We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Villas Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Villas Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 73 hotels in Karon
Ruislip
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at Centara Villas for 10 nights from 4th november and was pleased to say that the good reviews were vindicated.The location is rather isolated but an ideal place to chill out and relax.
As per other reviews the staff are friendly and keen to please.We stayed in villa 221 which is fairly low down from the reception/restaurant and even though i consider us fairly fit i would recommend ordering the tuk tuk rather than walking up due to the humidity .Rooms were very comfortable and the two bottles of water left every day were a pleasant bonus.
I would recommend booking any excursions in karon but shop around as you do get wide variations on price .Patong is busier than Karon but is an acquired taste. if you dont get the hotel shuttle to karon or patong at 5pm and 5 30 which was a little early you can get a tuk tuk to either for 200 and 300 baht each way respectively .We found the food at the hotel very good but more expensive as would be expected.Breakfast was good with plenty of fruit and selection .Thailand is a beautiful country and staying at the Centara was a good choice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Adrian,

Warmest greetings from sunny Phuket!!!

My staff and I read your review in the TripAdvisor with such a great delight. Thank you so much for choosing our resort and we are all very happy to hear you had a great stay.

Khun Adrian, thank you once again for saving us jobs and we are already looking forward to your returned visit. In the meantime, we wish you and family joys and happiness on the festive holidays & New Year 2013 to come!

Best wishes,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    200
    66
    29
    19
See reviews for
45
426
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Staff were delightful and pleasant, authentic in their interactions with us, inc maintenance and villas tuk-tuk folk.
Breakfast was a feast, with views to die for, a lovely beginning to the day. The heat and humidity did mean that we had to use the hotels tuck service up and down the hill, their response was great and speedy. This service is essential in such conditions, they guys were always so polite and helpful.
Pools were amazing at times it felt so exclusive, do make the effort to go from the pool to the beach, it is 7mins walk to the start of the beach , you will then come along the Kai restaurant, which is uniquely a tremendous experience. Back to Centara the room we got was unbelievably spacious by any room comparison worldwide, it is a Villa and not a room. spotless and well kept throughout.
Room service and food were spot on.
Getting a tuk-tuk from the the centara to Karon or Patong was sourced easily by the security staff at hotel front.

This is not anything to do with hotel, but they need to be aware of some dubious charging by the tuk-tuk drivers transporting us in to Karon I am slightly annoyed with as to their 200baht charge (£4 ) when other journeys around Thailand were never that expensive at all Inc Bangkok.

I would like to thank Centara and its staff for a magnificent stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Dastardly&Mutlee,

Warm greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!

It is a great pleasure to hear you are now safely home and took along fond memories about our resort. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are very happy to learn that you found overall of your stay enjoyable and memorable.

Khun Dastardly&Mutlee, we truly appreciated you took a busy time to share with us your feedback. We very much hope to have opportunity to welcome you and party back to stay in our resort again in the near future. Meanwhile, we all wish you a merry Christmas & a very happy New Year to come!

Best wishes,
Sam and all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Centara Villas for five nights in November. We had booked a Spa Villa but when we arrived it wasn't completely what we'd expected (probably partly as a result of our fantastic experience at other resorts in Thailand). The spa wasn't very deep, more like a paddling pool size, and we were surrounded by trees which was very pretty, but I'm not too fond of bugs. It was also quite far away from the water, mostly obstructed view. In the bathroom was a bowl of water with tree bits (some sort of highly unattractive decoration), that was full of baby mosquitos! As a result, we were eaten alive the first night.

After that we upgraded to a Pool Villa which was AMAZING. We would definitely stay again at Centara, but only in the Pool Villa. They don't seem to have any concern for water conservation which surprised us, and the hot water was brown; hence we showered in cold water. We are pretty fussy, but we actually had a great time at Centara Villas overal.

Its a steep and windey hill through the resort so really nice that they have a shuttle going so you never have to walk anywhere. Food was very average and it's in a reasonably isolated location, but we walked to Karon a couple of times which wasn't far, and its only 200 baht to tuktuk back from Karon, and 300 baht home from Patong. They also had shuttles going to both Karon and Patong twice a day for free, so we made good use of that.

Room Tip: Definitely the pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Michelle,

Warm greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!

Thank you very much for staying with us and upgrading your accommodation to a Pool Villa. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and especially a Pool Villa experience. I do apologize on a hot water quality in your pool villa and it was already rectified by back-washing system of our engineering team. Your comment on our Spa Villa was well noted for a consideration on our next renovation project

Khun Michelle, once again thank you for taking your busy time to share with us your feedback. I very much hope to have opportunity to personally welcome you and your husband back to stay in our Pool Villa again in the near future.

Meanwhile, my staff and I wish you both a merry Christmas & a very happy New Year to come!

Best wishes,
Sam and all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

On arrival at this hotel we were informed that our accommodation would be a twin room instead of the king bed we had booked. We were informed we could change rooms the next day but the hotel was fully booked so nothing could be done for that night. No apology was given and the staff did not seem in the least bothered about the situation.

There is a free bus to either Patong or Karon but they are only ten minutes away and the bus only goes twice a day. Considering the hotel is little isolated a more frequent service would be easy to organise and much appreciated.

The food at the cliff was very nice but the service appallingly slow. There was a lot if staff who seemed to be rushing about looking busy but not serving the customers.

The reception staff spoke very basic English which was extremely frustrating when trying to extract anything but the most basic information.

In fairness the hotel rooms were lovely with stunning views it was just issues that could be easily rectified that let it down.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Highlandbull74,

Warmest greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!

First of all, thank you very much for staying with us and giving us a kind review on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry to hear that my front desk staff did not express an apology on twin-bed allocation situation upon your arrival. This was addressed to my team to be apologetic, polite, sympathetic and helpful in all cases especially whenever a hiccup arises. Above of all, I can be called 24-hour for any assistance they may need.

Concerning a free bus to Patong and Karon, we are unable to provide more trips due to high operation cost on both manpower and transportation. Most of 4-star hotels/resorts in the same area, provide one or two trips a day for free shuttle to nearby beaches.

Your kind constructive comment on the slow service at The Cliff is truly appreciated. It was taken for immediate improvement by the Food & Beverage team in order to ensure our guests enjoy their dining experience with us immensely.

Regarding English of our staff, we admit that some of our new staffs are not very good in English but we do have some senior ones around who are able to speak good English and some even in French. Those new ones are briefed to immediately call the senior ones in case he/she does not understand what our guests’ needs for assistance. Our next English class for staff will begin early next month after peakest period and I am now giving a personal English class to new staff who require urgent teaching and practicing.

Thank you once again for loving our villa and views. Certainly, we will improve and rectify every point you kindly constructed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our resort. In the meantime, we wish you and family a Merry Christmas & a very happy New Year to come!

Best wishes,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our first stay in Thailand and we travelled with a 10 year old and a 1 year old so we wanted somewhere that was child friendly but not somewhere that was just aimed at young families as we sometimes find these resorts too noisy.

Centara Villas was great. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, the villas are cleaned to a high standard. The staff all spoke moderate English which was also important to us. There are alot of steps, as the villas are up a cliff edge. These steps are a small price to pay for the fantastic views. It would definitely not be suitable for disabled people though as there are no ramps atall in the whole resort which just meant we had to carry a folded up buggy (certainly kept us fit). We also travelled with my 63 year old mother who did manage the steps but used the resorts 'Tuk Tuk' service, which are little car services they provide free of charge to take you around the resort. There is a foot path leading down to the local beautiful beach which again you cannot use if disabled but otherwise is fine. The beach there is lovely. The Centara Grand is at bottom of those steps and you can use there facilities and towels being a fellow Centara sister hotel. We did come down to this hotel a few times as there were slides for the kids and it was right on the beach. The Centara also have there own free of charge sun loungers for Centara customers. You do need to get down early though to get one but if not there are others down there for a very low charge.
The Centara resort, although has beach within walking distance, didn't have anything else really unless you walked along beach, because you are on a hill it restricted us walking anywhere with the buggy and obviously we couldn't walk along sand with it either, but there is a very good fast taxi service outside the hotel which is very cheap. Also the driving in Thailand is very different to UK so we wouldn't have felt safe with buggy and no pavements. As I mentioned though you can walk along beach though just not the road. Overall our stay was very very enjoyable. All our party loved it. The food was lovely, the staff very friendly and the accommodation very good. The views and greenery make this resort like paradise. I would definitely recommend here if staying in Phuket it was also affordable for our family but still had the high standards. There were lots of honeymooners that looked very happy too. Trust me I am very hard to please but loved it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so win win suituation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun JOF1978,

Warmest greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!

We all read your review with such a great delight. Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to express your feelings toward our staff, facilities and services extended during your recent stay with your family.

As you mentioned, our resort is for mainly happy, loving honeymooners and couples, very few children due to a steep location, secluded and a jungle style of our resort. We are very pleased to learn that you and mixed ages of your family members found our facilities provided convenient and suitable to your needs.

Above of all, it is great to hear you all enjoyed your stay, our food, our friendliness, our green garden and our views. We are fortunate to have you and family as our guests who see everything positive and beautiful. We trust you are all always loved and happy wherever you are, because of your beautiful hearts and minds.

Until we meet again, may we all wish you and family a Merry Christmas & a very Happy New Year to come!

Best wishes,
Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked the Centara Villas of the reviews on tripadvisor, so went with good expectations.

2 couples stayed 5 nights in November.

Had requested an upgrade to Pool Villa with the hotel 3 months before arrival and this was confirmed twice before arrival, the latest was 3 days before we arrived when we ordered a taxi to the airport.

When we arrived, we waited for about 30 minutes and were eventually told we'd be spending the first night in the deluxe villa and would then be moved, no explanation, apology, that's just the way it was.

Eventually after many requests I got speaking to a manager, who gave us 10% discount on the remainder of the nights.

The first night we ordered the "complimentary" bus to Patong, when we got to reception to get the bus we were changed 300 baht.

The next day I had to call the reception at 2pm to see when we would be moved. When we were moved we didn't receive any of the extra benefits as listed on their website, when I complained again we were given compensation, but I also queried the 300 baht charge on the bus. They checked their receipts and informed me I arrived at 5.25!! But they did offer a refund.

We ate at the Bay View restaurant on the second afternoon, there was a party of 4 and 2 had finished their full meal before the other 2 received theirs. We returned cocktails and the bill was incorrect at the end, Max was excellent and very apologetic.

Second last night we ate at the cliff restaurant, food was nice but when we were left waiting for approx 20 minutes before my girlfriend got her drink, we were informed they had run out and needed to go to town (this was after we raised the issue, yet again Max was excellent)
When we got the bill it was wrong again, we were charged for 5 extra drinks.

There is 10% service charge + 7% Vat on everything.

The hotel arranged tours are extremely expensive when compared to agents in Karon. (Triple the price in some cases)

The hotel arranged taxi was 1700 Baht from Airport to Hotel.

When in Patong, we were able to get similar taxi for 600 baht, so we ordered a taxi from the hotel to Patong when departing, the driver then said he'd do it for 800.

Overall I think we may have been a bit unlucky with the amount of instances where we had issues. Max was excellent and was probably the saving grace for our 5 days, tried to help wherever he could

Room Tip: Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Kevmacc,

Warm greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share with us a comment from your recent stay. I most regret to hear that you and party of four experienced several hiccups related to our restaurant services but I am pleased to hear that my Food & Beverage Manager, Khun Maxime Gaillard did rectify some of them promptly.

With regard to a Pool Villa, our Front Desk had encountered an overbooking situation due to a mistake from our side which failed to accommodate you on the first night but the rest of stay. After investigated with the front office staff and Assistant Front Office Manager who met you upon check-in, they all confirmed that they did apologize on the mistake and inconveniences. To compensate that, a 10% discount on supplement charge of each night from the agreed rate plus the second night, a Pool Villa was charged in a Deluxe Villa Rate only.
Regarding a free shuttle to Patong, we provide a free shuttle van to Patong at 10.30 am and again 5.30 pm. Our receptionist advised me that you and party arrived 5.25pm and she did inform that a shuttle will leave by 5 minutes later. However, you did not want to wait so she offered a private taxi at THB 300 and you managed to pay cash for that. It was a shock and surprise to her that you came back and complain to a Front Office Manager. Since she thought that it might be because of her English was not good enough to make you understand clearly, she took her own money to pay back to you in order to fix the issue.

Concerning a taxi fare, I admit that our hotel taxi fare is more expensive than those local taxis. However, our hotel taxi service is inclusive of insurance in case of accident and it is convenient because you can get it anytime. Moreover it is traceable whenever our guest forgets something behind, unlike a local taxi. For your information, a van for four passengers we charge at THB 1,700 net and a sedan car for two will be charged at THB 1,200 net.

However, I very much hope that you felt most our staff extend their services from their hearts even though they cannot deliver up to your expectation. I do apologize on our shortfalls and count on your kind understanding and forgiving on above matters.

Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you all back to our resort in the future.

Sincerely,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked Centara Villas for several features:

1. Location - The distance from Patong was important for relaxation, but also to still be accessible to both Patong and Karon beach.
2. Secluded Villas with balconies overlooking the sea.
3. Price point and rating from Trip Advisor.

We were impressed with all of the features above turning out to be accurate. We arrived early for our 9 night stay and waited at the Cliff restaurant overlooking the sea with complimentary cocktails.
The room was spacious and well equipped, with everything but an iron (not that we would've used it if it was there). Housekeeping were fantastic everyday, even down to arranging our toiletries and a nice touch was a few personalised notes and handmade origami flowers. I particularly liked the monsoon showerhead.

Both villa (room) service and both restaurants had a wide variety of dishes
(Thai and Western) and the food was great.

Both pool areas were good for relaxing and the waterfall seat is a good spot to get out of the sun for a while or use the banana lounges to relax.

You can walk along the coastline to Karon beach (5-10 minutes) and there are a few secluded spots to walk through to the cliffs and watch the sunset over the sea from the rocks. There's also a grassed area next to the day spa looking out over the ocean we used to watch the sunset.

Staff were almost always friendly, there were only 1 or 2 communication difficulties with bar staff when ordering drinks which wasn't really an issue.

Taxis (apparently across most of Phuket now) were not at the same cheap price we found in Bangkok but they do have fairly set prices and some can show you the price list. Regardless of whether tuk-tuk or private vehicle we found it a little annoying that we had to use the hotel services to leave the hotel (as there was no number we could call for a taxi). That said they were able to arrange a good price to get us over the other side of the island to Phuket Town and also a trip up and back to the Big Buddha.

The only other thing I could fault with the hotel was the front desk having an obvious issue with us making a request to get a taxi to the tailor of our choice and didn't provide the address correctly to the driver(we gave reception the tailor's card with address written in Thai on it); leaving us with the choice of walking or paying a little extra. We weren't all that put out by this but don't think travellers should be put out because hotels and/or staff aren't receiving kickbacks from tailors or taxi companies; as we had only booked to stay for accommodation.

Apart from the above (which would likely be encountered in most hotels in Phuket currently) we were really pleased with this hotel and all but a few staff were very accommodating during our entire stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel in Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santibkk, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun 529Freestyle,

First of all, thank you very much indeed for taking your valuable time to express your detailed experience during your 9-night stay at our resort to us and TripAdvisor’s fans.

I am personally pleased to hear that you found our resort is up to your expectation and satisfactory. Concerning your bad impression with the front desk staff, I had briefed and warned them to work professionally. The resort has no policy to allow our staff to take any commission from third party since the resort has already been paying them a salary plus service charge monthly, apart from other benefits and welfare. If found fault, a serious action will be taken respectively.

Khun 529Freestyle, I sincerely appreciated you kindly recommend Centara Villas Phuket to other travelers. Above of all, I am already looking forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you back home in Phuket. In the mean time, I wish you the best for the festive holidays to come!

Best wishes,
Sam & entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Villas Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.