We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a real gem...but furnishings are outdated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   29 Soi Karon Nui, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“this is a real gem...but furnishings are outdated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was impressed by the design of the swimming pool & it gives guests a very relaxing atmosphere, & compared to other beach resorts I've seen throughout Phuket, this one scores high marks because of its attention to detail, for example, even if you walked out to the beach, there are ample facilities which you can use. This resort has been purpose built & very well executed, I highly recommend this establishment!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 'singlish_sg'

Thank you for your feedback and valuable endorsement. I note that your review was based on your stay in February 2013. Since your stay we have actually implemented major enhancements - specifically full renovations of Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites which were completed in October 2013. At the same time we have opened a new 'Latest Recipe' all-day dining venue and refurbished the Pakarang Restaurant the following month. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again so you could experience these great upgrades. Although I am biased in saying that the secluded beach next to the hotel is certainly unique - most guest reviews we've received also agree with your feedback. Thank you for highlighting this in your review. Many thanks for staying with us and we look forward to having you again at Le Meridien Phuket.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    819
    493
    124
    74
    36
See reviews for
445
629
58
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Having come to this hotels 6 years in a row. This year all I can say is: if you need to get away for a weekend or a month come here. The food, staff and the rooms unbelievable quality of service second to none. But if you ever tire of the scenery then as close to heaven as you can get.
The executive breakfast is to die for 10 restaurants and bars with theme nights every night and the most fantastic staff you have ever be treated by.
Well done team you are all stars in my book.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 'mintyJakarta'

Thank you for your encouraging words and for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us whenever you are on Phuket. Rest assured that we will continue to do our utmost to exceed guest expectations - your kind appraisal will certainly spur on our efforts. We look forward to having you again at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was expensive over Christmas but a wonderful experience. My family, including daughter and two grandchildren, especially enjoyed the miniature golf, golf range, ping pong and archery. There were also tennis courts. Beautiful property and very good restaurants. All of us (except 5-year old) had very enjoyable massages. The only problem we had were a few stings from jelly fish, but nothing serious. Over nearly a week we only left the resort one time.

Room Tip: The first room they had for us was too big; second room was just right--and about $100 less per nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 'MelWacks'

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to know that no one was seriously hurt from the jelly fish stings. It is actually not common to encounter jelly fish in our area and our lifeguards and nurse on call are well equipped and trained to assist guests in this situation. Many thanks for highlighting the Resort's secluded beach, spa, restaurants, and complete range of sports and recreations facilities. We look forward to having all of you at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I am losing count of the times we have escaped to the LMPBR. The staff (from the General Manager down) are just wonderful; from arrival to departure, nothing is too much trouble, each one with a smile to light up your day. It is just great to arrive back in your room, from the beach, at 3.30pm and find a full ice bucket in your room, just because in the morning you told the maid she/he is doing a good job.
The beach is our favourite place, 500 metres wide and beautifully clean (swept and tidied every morning), white sand, with sun lounges and thatch umbrellas, your very own (Australian trained) life guards (and no bloody merchants flogging French nails, hair beading , towels or whatever).
The beach is no better place for a 9 o'clock coffee, followed by a beach walk and swim, meeting the baby elephant, then lunch at the Mongolian BBQ with an ice cold beer.
While we normally choose to holiday there September/October (less guests but same staffing) my wife has wanted to be there for a Christmas. The Xmas Eve dinner (What A Buffet!) and show exceeded her expectations and brought tears to her eyes as the lights went out and the fireworks show began.
The Xmas dinner and show at the theme buffet (Pakarang Restaurant) was again a scene of waterworks when Mary, Joseph, baby JC and the Three Wise Men arrived.
Just far enough from the maddening crowds of Patong, that it is only 100baht in the minibus or 200baht in a taxi; if you really want to go there for shopping, markets, bars or restaurants. But do you really want to, remember your on holidays? The LMPBR has a theme buffet with show each night; Italian, Japanese and Thai fine dining; and their new à la carte restaurant or (if you are too tired from the gym, walking, swimming, sailing or diving) room service that is as good as the restaurant it came from.
The new room upgrade/refurbishment is great and the rain shower, sooo therapeutic.
Over the years, at LMPBR, we have met some wonderful people (from all corners of the globe) who are also regular returnees. Some have children and now grand children who are Penguin Club members.
This really is our idea of a holiday and when we arrive off Soi Karon Nui and down the driveway towards Reception the thoughts always are: we are home again with our favourite family.

Room Tip: As a couple we choose a Deluxe Sea View, although we have stayed in a Junior Suite a couple of times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 'Brupene'

Many thanks for sharing your feedback. It is our pleasure to have you and we are extremely happy to know that we have always met your expectations each time. We are thrilled to learn how your wife enjoyed our Christmas Eve event. Our F&B team does a good job of planning and executing these events and I would be delighted to share your heartwarming recollection. No doubt this would inspire the team even more. I have had the privilege of personally meeting guests who first stayed at the Resort with their parents and who are now staying with their own kids. It feels great to learn that you consider the Resort as your second home and many of our associates your family on Phuket. Allow me to thank you on behalf of Mr Borgesius and our associates for your kind appraisal. We sincerely look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time to visit the resort, five years apart but still delivers with upgraded rooms, an amazing beach and some great privacy.. Really enjoyed the sup boards, the service , the gym. Unfortunately I got food poisoning but the chef and the duty manager did follow up which was really positive, however would have liked to see a little more action. Will bring the family back as my mum love this place. Will not be returning to patong beach as it is terrible. Def have to go back to kata as this was lovely.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 'Shaun T'

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were unwell and I hope that you have recovered well before you left. I have shared your feedback with the team to review. It's nice to know that you and your family are already considering to stay with us again and that your mother especially enjoyed the Resort. We look forward to having all of you at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a beautiful resort! Traveled through Thailand December 2013 for 21 days on our honeymoon and this had to be one of the nicest resorts we stayed at. Our view was absolutely amazing! The pools were amazing, beach was beautiful, staff was great, food was great (breakfast and restaurants). Shuttle to Patong was easy and reasonably priced, very happy with our stay. Happened to be visiting during New Years and Patong Beach was crazy fun! :) Very very nice resort. We were only here for 2 days, wish we would have stayed a couple of extra days. Thank you Le Meridien for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 'teraha'

It was definitely our pleasure to have you and your spouse and we thank you for choosing to celebrate this wonderful occasion at Le Meridien Phuket. I'm happy that you enjoyed the Resort's facilities especially the secluded beach next to the hotel. Congratulations from all of us and we wish you both the best of everything. We hope you'll stay with us again. Thank you for your review and appraisal.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent one week at the Le Meridien Phuket when we first arrived in Thailand. When we arrived at the hotel we were met with confused stares and frantic whispers. It seems that we may have had some date issues regarding our arrival. In any case the bottom line was that we were there on the day we had booked but extremely early in the morning. The manager was promptly summoned and what appeared to be a very disgruntled and unhappy gentleman appeared. If we have the correct name it was Mr. Kun Jieb. To our way of thinking, bottom line is, that there were rooms available, It was pretty obvious that we were not trying to scam anyone by arriving early, that an honest and not too overly significant mistake had been made and that we were pretty tired after 27+ hours of travel. We felt, after gathering our senses, that we could have been more graciously welcomed regardless of the "mistake". Other than that initial issue, our stay was extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The entire facility is well-maintained and well-laid out. The staff are friendly and helpful with special mention to Sai Sunee H., hostess at Latest recipe and, if I have her name correct, Nok, Wang Warin. The beach is beautiful. It is a private sandy bay where a wave comes in in a "wall" of water that breaks so perfectly across the entire expanse. The pools are lovely and the food first class.
So regardless of that unfortunately somewhat rocky start, we had a lovely week and would definitely recommend the Le Meridien Phuket if you are contemplating a trip to Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 'CorrieChristiaan'

Thank you for your review. I am certainly delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay despite the inconvenience you experienced at check-in. I regret that your initial interaction with the Resort was not entirely pleasant and I have shared this with the team. Many thanks for your appreciation of Khun Nok and Khun Sai Sunee. We are grateful for your endorsement and look forward to having you again at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#7 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.