We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centara Cliff Villa Karon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Villas Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Villas Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Villas Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate + Free ABF
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Centara Cliff Villa Karon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have just returned from a stay at Centara Cliff Villa Resort in Karon which was a fabulous experience. The location is perfect, away from the hustle bustle of Karon. The staff, the spa and the restaurant breakfast and dinner gets 10 out of 10, it really was a beautiful experience. The hotel is for people that is looking for peace and quiet and good service.

Room Tip: The higher the cottages are the better the view over Karon beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    248
    76
    35
    22
See reviews for
61
503
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We've just returned from our second stay at the Centara Villas Karon, and I'm just as impressed as the first time. This time we holidayed with another couple (in laws) who had also previously stayed here at our recommendation

For us the Centara offers the perfect combination of privacy, seclusion & resort ammenties. For sure it doesn't have a gym, tennis court rah rah rah. But it does have an atmosphere you can't get staying in a normal high rise hotel.

Although the price of the food at the resturant for evening meals is more expensive than (some) places in town, the quality is outstandingly consistant, both Western & Thai. They have happy hour at the pool bar from 4-5pm & main bar at the resturant from 6-7pm.

The grounds are all rainforest and immaculately kept, anything else wouldn't be in keeping with the style of villas. Don't get me wrong, there are steps - and a lot of them, but what else would you do if not walk around and enjoy where you are staying. For us, this was an added element of pleasure. The pools are beautiful, with a waterfall following the natural contour of the hill to connect the 2 both over looking the ocean.

The rooms are fantastically roomy - each with their own private balcony. We have enjoyed this on both occasions - having an outdoor space. The bathrooms are amazing. Rain head shower head and a huge shower recess under natural light skylights. The beds are on the hard side, but the pillows are great. We found we slept better on our resent stay compared to our first, I'm not sure if the beds had changed or we just knew what to expect.

One new thing they have, which they needed was internet access. Wifi in the resturants & pool area and broadband via LAN in the rooms. It cost us 500bt for 7 days - unlimited, this worked out well for us.

We loved the walk track down to the beach, and would walk that in the evenings and tuk tuk home after a meal/shopping. We also ultilised the free shuttle into Patong into Patong, although its best to ring half an hour before and just confirm so there's room, it fills up pretty quick. Tuk Tuk from Karon to Villas - 200bht, Patong to Villas 300bht. If you miss the shuttle to town,walk up to the road and either get them to flag you a tuk tuk/taxi or flag one yourself, they'll stop for you. Hiring a taxi through reception will cost you an average extra 100bht

The staff, oh the staff! They are wonderful! Absolutely all of them. Most of them were the same ones we had in 2009. They are beautiful & friendly- true Thai's. They have a pretty good understanding of English and what they don't get, they truely try to.

We can't wait to come back to Phuket, and we'll definately stay again at the Centara Villas. I would recommend for couples, single and friends. We travelled with another couple found the layout perfect. We only really appriciated this hotel the on the second visit and after seeing the other hotels in the area and what they offered compared to the villas.

Room Tip: * Try and ask for a room in the middle, these have steps up to the resturant & down to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband & I went to Thailand for our honeymoon and this was the place we stayed in at Phuket.Away from the highly commercialized Patong beach,this resort is located at Karon from where you can conviniently cover most of Phuket.The food at Centara is delicious,the villas are beautiful allowing you great privacy and beautiful view of the sea.But I want to make a special mention about the staff, each one of whom is highly efficient,most of them speak decent enough English and those few who don't don't let it come in the way of getting you whatever it is that you are looking for.We were very impressed and touched by the level of service provided by some of them.We never went to the resort beach so can't comment on it though it has one.I had read about mosquito problems in TripAdvisor reviews but don't know if it was the weather(March 7 to 10) or what but we didn't face it much,had carried repellent along anyway.Highly reccommend renting a scooter the first day you get there,taxis can work out slightly expensive and it's more fun on the bike...also you will discover places which are not on the tourist map but will take your breath away.

Room Tip: Each room is an independent unit,full privacy.We stayed in a sea view room.I think all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place is the best place iv stayed. We stayed at two hotels during our hunnymoon both in Koran & this one was by far the best it was also the cheaper of the two. Centrara villas staff are amazing very kind, nice & never out to rip you off. The other hotel we stayed we were harassed by staff to buy stuff from them at centra villas you get the 5 star treatment & are treated like people not a cash machine. The staff are incredibly helpful & the took took & bus driver are the nicest people. We went n a free city tour ran by them & loved it. The food, location, facilities all fantastic, not one complaint. The hill helped to burn off the 2 for one cocktails during happy hour so no problems there. It is your own tropical retreat, if your on a hunnymoon stay here you will not regret it. Waiking up to the smell of the rain forest not pollution is amazing. Based only on centra villas we will be back next year, as this hotel should be a 5 star & the other one we stayed cost more but was at 3 star standard.. Will never stay anywhere else again whilst in Thailand :) thank you for the hunnymoon of our dreams

Room Tip: all have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked this hotel based mainly on the wonderful reviews.

We arrivd very late as our flight landed in Phuket International Airport at midnight. The shuttle driver could not find the place. That should have been our first clue. There was one person at the reception at the time that did not speak very good English, and we were surprised to find out that we need to take the "mini car" to get to our room. Since we were travelling with another couple, they took them first and we were left waiting at 2 AM. Finally after about 15 minutes the mini car arrived to take us to our room. He was driving on very steep and narrow roads until we got to our villa. Then another surprise - 24 steps to get to the villa itself. The room was nice, but nothing special and it was quite small. The bathroom does not have AC. When we got up in the morning in time to catch breakfast we discovered that we have to take that mini car everywhere we want to go WITHIN the resort. What a pain. The breakfast buffet was OK, but nothing special.
The people at the reception during the day do not speak very good English either.
This place is totally isolated. To go to the beach in Karon you have to take a foot path for about 15 minutes and on the way back you have to climb and climb unless you manage to summon the mini car from the lower bar area. They have a shuttle to take you to Patong 3 times a day, but it is only one way. A taxi from Patong to the hotel is about 300 THB.
There is no free Wi-Fi like in any other hotels in Thailand we stayed at. You have to pay extra for internet access. We did not even bother.

After taking the shuttle to Patong, we decided to cut short our stay at the Villas and move to a hotel that is more accessible. They were nice about approving our early departure and even letting us take their shuttle to Patong with all our luggage. We had a really good experience with a manager called Apple.

In summary - if you are on your honeymoon, you are young and don't mind climbing in the stifling heat - this place is for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evasion53, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your review, but please do not blame the resort for the wrong choice you made.
We believe there is sufficient information available on travel websites and travel blogs including this one for our guests to select the right hotel based on their preferences.
On another note, Karon beach is only five minute walk away from the lower pool.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

After reading a lot of this hotel, we decided to choose Villas (got also a good deal of 120€/night) where we spent 5 nights in February. It was quite difficult to find issues of the hotel which I would like to improve. Everything went smoothly and the expectations we had were mostly fulfilled.

Firstly, we found the location almost perfect. What comes to the steepness of the hill... We didn't even notice it. Climbing up some steps a day was just good training. Between Patong and Karon you could always choose where you wanted to spend time and hotel offered a free ride few times a day to both of them. We often chose to walk to Karon beach on the morning, cause it is a long beautiful beach suitable for jogging. One day we took the hotel's ride to Patong and rent a motorbike for a couple of days and exploring the Phuket island was more than easy and more than fun. When I returned the bike, I did walk back to the hotel and it took less than 30 minutes.

About the hotel... the room was very nice and large enough, even though it was the cheapest one. There was a small aquarium for instance! The view from the balcony was stunning, almost as nice as it was at breakfast terrace. Nothing to complain about the room - our room seemed to be renovated lately, specially the bathroom was great. About the TV I can't say anything because we didn't switch it even once on...

Breakfast was as good as it had to be and various enough. Omelette man and a chance to brew your own morning coffee was nice. Thumbs up for this. And for the lovely frogs at the pool as well. We loved to visit the pool fancying those little but noisy friends.

The minus points come from the misunderstandings of the staff. Some of them spoke fluent English, but if you happened to ask anything, the answers were sometimes funny so to say. Of course they were helpful and did their best, but the lack of English skills was something that made us cry and laugh at the same time. And typical Thai style, they never could admit they had misunderstood. For example when we checked out we told the receptionists that we had filled the feedback questionnaire but we unfortunately left it in the room. They nodded and repeated what we had told. It just took one minute and one of them came to me and asked if I had time to fill the questionnaire...... =P

All in all, lovely hotel, where we had perfect time to relax. Quite far from Patong's night life which in my opinion was nice. Highly recommend, because of Villas is somehow fresh and different hotel. We stayed few more nights in another hotel at Kata beach with a big swimming pool which we thought was a great mix of a successful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Centara for our honeymoon. We were initially greeted by the friendly and helpful staff. They were our one saving grace for our stay. Firstly we were advised that our room wasn't ready and that they had put us in another room for our first night. Next we were told of the government and additional daily room charges that were not disclosed in our initial quote when booking. This totalled almost 20% a night extra.

Our Villa was nice but for the money we were paying we would have expected a little more. The next thing that really annoyed us was the hotels policy on water, as most people would know you are advised not to drink the water in Thailand. The hotel only offers 2 bottles of water per day for each Villa and charges for water served at the restaurant/bar or pool side.

We also had to pay for wi fi access on top of our normal room costs. We were then unable to access it in our villa and had to come to the main reception to use this additional service. The resort also offers a spa faciltiy but the prices and very over inflated compared to any other spa services in the town. They also did not offer all the services advertised. Mainly tai chi/yoga classes. The restaurant serves nice food and the breakfast was ok but the prices that you pay per meal at the two restaurants left a lot to be desired.

All in all we would not reccomend staying here for the above reasons. There are plenty of nicer hotels in patong or karon not in the thick of the beach strip that we would stay at next time.

On a brighter note the staff were always pleasant and helpful and very nice to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#20 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Villas Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.