We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get away with your family and come back a new person” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 Reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“get away with your family and come back a new person”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

if you want to take your family away from it all and just enjoy time with them... go here. my life is hectic and i do not spend enough time at home so holiday is about quality time. this hotel has it all for a very good value. 1 week here, sun, perfect slow sloping beach, large pools, full house and still more then enough space for all. only breakfast was too crowded for me, but start at 11:30 with a late breakfast/early lunch and all is good. you can dine in many different outlets, all friendly and the main restaurant had a different theme-show every night. rooms a good size and with connecting rooms, 1 had a full shower and other a full bath, something for all. yes it is a bit older, but clean, well maintained, kids club, mini golf etc. we only left the resort once to visit friends and otherwise let life be and treat us well. anytime again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear "xaMIA"

Thank you for sharing your Le Meridien experience on TripAdvisor. I am certainly delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. It is nice to know that you were able to spend quality time with your family while enjoying the services and facilities on offer. Thanks for highlighting the 500m pristine, secluded beach next to the hotel- near perfect indeed! :) Thanks again for your positive appraisal and we look forward to having you and your family back at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    558
    138
    78
    41
See reviews for
528
716
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Meridien with some hesitation as it is an old hotel and some reviews had complaints about it.
Was, however, pleasantly positive surprised about the overall quality and friendliness of the staff. At reception we
were checked in by Apple and she really was a extremely friendly and helpful staff. We got a standard renovated room
Which was perfect, big balcony and excellent bathroom, comfortable beds, all fine.
Pool, beach and setting of hotel is all fine.
What could improve is the food quality in most restaurants. We tried all Thai andJapanese was ok but the rest is really
Just average food. However considering the mass and size of hotel guests. They could as well improve the free wifi.
I will be back and hopefully wifi will be free all over the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear "Bobfu"

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your Le Meridien experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that we you left with a very positive impression of the resort despite the hesitation prior to arrival. Your pleasing comments particularly on the newly renovated room, our location, facilities and the usual standard of service provided by our associates are highly appreciated. We always do our utmost to ensure our guests are well looked after and we are happy that we succeeded on this occasion and you found us to be reliable. Your other comments have been positively taken on board and shared with respective department managers for review and improvement. Many thanks for your kind endorsement and we all look forward to having you back at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I had wrote a review back in January "3.5 star hotel, 6 star prices". I still stand by my comments that I had made before. There was not much this hotel could have done to make my stay more comfortable, but I hope that my meeting with the manager had made some difference. After we had upgraded to a grand suite, I noticed there were tiny spiders crawling all over the head board of the bed. The housekeeper sprayed something, but it did not quite work. I brought it up to management, but it seemed like they did not quite understand what I was saying. It was very frustrating staying here. I will not return to this hotel. Yes, we had dinner and breakfast comped during our stay, but it doesn't overcome the issues we had during our stay. By the way, after some research, I found out that you can stay at The Shore hotel (which is close by) for the same price and have a larger room with your own private pool and free wifi. They also have a private beach. It's also a newer hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear 'Babysparrow'

Apologies for the delayed posting of our response to your TripAdvisor review. I regret that you left with a negative impression of the resort even after having spoken with one of our managers. We hope you'll consider staying with us again as we will certainly do our utmost to regain your confidence in us. Should your travels bring you back to Phuket please feel free to send us an email at almario.mungcal@lemeridien.com.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The first one that we noticed from the hotel was how similar feeling it was like Waikiki in Hawaii. Lots of tourists with families and high prices. The greeting from the entrance was courteous, giving flower bracelet, and the check-in process was quick with no waiting line. As the hotel was quite old, the room was not totally contemporary setting. But, it was very clean and cozy with 1980's ambiance. Food was expensive, but, very good quality and service. The best part was ocean view from the room, capturing a perfect kodak moment, and, its private beach with clean sands, and, lots of seatings with umbrellas. We even encountered a very friendly baby elephant with a handler, and, it was a magnet for kids, which was very nice to see. Overall, it was good stay, and, the only wish was not reflecting too much like Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear "Klee007"

Many thanks for your review. The secluded beach next to the hotel is indeed very special. It's great to know that you had an enjoyable stay and you liked the scenic view of the pool and the ocean from your room. I have shared your positive appraisal of our services with the team who joins me in expressing our appreciation for your kind thoughts. In our continuous effort to maintain the high standards of service and facilities, we are happy to inform that we will be undertaking a multi-phase room renovation programme between May and October this year, along with two dining venues. With this great change, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We quite enjoyed our time here that really lives up to the Le Meridien reputation. After an almost hour ride, we finally arrived to a speedy check-in and friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was apparently fully booked (although it didn't seem like too many people) but we received fast service from housekeeping, check-in and room service throughout our stay. We really liked the private beach, and didn't have any issues finding some nice sun beds to enjoy on the beach. The activities were great, lots of things for adults and children. My husband took advantage of the rock climbing which was nice, although just more of an intro. The shuttles into town were easy to catch, although the drive itself a bit long due to tourist traffic. We'd definitely come back with family as it had a nice easy atmosphere that would be condusive to all ages.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear "tigger2lee"

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort and that our associates were always ready to deliver the high standards of service from your arrival and all throughout. It was a pleasure to read that you liked the secluded beach next to the hotel and also the service and amenities provided around the pool and beach area. We are more than happy to know that you also had a great time using our facilities and found the activities on offer to be great. Thank you for your kind comments and indicating that you will come back. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great hotel - location is stunning and the staff are excellent, all doing their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Our only grumble is in relation to the reservation of sun beds. Notices make it very clear that sun beds cannot be reserved but the rule is totally ignored. The result is that by 9.00am all the sun beds in the best locations on the beach and by the pool have towels on them but no occupants.
Indeed the pool staff are very actively involved - first thing in the morning they are very busy placing towels on beds and we have to assume they have been incentivised by tipping guests.
A minor point but nevertheless an irritation which could be resolved if the rules were enforced

Room Tip: Pool view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear "Philip P'

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked the secluded beach and our facilities. We sincerely appreciate that you highlighted these in your review. On the other hand, we apologize for the disappointment you have shared . Please be assured that your feedback has been positively taken on board and has been shared with the relevant department managers particularly with our Sports Manager for necessary action and improvement. Additionally, the high level of service we deliver to guests are surely not driven nor influenced in the manner that you have described. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recently went to the resort for annivasary vacation with my girlfriend. Initially wish to stay at Westin for whole trip but due to the prise, we opt for Le Meridien for better value. We arrived early in the morning since we had a morning flight (ETA 0720). A 45 min taxi ride, we arrived the resort with warm welcome from the staff. As we arrived early, i would expect the room wouldn't be ready until at least noon but the receptionist who wasvery courteous told us that the room will be ready in an hour which is perfect for us to have breakfast at the restaurant. Pakarang, the restaurant for breakfast in the morning which surounded by the pool. At a cost of 590++ THB, (+/- 20USD) my opinion for the breakfast is above OK. Large variaty of choise from asian to american. Cook to order item includes eggs, sandwiched and noodles. Overall was not bad but can be futher improved. After the breakfast, we take a stroll around the resort and found that they have various activies on the list such as free scuba diving trail in the pool, rock climbing, 9 hole mini golf, driving range, thai boxing class, archery and etc. The beach which solely available to the resort guest make it less crowded to nearby beach such as Karon or Patong. There are several pool on the resort. 2 oversized pool or at least what they are called, 1 surrounding the pakarang restaurant and another 1 next to Ton Son Cafe. The later include kids pool and jacuzzi.
As usual the resort is equiped with Spa but due to the price, we opt for the massage place just outside the main gate of the resort. Of course the setting very far different from the resort Spa, Le Spa but it does the job for me.
The room was spacious well equiped with basic amenities that we need. Of course, if it is not available, it is just a phone call away. Our room A/C is not working but with a phone call, it is fixed in just few minutes. The room had a big glass panel view into the bathroom which is really great for couples. Of course, the curtain is available for privacy. Flat panel TV with large variety of channel choice but which this great pool and beach, I bet very few people stay in the room for TV.
The resort has 10 F&B outlet. Every night, Pakarang will have themed buffet dinner. We skip the first night as it is Thai food. (Coming from north of Malaysia, we are used to Thai food) Second night it is pirate themed which is seafood, bbq and some asian thai western fusion. I personnel like the bbq seafood and roasted pig on spit fire but the bbq meat is too dry for my liking although I asked for twice my meat to be cook medium well. One huge let down for me is the buffet run out of fresh oyster in first hour and the waiter told me there is no more. To me, buffet should have plenty of supply for the food especially guest who have their reservation late. Other than that it is great. Beach cafe La Fiamma served thin crust brick oven baked pizza. I order a Margarita Pizza for my lunch on the beach. I'm not a big fans of pizza but I can have a dozen of this. Maybe it is a huge different from fast food pizza which I used to. For the beach bar and Ton Son bar, there is a special features where the discount at the happy hour are based on the temperature of the day. Hotter the day, cheaper the drink! We didn't try the other restaurant so we don't know how was the quality.
As we informed them that is our anniversary, the resort gave us a complimentary photo shooting as a token of memoir. Really appreciate the courteous gesture of the hotel management. While 1 or 2 of the hotel staff can use more smile (maybe their bad day), all the staff wish you sawadee all the time with smile.
Some of the activities have to be booked in advance such as thai boxing class. Do ask the receptionist for further information. Overall we're happy with the resort service and don't mind to come back in the future, maybe for our wedding or family trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear "KengLeong_Lim"

Thank you for choosing and celebrating your anniversary at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation and equally glad to know that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. Thank you for your positive appraisal of our location, facilities - most especially the restaurants and the room allocated for you. We appreciate that you made time to check the recreation facilities at the resort. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back on your next special celebrations.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#3 Spa Hotel in Karon
#3 Family Hotel in Karon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.