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
There is a walking track to Karon beach from the resort that we used but it was very easy to get a taxi or tuk tuk from the resort as well. They also have a free shuttle bus to Patong and Karon 3 times a day although you need to find your own way back.
All in all I can't recommend this resort enough, we had a fabulous time and would definitely return. If you don't want to be in the bustling Patong (My hubby and I are both 30 but are so glad we chose a quieter place to stay) then the Centara Villas is a good choice.
Oh, they also have an offer with spending money at the resort which I would recommend taking when you check in. Basically they give you free money to spend at the resort so if you like your cocktails and intend on eating there a few nights it's worth it.

Hope this helps a few people!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Having been to Phuket a few times, we felt we have in the past stayed at better hotels. We arrived around noon and although it was not such a busy lobby out there at the time, it took them a while to check us into the room. The property itself is well located(pretty scenic i.e) particularly if you are looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle, however it is a distant from any other restaurants/local markets/main beach etc. The hotel however does provide shuttle service daily to Patong and Karon, but only thrice so if you miss a bus, then you need to use the hotel Taxi(which luckily charges you the same as local cabs/tuk-tuks). Beware that the shuttle service provided is only one way- i.e hotel to destination and you need to find your own way back!
The room we stayed was a garden villa- thought it was not anything fabulous, more of a regular room with balcony than a villa... The deck chairs outside on the balcony were fairly old and had dirty/worn our cushions- we did not even sit on them once!
Service is okay- it took them around 10 mins to understand what a 'turkey' sandwich was when we tried ordering from the room particularly given that it was listed on their menu! We need to use the broadband and there packages we could buy for 2/5/24 hours and when we decided to get it and told them over the phone to charge the same to our room and give us the login details, they insisted we went back to the lobby to pay for it and collect it! While we got there, the reception staff said we could have just done this over the phone!!! Oh my godd!!

Overall, we thought it was jusk OK! There are better hotels around Kata/Karon, Patong for similar prices as we have stayed out there a few times.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We got there quite late - around 7 PM when it was already dark therefore couldnt enjoy the amazing scenery, but saw it in the morning. After day of travelling we were tired and very hot. We were welcomed with a Young Cocnut Drink & Lavender Scented wet Towels. Were were then sat down to check in. They upgraded us to a Jaquzzi Room for free, which was a really nice surprise. We were then taken to our room with a golf cart- all the bags were carried in.

We had booked the transfer from Phuket airport with the hotel, which was more expensive but well worth it if it was your first time in Phuket.

The room was beautiful and airconditioned. Everything was clean and really well prepared.

We had dinner at The Cliff - the hotel restaurant - and the food was beautiful. We had two courses each and were given a complimentary Curry Soup from the chef. All the food was beautifully prepared and presented and tasted great. We had plenty of cocktails and the bill became to only £30.

We were very pleased with our stay and were so sorry to leave. Shame we only stayed for one night, but definitely will go back, next time we are in Phuket.

P.S. They charge 1000 THB from your credit card for the mini bar before you check in and then later on reimburse you the money if you havent used it or deduct the things you have used and reimburse the rest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We travelled to Thailand for our honeymoon and decided that Centara Villas would be a perfect retreat for us. We were not disappointed. The hotel staff gave us a bottle of bubbly and a cake to help us celebrate our honeymoon! They also decorated our bed with petals and swan towels! The staff were supurb and highly professional at all times. This was quite as feat as we observed that some of the guests in the hotel could be quite abrupt and disrespectful for no good reason. The rooms were tastefully decorated and private. You could see the sea from our bed and we had a standard room! It was brilliant to have hotel service in a villa and there was a decent mini bar etc. They are very environmentally aware in Thailand and the construction of the villas reflectes this. The hotel is built into a tropical jungle and because they didn't want to cut down trees, they are built into the main buildings. Beautiful tree trunks go through the bar and the views and wildlife are amazing. The food is excellent, with western and Thai food and they have a massive range of cocktails, beers and wines. They provide a free shuttle service into Patong and Karon three times a day and a free tour of Phuket. Taxis are readily available and the taxi drivers are fantastic. As the villas are on a cliff, steps are involved. This is great because it helped keep me fit on holiday. It takes about five minutes to get from bottom to top which is nothing. They have vehicle to drive you around if you need help with luggage. Not ideal for disabled passengers or people with very small children I imagine. Phuket has a slower pace of life than your average westerner is used to, when you visit you will appreciate the Thai approach to life, it makes a nice change. It is a modest culture, people are courteous, relaxed and inclined to smile. Be the same back, we met far too many rude guests, shouting across the table at breakfast, arriving to dinner in swimwear. The staff tolerate this and smile, but some travellers should show more respect to the culture they enter. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Great hideaway, away from the hussle and bussles.

Centara Villa is located on a cliff, atop Karon Beach. Villas are private, despite the numerous stairways, its still worth it. We were allocated a villa near the lobby and a short walk to the pool. With a satisfying good view of the Karon Beach (Which we didnt expect to be able to). Newly renovated bathroom offers rain shower. Room is equiped with safe, minibar and clothes rack at the patio. Minibus available from lobby to send guests down to villas.

Breakfast selection was good with considerably wide varieties. BBQ dinner only every Wed, worth a try. Bayview restaurant by the pool is open for lunch.

Hotel provides one-way shuttle service to Karon & Patong 3 times a day each. But on a first come first serve basis. So be sure to get there earlier. City tour available every Mon and Fri. (But we didnt make it) Island tour could be arranged by Tour office below Recep. Be welcomed by the informative, cheerful girl, Mam. Phi-Phi island is worth a visit. Cost @ 3300Baht. The tour agent - Phuket Adventure is the best i've came across in my three trips there.

Only disadvantage is there is no shops nearby. But groceries could be get from Carrefour located in big shopping mall - JungCeylon at Patong. Not too far a walk from where the shuttle drop. Karon beach is a 5mins walk from the walkway by the pool. But at your own risk. Walkway is steep and muddy. Not advisable if travelling with young children or elderly. A small eat place - Kai's Restaurant down the walkway to Karon offers cheap and good food, with stunning view and warm service.

To sum up, Centara is definately worth staying. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#12 Spa Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Villas Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.