We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sun Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great hotel - location is stunning and the staff are excellent, all doing their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Our only grumble is in relation to the reservation of sun beds. Notices make it very clear that sun beds cannot be reserved but the rule is totally ignored. The result is that by 9.00am all the sun beds in the best locations on the beach and by the pool have towels on them but no occupants.
Indeed the pool staff are very actively involved - first thing in the morning they are very busy placing towels on beds and we have to assume they have been incentivised by tipping guests.
A minor point but nevertheless an irritation which could be resolved if the rules were enforced

Room Tip: Pool view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear "Philip P'

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked the secluded beach and our facilities. We sincerely appreciate that you highlighted these in your review. On the other hand, we apologize for the disappointment you have shared . Please be assured that your feedback has been positively taken on board and has been shared with the relevant department managers particularly with our Sports Manager for necessary action and improvement. Additionally, the high level of service we deliver to guests are surely not driven nor influenced in the manner that you have described. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    582
    148
    81
    41
See reviews for
556
753
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recently went to the resort for annivasary vacation with my girlfriend. Initially wish to stay at Westin for whole trip but due to the prise, we opt for Le Meridien for better value. We arrived early in the morning since we had a morning flight (ETA 0720). A 45 min taxi ride, we arrived the resort with warm welcome from the staff. As we arrived early, i would expect the room wouldn't be ready until at least noon but the receptionist who wasvery courteous told us that the room will be ready in an hour which is perfect for us to have breakfast at the restaurant. Pakarang, the restaurant for breakfast in the morning which surounded by the pool. At a cost of 590++ THB, (+/- 20USD) my opinion for the breakfast is above OK. Large variaty of choise from asian to american. Cook to order item includes eggs, sandwiched and noodles. Overall was not bad but can be futher improved. After the breakfast, we take a stroll around the resort and found that they have various activies on the list such as free scuba diving trail in the pool, rock climbing, 9 hole mini golf, driving range, thai boxing class, archery and etc. The beach which solely available to the resort guest make it less crowded to nearby beach such as Karon or Patong. There are several pool on the resort. 2 oversized pool or at least what they are called, 1 surrounding the pakarang restaurant and another 1 next to Ton Son Cafe. The later include kids pool and jacuzzi.
As usual the resort is equiped with Spa but due to the price, we opt for the massage place just outside the main gate of the resort. Of course the setting very far different from the resort Spa, Le Spa but it does the job for me.
The room was spacious well equiped with basic amenities that we need. Of course, if it is not available, it is just a phone call away. Our room A/C is not working but with a phone call, it is fixed in just few minutes. The room had a big glass panel view into the bathroom which is really great for couples. Of course, the curtain is available for privacy. Flat panel TV with large variety of channel choice but which this great pool and beach, I bet very few people stay in the room for TV.
The resort has 10 F&B outlet. Every night, Pakarang will have themed buffet dinner. We skip the first night as it is Thai food. (Coming from north of Malaysia, we are used to Thai food) Second night it is pirate themed which is seafood, bbq and some asian thai western fusion. I personnel like the bbq seafood and roasted pig on spit fire but the bbq meat is too dry for my liking although I asked for twice my meat to be cook medium well. One huge let down for me is the buffet run out of fresh oyster in first hour and the waiter told me there is no more. To me, buffet should have plenty of supply for the food especially guest who have their reservation late. Other than that it is great. Beach cafe La Fiamma served thin crust brick oven baked pizza. I order a Margarita Pizza for my lunch on the beach. I'm not a big fans of pizza but I can have a dozen of this. Maybe it is a huge different from fast food pizza which I used to. For the beach bar and Ton Son bar, there is a special features where the discount at the happy hour are based on the temperature of the day. Hotter the day, cheaper the drink! We didn't try the other restaurant so we don't know how was the quality.
As we informed them that is our anniversary, the resort gave us a complimentary photo shooting as a token of memoir. Really appreciate the courteous gesture of the hotel management. While 1 or 2 of the hotel staff can use more smile (maybe their bad day), all the staff wish you sawadee all the time with smile.
Some of the activities have to be booked in advance such as thai boxing class. Do ask the receptionist for further information. Overall we're happy with the resort service and don't mind to come back in the future, maybe for our wedding or family trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear "KengLeong_Lim"

Thank you for choosing and celebrating your anniversary at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation and equally glad to know that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. Thank you for your positive appraisal of our location, facilities - most especially the restaurants and the room allocated for you. We appreciate that you made time to check the recreation facilities at the resort. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back on your next special celebrations.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is located on a beautiful piece of land. The property has its own beach, which is usually quiet and very clean. The property was being renovated when we visited the place a few months back. There was no disturbance however.
We did have issues with the service. Some of the front office staff were quite rude in one instance. We had a query about one of the restaurants at the hotel, and it took quite a while for us to get what we needed.
But apart from that one off instance, we have had a great stay. Highly recommended, especially if it is your first time to Phuket and you're looking forward to a hassle free vacation.

Room Tip: Its not an easy place if you're a vegetarian. Be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear "vamsi c"

Thank for sharing your Le Meridien experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay in June despite the isolated lapses in our service delivery. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with our senior managers to remind our associates. While we may not exactly know at which particular time or with whom you had this regrettable encounter, your feedback certainly reminds us to do better. We are also pleased to inform that multi-phase renovation is scheduled to take place between May- October this year. Providing our guest with utmost care and comfort remains our top priority as always. Thanks again for sharing your feedback.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good hotel that is up to the standard of Le Meridien, Amazing View, Lovely Private Beach. Breakfast is pretty standard,not enough variety on the breakfast menu. The other food is much better and tasty. Entertainment provided in the evenings. A little pricey compared to other nice hotels you can get in the same area. Close enough to Patong but yet quiet enough. the Spa is amazing.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is good a room to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear "Leonie J"

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and choosing to stay with us in May. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience and also pleased to learn that you had a great time at the Spa. The secluded beach is indeed our highlight in the resort. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Thank you so much to the staff at the Le Meridien. You were so amazing!!!!! Everything we asked for you looked after. From my Birthday on the 11th of feb to my wedding on the 13th, I can't thank you enough.... I would like to give a special thanks to Dear, our wedding coordinator. You are amazing. You made everything so easy.... The food at the Resort was outstanding, and the rooms were beautiful. I feel so sorry for the resort when they have such disappointed customers....all I can say is they have rocks in their head. Thanks once again to the Le Meridien.....

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. But the pool view is one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear "Billodog"

Thank you for celebrating two special occasions at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. I am pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your kind comments of our services particularly to Dear who made sure that everything will turn out well. It was indeed a pleasure having you, your spouse and your friends at the resort. Thanks for your kind appraisal of our food and the rooms. We look forward to celebrating more heavenly occasions with you and your spouse.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

a very romantic holiday here , usual meridien standards , top breakfast with a great selection to choose from , very attentive staff , the food for dinner at their restaurant was outstanding , but a great choice of restaurants nearby , great seafood to be found locally at reasonable prices . Our room was clean with a great en suite , highly recommended and good value .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear "katerine a"

Thank you very much for posting a review of Le Meridien Phuket beach Resort on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us. and particularly liked our dining venues as well as the breakfast on offer. It is also a pleasure to note that you were pleased with the friendly service of our Associates and particularly liked our dining venues as well as the breakfast on offer. Thank you once again for your kind comments and recommendation. We will definitely look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.S.W
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel last year for 12. Nights and just loved it . We are going back this year for 13 nights ,and looking forward to it so much . I have just been told by a friend that they are doing renovations when we will are there. Can anyone let me know if this is true.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear "Wen58"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.
We were delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us last year. Rest assured that our team continues to provide great recognition, always ensuring that your stay was as good as your previous visit. In our continuous effort to maintain the high standards of service and facilities, we are happy to inform that we will be undertaking a multi-phase room renovation programme between May and October this year, along with two dining venues. While the resort sits on a 40-acre land, these phase-by-phase works should not have an adverse effect on your stay. During these enhancements, providing you with utmost care and comfort remains our top priority as always. Should you need further information on this please visit our official website where we have included a visual lay-out and an estimated timeline of this project. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#3 Spa Hotel in Karon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#4 Family Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.