We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not there yet but on our way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 50% w/ BFast
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not there yet but on our way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have not yet arrived at the resort but I just wanted to let everyone know of the excellent service my husband and I have already received even before we have checked in. My husband and I will be traveling very soon with 2 of our daughters to stay late January for 7 full days. Both my husband and I have some health concerns so we contacted the resort directly. The response we received was swift and very reassuring not only from the person the email was addressed to but that person forwarded our concerns onto the real velevent people who also swiftly replayed with sincere reassurances. We are now all looking very much forward to what we are sure will be an exceptional stay. Can't wait to give you all a full update of our stay when we return. :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Fox

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay with us. As I am writing this, I hope that you and your family are having a great holiday at the resort. Should there be anything you may need while staying with us, please let us know. I wish you pleasant days ahead.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    526
    135
    76
    37
See reviews for
492
672
60
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

overall very good impression. The best feature is the hotels private beach, the worst is the large number of noisy and drunk russian speaking tourist. Accommodations are comfortable, free wifi access in the lobby. Quick taxi ride to the city will bring you to variety of shops, restaurants and other entertainment.. Staff is polite and helpful. 10 days went by fast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear "aleevskidm"

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It's kind of you to highlight the secluded beach which I would say is amongst the top reasons guests stay with us. Let me note that we have 10 dining venues in the resort which spoil our guest for choice- these choices range from casual Beach Barbecue to fine dining Japanese restaurant as shown in the photo you shared. I am especially glad to know that we were able to provide you with an overall enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return. Thank you for your time in writing and sharing your experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm left with conflicting emotions. On one hand, this is a beautiful hotel with its own magnificent private beach, the hotel restaurants are good and the staff friendly. On the other hand, you are isolated from the rest of town and its a $10 taxi ride each way into Patong, so you are pretty much limited to what the hotel has to offer. Finally, Russian tourists dominate Phuket and this resort in particular. Don't expect smiles and pleasant exchanges with these tourists. It's a bit off putting and detracts from the whole experience. All in all we liked the resort, but I doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear "Traveleater10"

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your positive appraisal of the overall facilities and services at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort especially the secluded beach, our dining venues and associates. We are indeed privileged to receive guests from all over the world and at certain seasons of the year there may be more from one country than others. This is currently evident on Phuket Island and in some other parts of Thailand too. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll re-consider and stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here from Christmas to New Years and it was great. Yes, the hotel needs some updating, especially the public restrooms near the pool/beach. And no, this is not a 5-star hotel by international standards. But if you’re looking for a quiet, secluded, beautiful beach, this is the hotel.

There are only two ways to get to the beach: from the hotel and from a boat. So it’s quiet and clean and there are (almost) no people going around trying to sell you tours or jewelry.

There are two huts on the beach selling drinks. They’re not associated with the hotel so the prices are about half price. The mix drinks are pitifully weak so stick to the beer. Although, on a hot day, even a watered down pina colada is refreshing.

The food on site is hit or miss. The pizza from the wood oven is excellent and so were the sandwiches. The French onion soup from the café was tasteless, as was the phad thai. There’s a small restaurant right outside the resort gate called Mr. Yong’s. It good and the prices are cheap. And there’s a nice waitress there – Oil is her name. She’ll let you know what’s best to get that night.

When you’re in need of a taxi, there’s a guy in a green shirt that practically leaps out of the bushes every time you walk towards the front gate. He can hook you up, but beware: the taxi mafia in Phuket is OUTRAGEOUS and will swindle you left and right. For example, the metered taxi from the airport to the hotel cost 600 bhat, even though the meter only ran up to 300. There’s no winning on taxis since they’re all in cahoots.

If you’re looking for Starwood upgrades, don’t go at Christmas time! There were none to be had, or at least that’s what we were told.

Overall, a great place to stay because it was away from the craziness and public beaches of Patong and Karon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear "twaterwoman"

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to know that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay and that we were able to meet your expectations. It's good to know that you enjoyed the beautiful beach next to the hotel which I would add is arguably the most scenic beach and amongst the most secluded on Phuket. I note your opinion of our public areas. We are aware of the need to continually improve our facilities and are currently finalizing plans of rooms and dining venues to be renovated. I have also taken note of your comment on the food at Le Cafe Fleuri and have shared this with the Executive Chef and his team to look into. Allow me to share, that in line with the planned renovations in the coming months, Le Cafe Fleuri will be transformed to a Le Meridien signature dining venue. We look forward to having you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms that smell like sewers; food poisoning; inattentive staff who speak no English!

What planet are this hotel's recent reviewers on?

The Meridien Phuket is a fantastic home away from home. We have just spent our second consecutive Christmas and New Year vacation there and it is well worth the fourteen hour flight from London.

In fact right through 2012 we counted the days until our next stay: the beautiful breakfast buffet; the attentive staff; the refurbished rooms; the variety of top class Thai, Japanese, Italian and French restaurants; and - above all else - that beach.

Take no notice of the Hyatt and Hilton Platinum and Diamond reviewers' reports - they are totally misguided and without foundation.

We have no axe to grind or favours to earn from the hotel: just two very happy campers who cannot wait until the next visit.

Happy New Year to all the staff at the Meridien Phuket - and thank you for making our Christmas and New Year such a wondeful wxperience.

Irving and Olga David

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished deluxe Ocean View on a high floor - although by the end of 2013 all the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. David,

I am delighted to know that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us again. We sincerely appreciate your confidence in us and will do our utmost to provide you with great stays each time. It's kind of you to highlight the newly renovated room and our dining venues and I am glad to know you enjoyed all these. I will surely extend your greetings to the whole team who will be equally happy to receive such appreciation. Many thanks again for your review and we will definitely look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't be fooled by it's proximity to Patong, the atmosphere in this place is as far away from the mayhem of Bangla Road as it gets. Located a ten minute drive from Patong itself, this hotel has it's own private beach in a small bay and not a scantily clad ladyboy in sight.

...Nevertheless if you do fancy watching a ping pong show whilst drowning yourself in tequila you'll be pleased to know that the town is easily reachable by private car or by shuttle bus (which both run frequently and are done so by the hotel).

Our welcome to this place was lovely, my girlfriend and I had just flown up from Singapore and we were greeted with warm Thai hospitality, a very nice welcome drink and jewellery made from flowers, a lovely touch.

If relaxing by the pool with a beer and frolicking in the warm waves is more your thing, you are certainly in luck, the beach is beautiful and kept very clean, and there are restaurants and bars lining the beach behind the sun beds. The pools are huge and as my girlfriend and I were staying here in early June the place was nearly deserted.

We ate breakfast by the pool every morning and the selection was very broad and delicious, the pizza place on the beach was good for a lunch time snack.

The rooms were also somewhat of a triumph, I have stayed in many reputable places but often beach hotels have the most tired rooms - that cannot be said for this place, modern with a gigantic bed and very clean, rainfall shower was spacious (it had a seat in it) and really functional too.

I really relaxed here, it had everything you needed and being ever so slightly out of the way from Patong was useful as you can escape "the thick of it" and just take it easy, knowing a vulgar evening of thai boxing, questionable women and moped accidents is just round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear "Benjamin N"

Thank you for your comments and kind appraisal. I am glad to know that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay and liked our facilities. Thanks for highlighting our location, which along with the secluded beach next to the hotel - are among the best reasons to stay with us. Thank you also for your comments on our dining venues and your appreciation of the newly renovated room. We hope you'll have the opportunity to return to Phuket and stay with us again when you do.


Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

December 24-December 28. We enjoyed our stay at a typical Starwood resort. We did not expect to be treated "special" due to a certain status, so we actually enjoyed our stay! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning which had a broad variety of foods including meusli, omelettes, breads, cheeses, fruits, juices, stir fries and more. The breakfast service staff were accommodating every morning.
We also used the workout gym every morning. It was pleasant, large, clean and had a variety of options for us. It was busy, but not overcrowded every day.
The beach is clean and relaxing. We went early every day to choose our chairs and lay a towel or magazine down, then went to breakfast. It just ensured that we got to sit in our favorite choice of chairs under a palapa after breakfast. We actually did miss having servers come to us on the beach, but enjoyed the food: pizza, salad and smoothie from a beach hut two of the days.
From Le Meridien, the taxi prices are undependable. We paid 400 Baht, 500 Baht and 600 Baht on three separate trips to Patong...but, since that equated to $20 US maximum, and compared to taxi prices at home, we did not concern ourselves with the price difference.
Buying sunscreen and alcohol at the grocery market was much less expensive for us, so we chose that option to save and paid a little more for the taxi.
The employees were very nice upon check-in when the non-smoking room had obviously been smoked in. They escorted me to a new room "for my approval" and had us wait in the bar (with a complimentary beverage) until the new room was ready. Then, without our asking, put an air purifier in our new clean room for the entire time we were staying (a considerate gesture, I thought). We are always VERY flexible and try to be non-demanding at hotels, because there are so many folks who think they should be treated like Kings and Queens under the guise of being "special" which really translates as "cheap". We thought it was so nice that the check-in employees and trainees were thoughtful and expeditious about moving us from the cigarette smoke-filled room.
Overall, we were content with our stay at Le Meridien and would recommend this locations to others visiting Phuket who want clean, western, predictable service and a private clean beach with access to a nearby town for shopping/dining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear "Undrwtr"

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. More so that we were able to get your room right despite the inconvenience of having it changed to a non-smoking room. It is such a pleasure to be recommended by guests as we do our utmost to exceed expectations. Allow me to share your appraisal of our services with our associates who I'm sure will receive it with much appreciation. We look forward to having you at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#3 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 Family Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.