We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,784 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just had 14 beautiful nights at Le Meridien Phuket with my husband and three young children. This resort is just amazing. First of all, the service of every single staff member was impeccable. The facilities and grounds are beautiful, well designed, clean, kid friendly and comfortable. We all loved the pools and spent many a day between the different pools and restaurants. Food was incredible, fresh and delicious. We loved the themed nights in the buffer, dinner and a show. Seafood was amazing, as was the traditional Thai food. So much choice for breakfast. The location of this resort was perfect, 5 minutes from Patong or 10 minutes from Karon Beach, so very close to shopping and nightlife but still secluded and private. The private beach was patrolled and we felt very safe, even though there were some big waves. Each morning and afternoon the resident baby elephant comes to visit so kids can have a pat and a photo. I have only great things to say about this place and will definitely take my family back. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 'Rachel M'

Thank you for your review. We are certainly pleased to learn that you and your family had a wonderful stay and you consider this experience to be 'perfect in every way'. It was our pleasure to have you and we all look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    559
    139
    78
    41
See reviews for
529
716
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miranda, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have just returned from 2 weeks at this resort and could not rate it highly enough for the parents and our 3 year old. It was so close to hop in a taxi and get to Patong, Karon or Kata to eat shop etc.

Its own private beach, acres of pools, put put, driving range, the elephant that comes every day.

My 3 yr old had a babysitter who would take him to Kids Club, he loved the pools, golf and so many activities

Room Tip: We had a pool view room and you can see the ocean as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 'TraceyLentell'

Thank you for your review and kind appraisal. We are delighted to learn that your family enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Many thanks for highlighting the secluded beach and the hotel's venues and services. We hope you'll keep us mind for your next holiday in Phuket and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The warm, personal service at this resort makes you forget how large it is. Every aspect of our stay was effortless and comfortable. The hotel itself is beautifully-appointed without being ostentatious, and the location stunning, on a pristine, private beach nestled between the hills. Our junior suites were spacious with comfortable beds, ample ocean-facing balconies complete with sun loungers and a thoughtful drying rack for wet swimwear. The oversized bathroom had a large shower which housed a standard shower fixture as well as an overhead rain shower head. Breakfast was included: a massive buffet with an impressive selection to please guests from all over the world, always beautifully presented with foods replenished continually. Pools were massive and well-maintained. The biggest impression though, was the service. The resort's greatest asset is its staff: warm, friendly and giving the impression that nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 'Heifscott'

Thank you for your review and your encouraging appraisal. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially appreciate the warm, personal service by our associates. We thank you for this. At the same time we are happy that you also enjoyed the secluded beach, oversized swimming pools, and our venues. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again and we all look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. It neither pleased nor displeased me and although there was nothing particularly impressive, our overall stay was quite pleasant. If you are looking for the unique experience of a smaller 'boutique' hotel, however, this is probably not the place. Our room was spacious and clean and service at breakfast was attentive. We didn't get the chance to check out the beach but there's a very big swimming pool. I'd say that some renovation is in order, but then again, there was nothing too obvious that needed fixing. If you want to be close to Patong, it is about a 5-6 minutes drive away. I would consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear "MATravellerDxb'

Thank you for your review. We regret that your experience did not completely meet your expectations. We certainly hope that you'll choose to stay with us again so we could provide you with a far better stay than just the pleasant one you had. We wish you pleasant journeys and look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the service provided by the staff. It was exceptional. Other good things were the beach, the large pool and the feeling that the hotel, despite being pretty full, never felt crowded.
The food in general was good, not exceptional and reasonably priced after the SPG discount, except for the seafood buffet which was very disappointing. The breakfasts were good if a little crowded/hectic, except for the last day when we went down at 6.30am due to an early departure. The food at that time was all cold!
The rooms were spacious, clean and had good size balconies. It seems like they had been recently renovated. However, if this was the case, then why didn't they rip out all the old dark wood fittings which gives the room a somewhat dated feeling? Budget constraints?
One small complaint was the state of a hire car we arranged thru' the hotel. The car was filthy inside and didn't appear to have been cleaned for months. If the hotel uses third party companies for car hire etc. then they should make sure they supply suitably prepared vehicles.
On the whole though, a pretty good and relaxing experience and fairly good value for money.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms also have a pretty good view of the beach/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 'champagnesupern0va'

Thank you for your review. While we are pleased to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay we certainly regret that we failed to deliver in some aspects. Rest assured that your feedback on the seafood buffet. Thank you for this and for your feedback on the car provided to you. This is definitely contrary to our usual high service standards and we will bring this up in our next meeting with the transport company. Meanwhile we hope you'll consider staying with us again as we are very much looking forward to providing you with a much more enjoyable experience. We wish you pleasant journeys meanwhile.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at Le Meridian for twelve days after a stay in Bangkok and then the rain forest and we were really pleased we chose this hotel. The beaches on Phuket are all public and are a little mad and crowded due to all the tourists even in low summer season. The Meridian beach is a cove and can only be reached by hotel or boat and has no facilities other than those at the hotel so it feels like a private beach. It was nice to visit the hustle and bustle of Patong or Karon and then return to the lovely hotel and it's gorgeous beach.

The sea can be very rough in August but has life guards. We were very careful when jumping in the waves as the undertow is strong. It was actually relatively calm for half our stay which was great. It may be worth pointing out that all beaches in Thailand are now not allowed to have sun loungers, umbrellas or beach huts. This included the Meridian. I was initially a bit upset by this as we like to sit on the beach. The hotel does give out cushioned mats but this isn't comfortable for a long day and there is no shade. However, I did change my view when I realised the Thai people were all very pleased with this as the beaches were previously jam packed with loungers and hawkers and it does look much nicer and more natural.

The hotel food is very good and although five star prices it is fairly comparable with other decent restaurants. The only difference is all hotels charge 10 percent service charge and a large tax on top of the price which does add up...this is obviously no fault of the individual hotels.

The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough. Keow ( sorry not sure I have spelt her name correctly) who was at breakfast and the beach bar restaurants was fabulous, knew our room number and preferences and was very helpful. The guys serving behind the two beach bars were also very friendly and got to know our order very quickly. I was pleasantly surprised throughout our stay in Thailand that all people are very helpful and tips although welcome are not expected unlike many countries. This was our experience in and out of the hotel.

Valentine the baby elephant who visits the hotel twice a day was gorgeous and his Mahout obviously cares for him and has a really special bond. We also saw him up the road where the big elephants go out on treks and we were pleased to see he has other elephant company.

We were a bit disappointed with lack of activities and things to do for teenagers at the hotel. Also my husband enjoys water polo and beach volley ball etc. All advertised but never really happened. I spoke to the hotel and they blamed the beach conditions which were actually fine. They did put up a volley ball net then no staff member turned up at the allotted time. The general lack of buzz and fun in the sports and activities area would be my only reason for not returning to the hotel. We don't want to be over organised but a little more enthusiasm from the sports/activities area would be good. We know they could do it as when the companies attending conferences turned up it was a hive of activity in the sports area. Meaning not only could we not use the facilities, it was noisy but it showed the staff are very capable of motivating people to join in when they need to.

That was my only draw back and I felt the need to point that out to others with teens or husbands needing lots to do!

We had a few issues with condensation in our room and our kids room door electronic lock kept failing. They also suffered from a big leak from air conditioning which went on their clothes. These things were mildly annoying but dealt with very quickly.

If it wasn't for the lovely staff and beach then I would give this hotel a four but given that we had chosen this area for our holiday i couldn't have picked a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 'OxshottLadies'

Thank you for your detailed feedback. While we are pleased to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay we do regret the lapses in our service delivery. I have shared your feedback regarding the absence of the water sports activities you mentioned for the team to review and follow-through. As you pointed out, sunloungers and beach huts have been removed. This was done to comply with a directive in place throughout Phuket Island issued by the National Council for Peace and Order. Mattresses for the beach as well as sun loungers around the pool area remain available for guests and currently we are also looking into improving this without going against the government directive. We are certainly pleased that you consider the secluded beach a welcome respite from the other beaches. We also regret the equipment failure in your room. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again despite this lapses as we look forward to providing you with a far more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

An old established hotel that has just been completely renovated. The staff are excellent, food is good and resort is very family friendly. It is the only resort in Phuket with a private beach. I keep coming back with my family every year.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear 'Qyaqoob'

Thank you for your review and for making us your preferred holiday venue on Phuket. We are grateful that you continue to stay with us whenever you are on the island and are happy that we exceed your expectations each time. We look forward to your next stay and wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#3 Family Hotel in Karon
#3 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.