We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach, inconsistent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach, inconsistent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

What a stunning private beach! It is so clean and well maintained.
I wish we had the opportunity to enjoy one of the newly refurbished room. Unfortunately, at check-in, we were given an "upgrade" to the ocean view room on the old wing. I don't consider this an upgrade at all. Room was dated, bathroom was definitely not a 5-star standard. Mouldy ceiling and grouts.
Room is spacious, but the tea and coffee making facilities is very basic.

June is low season in Phuket, and the hotel was quite empty. We found that there was not enough staff presence in the pool area during the day. We saw some guests having to carry and open umbrellas around the pool, and it took us a while to place our lunch/snack order by the pool as there was no staff around.

Breakfast was average, quantity and quality. Egg station was quite a let down, the egg omellete was not cooked at all on the inside. Pastries were great and the Le Meridien eye opener shots was a must try every morning!
We went out for most lunches and dinner, as food in the hotel is exorbitant!! Way too expensive. As a comparison, a fried rice or pad thai at the hotel would set you back around THB400++, if you walked out to Mr Yong's restaurant outside the hotel gate, it would only cost you around THB150.
For drinks, we went out to the beach hut bar, they also cost about 10% of what the hotel charges, and you can bring drinks from this bar into the pool area.

Le Spa was great, although it is not cheap. They offered a great 40% off for rainy season, which made it reasonable. The tea and the spa room was the highlight of the treatment.

Only managed to see the baby elephant for about 5 minutes. Didn't make appearance on all the other days we spent at the hotel.

We never had a turn-down service, which i always thought a standard for 5-star rating hotel. On top of it, on one of the days we stayed, our room was not serviced until I made a call around 5.30 in the evening! We didn't even have clean towel to use. I had to call room service twice, and asked to speak to the duty manager before someone finally came knocking on our door to give us clean towels and promised to service the room while we were out that night.

I would recommend taking the hotel shuttle to Patong, THB100 per person one way.
On the way back, a tuk-tuk or taxi from Patong should cost you between THB180-200.
Mr Yong's restaurant outside the gate is fantastic for lunch, with some genuine local Thai food. We met Mr Yong himself, and he's a nice guy. His son, Mr Rin has a taxi car. He offers quite a good rate too, cheaper than the hotel taxi.

Overall, it was a good stay because of the beach. I don't think we'll stay in this hotel again, the service we received didn't make us "miss" the hotel when we left.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Dear “beachhotellovers”,
Thanks for your detailed review. We sincerely regret that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We are surely not proud of the inconsistencies in our services which you brought up. We thank you for bringing these to our attention. I will have our management team collectively look into this. I know for a fact that roster assignments in the pool and beach areas are done diligently. Based on your comments, we are reminded that we need to improve on this. We are sorry that you had to request for a turndown service when this is supposed to be done each day. We sincerely apologize for this departure in our service standards. We’re glad that you liked our secluded beach and the spa treatment. We’re hoping you would consider returning to Le Méridien Phuket on your next trip to the island. I’ll make it a point to have you booked in one of our new rooms. We would definitely welcome the opportunity to regain your trust in our services.
Thanks again for your comments. We appreciate them very much.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    604
    151
    81
    44
See reviews for
572
793
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hi...I stayted with my family in Meridien from 20 till 25 June 2010..rooms were great....amazing breakfast in hotel.....definitely will come again.....dont stay in hotel in Patong area as very congested......very nice personal beach....amazing swimming pool also....staff very helpful.....hotel taxi is expensive but good

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Hi "ritrakesh"

Thank you so much for your kind appraisal. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, huge pools and secluded beach. We do hope you'll return soon!

Thanks and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed for 6 nights at Le Meridien in july 2009. My room was Deluxe Ocean View

Positives:
Check in was ok, we were welcomed with fresh juice and refreshing towels.
Private beach is great but we didn't use it much since we went on trips every day.
Staff is good and friendly.
Gym is not bad.
Swimming pool is one of the best I've ever seen.
Breakfast is good.
The lobby is very well designed. Some may complain as it is outdoor but I found that appealing being in tropical island.

Negatives:
Rooms are a little old but come on does that really matter? I've stayed in other hotels with new rooms which felt a lot cheaper than this one.
If you book a trip from the hotel you'll be charged three times as much as if you book it from Patong beach.
The hotel is really isolated and if you plan to go out don't think of coming back again unless you want to go to bed.
Felt a little dead, may be because it was in low season.
I ordered dinner from the room service. It was not good at all, not bad but not good.

I'm going back to phuket two weeks from now. I don't know if I'm gonna stay here again because I feel like I wanna try another hotel that if you go out of the hotel door you can do something.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear "ANO83"

Thank you for your review. While we appreciate the favourable comments, we regret that we were unable to completely satisfy your expectations during your recent stay. I must admit that the one of the strengths of the resort is the great variety of outdoor sports and recreational facilities available. However, a lot of these have not been all available the past few days due to rain. We hope the weather would turn out better on your next trip to Phuket. Moreso, we hope you'll reconsider staying with us again. The resort isn't that far from Patong, only five minutes away. Hertz offers resort guests shared transfers at THB 100 per way and THB 180 round-trip several times a day. Quite convenient considering you'll also get to enjoy a secluded beach which the resort offers. Thanks again!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

This resort is the most amazing resort I have ever stayed in. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Some of the front staff desk remembered our faces and names and greeted us personally whenever we would walk past reception. They made us feel like we were very important.

The private beach is also a bonus. Very quiet and no one hassling you. The rooms here are a bit outdated however they are renovating and have a few newly renovated rooms which they also offered us, however we preferred the ocean view. We were given a tour of the new rooms and they do look really good!

The food is pretty nice as well. We had the green chicken curry at the thai restaurant and it really is the best curry i have ever had.

I also took advantage of the 50%off vouchers for the spa. I received several massages and even one outside under the trees facing the beach. It was truly amazing. If you get the chance you need to do this!

The hotel also has their own taxi service which is quite convenient as you cannot walk to the main area of Patong from here. It was decently priced. There are some little shops just outside of this hotel. DO NOT GO THERE. We got hugely ripped off. We bought a couple of snacks, insect repellent, sunscreen and some water and couple of bottles of beer and this cost us about $100AUD!! We had no idea until we left and thought.. wow that was really expensive. If you need to buy these things, I suggest going to a 7 eleven or a supermarket.

I cannot recommend this hotel more. It was really one of the best experiences I have ever had!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear “mzval”

Thank for your this detailed review and for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for your kind appraisal of our services particularly our Thai restaurant. Our chefs were especially pleased to hear about your comments on the food and our yummy green curry. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our resort soon. We'll have a hot bowl of your favourite dish waiting for you at Wang Warin when you do!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oestringen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and apart from the evironment and furiture there is nthing to complain about. I am not sure if I would rate it with 5 stars given the fact it is a bit used up.
We booked a standard room and got upgraded into a junior suite.
House keeping service in the room was excellent. I had the feeling every time we left the room for more than one hour, they had something to clean or replace in the room.
Very large and nice pool area, which we rarely used because the private beach was so good.
All food we tried was very good and prices were appropriate accoring to the standard of the hotel.
I would book it again in low season.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear "jweiss1"

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. Your comments are well received. Being a resort that has been in operations for more than 20 years, we recognize the need to constantly upgrade our rooms and facilities. We have actually completed refurbishment of our Deluxe Garden and Pool View Rooms and are looking to expand this effort to other areas. Thank you for rating us favourably despite the concerns you raised. We hope you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. We look forward to your return!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

this hotel feels very out-dated. it's quite impressive as you're pulling up to the entrance, but after a look around, you realized the decor and environment is straight out of the 1980s. the pool is huge and the beach is nice enough, but--our key frustration--there really isn't much to do. and because the resort is physically isolated from the rest of phuket, it's not like it's convenient to leave. there are a few shops but they mostly over-priced tourist traps.

i'd think twice about staying here, just because i think you'd get bored quickly.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Hi "booist"

Greetings from Le Meridien Phuket. Thank you for your comments. Please accept our sincere regret if your recent stay wasn't up to your expectations. We are aware of the need to constantly upgrade our rooms and facilities and have actually completed refurbishments of our Deluxe Garden and Pool View Rooms last December. In the coming months we will also conduct touch-up works and refurbishments in other areas including the mini-golf and the Pakarang Restaurant. We do offer a complete range of sports and recreations activities like tennis and squash courts, golf driving range, rock-climbing wall and a host of daily programmes for guests. Our associates are trained to inform guests of these services and facilities. We apologise if this was not done so during your stay. Your comments tell us that we need to do a better job of communicating this. We hope that you'll consider returning to the resort on your next trip to Phuket as we would appreciate the chance to regain your confidence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights, and our experience at the hotel was not quite what we expected. The staff never seemed like they cared about us being there, and were on their own agendas the entire time. The water in our first room was brown, then we moved out of that room, and the water in the next room came out brown at first as well. I know the water is not clean in Thailand, but shouldn't a resort with the prestige of Le Meridien be able to make sure their water isn't brown??? Just saying. There wasnn't even a break from the hassling, as there are contractors on the beach for jet ski rentals and massages. The prices are very high for Thailand, although the jet ski guy gave us a GREAT offer, 35 min instead of 30 min for the same price! Moving on, the food at the resort is not good, and also very expensive. They have a monopoly on the cab service, and charge ridiculous rates to go into Patong or Karon. Cabs or tuk-tuks are necessary to get anywhere, and you'll need to walk about a half mile to find a tuk tuk. Our stay just was not very pleasant. One bright note: the beach there is AMAZING, and it's a private beach. Very clean, clean water, few people, very nice. This doesn't make up for the rest of the hotel's issues though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Hi "kevintrimble"

Thank you for your comments. We regret hat your recent stay wasn't up to your expectations and please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction you have expressed. Part of our ongoing refurbishment programme is the upgrade of our current water pipe system. Phase by phase, we've managed to replace some of the old pipes and will do so at every opportunity. Thank you for sharing your comments on the jetski operators at the resort. Although this is not run by the resort we take comments on this topic seriously as it affects our guests' stay. Same for the cab service as this is run by local concessions throughout the island. We hope you'll consider returning to the resort as we would definitely appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#2 Spa Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#4 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.