We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centara Villas Phuket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Villas Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Villas Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct save more 60%
Ranked #17 of 69 hotels in Karon
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
“Centara Villas Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had an amazing Holiday at Centara Villas, everything was perfect and very friendly staff. Highly recommended.... we will be returning.
The villas were very clean and the views were stunning. very short walk to the beach and relaxing pools.
Views from the bar View and the Cliff Restaurants are unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Chris,

Warmest greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!!!

We all read your brief but meaningful review with such great delights. Thank you very much for your kind words and above of all, for choosing to stay with us during your recent holidays.

We very much hope to have soon opportunity to look after you again. Meanwhile, we all wish you the best!

Truly yours,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    200
    64
    29
    19
See reviews for
45
424
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Before booking this hotel I was a bit uncertain because I read a number of mixed reviews about the place but when we got there we absolutely loved Centara Villas. Its location is perfect- situated on a hill with stunning views of the sea, a 5 minute walk to Karon beach, and is located close to shops, markets and restaurants. The villas are all beautiful, clean and spacious. Although there's a lot of stairs you can always call reception for the hotel's tuk tuk service to shuttle you around the hotel. Service was great and we were always treated well by the staff. Don't forget to check out the spa for some R&R!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Rachel,

Warmest greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!!!

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share with us thoughtful review. We are all delighted to hear you found your recent holiday with us joyful and memorable.

Please do not keep us waiting too long as we already look forward to your return home and to welcoming you to the Spa Cenvaree again!

Yours,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacala, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We simply loved Centara Villas, a place where you can really relax and forget all the stress from the busy life. Great welcome, really friendly and helpful staff. Zen decoration. Both room and bathroom very wide. Excellent pool, lots of green, threes and flowers. Excellent restaurant, nice food. Well located, close to karun beach witch is awesome and a bit distant of crazy Patong. To move around we rented a motorbike because it's quite cheap( you just have to leave you passport, but it's safe) or the hotel can call you a Tuck tuck cab with a lot of music and fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Karina,

Happy Valentines!!!

Thank you for your lovely review and above of all, thank you so much for staying with us. We are all delighted to learn you brought back fond memories from your holidays.

Please take best care and we already look forward to your return home!

Warmest regards,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just had 8 nights in a pool villa (411) with ocean views. Everything about this place is perfect, location, amenities, food and especially the staff, all of whom where friendly and helpful (especially Thong who gave us good advice).

Basically, if you want relaxing in Phuket, this is it.

Amazing.

Room Tip: 411 close to pool and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Peter,

Happy Valentines!!!

Thank you for your kind review and above of all, thank you so much for staying with us. We are all delighted to hear you had a good stay and that Khun Thong, our bell-driver looked after you well.

Please do not leave us too long, we already look forward to your return home!

Best regards,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a glorious hillside villa resort.

The lobby is at the highest point with all other areas & rooms reached by descending steps. A tuk-tuk is provided to take guests between villas, pools & spa. Villa views are just spectacular especially at sunset. The pools are delightful if on the small side. That said, there's a jungle pathway that links the lower pool deck to the north end of Karon beach. It's just a 5-10 minute walk but take care; some steps are very steep.

Villa guests can use facilities at the Centara Grand Resort, close to where the pathway ends. While the Grand is enormous and a little impersonal, Centara Villas is small, friendly and above all Thai in spirit. Any language issues are resolved with patience & a smile. Relax; you're on holiday!

Our room (109) was more than adequate, if slightly short of storage space. More wardrobes and drawers would be useful. Some additional Thai decorative items (paintings, carvings etc) would enhance the villas but maybe I'm being too critical. The room was impeccably clean and well-serviced daily. We asked for softer pillows which were produced at once. This is typical of the excellent level of service in the hotel. Staff competence & friendliness were brilliant. We were greeted by name within a day or two of arrival; a nice touch. We felt we were among friends.

Happy Hour at the viewpoint bar can be a little chaotic so plan ahead during this busy period. Again, you're on holiday. The staff work really hard to make you welcome & happy. Some things take a bit more time than others!

Buffet breakfast is superb with daily variation. Again, views from the restaurant are stunning. What a great way to start the day!

We both had a massage at the hotel spa; worth every penny. Our masseurs were professional, polite & well-trained. Don't bother with beach masseurs even if cheaper unless you like risk of injury and being 'talked over'.

Karon is about 5-10 minutes away by taxi; plenty of restaurants, bars & shops. Money changing is easy although travellers cheques are not as easy to change as in recent years.

Kata is bigger with even more to do; 10-15 minutes by car.

Patong is also 10-15 minutes away so Centara Villas is very-well placed.

Don't miss a trip to Big Buddha which overlooks Karon/Kata. We befriended a tuk-tuk driver who agreed a fee for the round trip; a memorable sunset.

The only downside is that Centara Villas is unsuitable for the elderly or infirm due to the large number of steps throughout the property. That said, we (both well north of 50!) had no problems with steps and were grateful of some 'enforced exercise' after a lazy day on the beach!

We've stayed at many hotels on Phuket and this one ticks all our boxes.

To summarise, if you like a small friendly authentic Thai resort where you'll be a friend, not a number, in a stunning location, this is for you. We're already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Redhot-Chillis,

Happy Valentines!!!

My staff and I read your review in TripAdvisor with such a great delight. Thank you so much for choosing Centara Villas Phuket for your recent holidays and we are all very happy to hear you loved your experience at our resort and already penciled down your next holidays with us!

Khun Redhot-Chillis, thank you once again for saving us jobs and we are already looking forward to your returned visit home away from home. In the meantime, we wish you and your loved one endless love, joys and happiness for this special day.

Truly yours,
Sam & entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent eight nights here after three very busy days in Singapore. We arrived at check in and were seated and given fresh coconut juice to drink. The villas are built on a hill and we asked for a room closer to the pool and it was changed for us. We were taken to the individual villa by Tuk Tuk. This is the mode of transport as it was 185 steps to reception from our villa. We rang the Tuk Tuk to take us up to breakfast and also to take us to reception in the evening.
When we drove down to the villa we realised that each villa was positioned so that you were not overlooked and you did not overlook anyone else.
The planting around the villas is amazing and you feel as if you are in a tropical paradise.
The villa had an outside area with table and chairs. Inside the villa is a large room with huge bed, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, small wardrobe with a safe. We put our own drinks in the fridge. There was a ceiling fan as well as excellent air conditioning. The decor and beautiful wooden floor gave a feeling of luxury. The bathroom was the width of the villa and huge. we had an enormous shower area on one side, vanity sink in the centre with plentiful toiletries and a toilet on the other side----- and we had a fish bowl on a stand complete with small fish!
The view from the villa over Karon Beach was spectacular. It was only beaten from the dining areas where we ate breakfast.
Breakfast was very relaxed and wonderful. The food was plentiful and delicious and eggs cooked to order.
The Manager was often around to chat with guests which was lovely. We even had a cocktail party one evening with drink and beautiful food.
The two pools were wonderful. There were only a few loungers-but there was always one available and we never saw towels left on loungers for hours!
We did not eat or drink in the hotel as it was expensive-I am sure more guests would stay around if it was cheaper.
The only down side for us was that you had to get a taxi out of the hotel in the evening. the location meant that it was not a good idea to walk on the main road.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to Patong at 5.30pm and to Karon in the morning.
You can walk to Karon beach in the day along a path from the hotel. You can be on the beach within ten minutes. The town can be reached by walking along the beach.
All in all a wonderfully relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Lynn,

Warmest greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!!!

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share with us a feedback on your recent experience at our resort. It is such a great joys to hear you were happy with your 8-night holidays and brought back home lots of good memories.

We all look forward to your returned visit and in the meantime, we wish you both a very happy Valentines!

With best regards,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I can not recommend this place highly enough, the location is superb – a couple of minutes tuk tuk or taxi ride into town, the service exceptional, and most of all – the villas/view is amazing!

My boyfriend and I have just come back from holidaying in Thailand, we got off to a bad start with the arrival of snow in the UK so took with delays and missed connections we had a long long journey ahead of us, but it was SO worth the wait – what a wonderful reception on arrival.

Welcomed with smiles, a wonderfully traditional coconut drink, and cold towel to cool off with. We were given a full run down of the amenities within the hotel itself, and our luggage dropped down to our rooms whilst we finished check in.

I always know when I’m onto a winner with a hotel when I get butterflies on opening the door to our room for the first time…. This place certainly had it in abundance! A spectacular view over the bay, we had a hot tub villa (which was not an expensive upgrade from a standard room) which was nestled within the greenery ,totally secluded and not at all overlooked – all the rooms were this way so far as we could see!

The villas/rooms are set on quite a steep gradient (hence not being overlooked) however there is a tuk tuk service that roams the resort (not noisy or imposing at all!) I was thankful for it after a “hard day” sunbathing by the pool and got dropped off within a couple of minutes direct to my door, the staff as ever, always more than happy to accommodate any need you may have.

By the time we reached our villa In the afternoon our bed was always made, bathroom thoroughly cleaned and toiletries re-stocked, we were pleasantly surprised with a kind gesture left for us each day, either an invitation for cocktails and canapés with management, free cocktails or a lovely bowl of fruit, service was above an beyond!

The pools are lovely, not huge – but they don’t need to be, the resort itself is small and intimate, the pools were never crowded and we always got a lounger when we wanted one. Alternatively there is a lovely little walk that stems down from the pool right down to the beach (about 5-10 mins)

The staff were fantastic, so, so friendly, nothing was too much trouble – we were always welcomed back in the lobby after an evening out, they were keen to hear about our day and were always on hand to offer advice should we need it!

100% recommend to anyone who is after a relaxing, friendly environment with fantastic customer service and management – the only negative is that I am now home, and wishing I were there! will definitely be coming back next year!!!

Room Tip: if you have the chance to upgrade to villa with hot tub go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun Woodles1,

My staff and I, we all read your review with such great delights, thank you indeed for taking your valuable time to share TripAdvisor’s fans a feedback on your recent stay at our resort.

It is really nice to hear you love our resort, services and facilities. We are truly lucky to have you both as our guests who are so friendly, caring and understanding to all of us.

We were really grateful for your kind patronage and for becoming our fans. Above of all, thank you for saving us jobs! We already look forward to your return home. Meanwhile we wish you both endless love and a very happy year

Truly yours,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Villas Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.