We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location too many steps!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location too many steps!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, before moving off touring the islands. A great location only a 5 minute stroll through a local market to the main town. The staff and especially the porter were all very pleasant, the porter did a great job carrying our cases up all the steps to level 4. The steps are the main concern with this hotel as they are plentiful if above level 2. The pools, of which there are 3 were nice enough, unfortunately there is a habit of putting towels out, (during the night I think) to reserve sun beds, I practise I detest. It would not be so bad if these people actually got to the sun beds before lunch! Our room was very large and well appointed. The balcony was again huge with lovely views over the sea. A nice hotel, however get a room on the lower levels and set your alarm early to get a sunbed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    178
    74
    12
    9
See reviews for
78
181
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed 21 Feb to 26 Feb. We had room 4214. The room had a king bed , flat screen tv, desk space, ample hanging and storage space. The in room safe will fit most laptops. The bathroom was large - a shower that had a hand held attached to rail and rain shower feature. Good water pressure all the time and hot water available all the time. Shampoo, body soap and conditioner are in large bottles - toothbrushes, razors, ear buds, soap bars and shower caps are provided. The towels are rough and ready but fine.

A large balcony with 2 chairs, table and a very useful towel rack for hanging swimwear and any extra towels you bring for beach use
.
There is an elevator it isn't well signed...find it...you will thank yourself. This hotel is totally unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues - way too many stairs in many different places.

The two lower pools and children's paddling pool are lovely and surrounded by ample loungers, small tables and umbrella's. The pool towels are accessible with a card issued at check in, available between 9am and 5pm. People do of course save loungers we met a couple on the way to breakfast at 6.30am doing this :) The breakfast is varied and ample - juices, cereals, toast, croissants, fresh donuts, salad bar, cheeses, cold meats, hot local dishes, boiled/fried eggs, omelets, bacon, sausages and fresh fruits - for whiners who bemoan the lack of choice I am astounded. Coffee and tea service was excellent - offered top ups every few minutes.

The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient - they really are stars who keep things moving. Now the bad part of my review. On our third day we ate at the buffet breakfast and at the poolside bar by 5 pm my husband had developed severe food poisoning symptoms by 9pm I had followed. This took both of us out of action until a day and a half later. We believe it was a seafood sih my husband ate and I sampled. The room service staff were kind in dealing with our room cleaning the following day. I had found a member of staff to advise as I couldn't possibly allow them to cleanup with forewarning (yes that's how bad it was!) they were extremely understanding and left our room smelling fragrant.

On the whole this hotel tries very hard to please its guests and succeeds! In my opinion it is 3 star working towards 3.5. The guest demographic is mostly Russian, Finnish and German.

We called ahead and requested a pickup at the airport this is 750bht which is paid by cash or credit card on arrival at the hotel. A minibus collects you and your party. it is 750 for the bus not the individual passengers - it seat 6 comfortably with room for lots of luggage.

The lobby area has two internet connected pcs, free coffee drinks as well as free books left behind by other people. There is a guy to help you book trips, we didn't use this service.

There is a bellboy/bell captain service - our bags were taken and collected from our room.

The minimart is located in a corner of the 4th floor??? it was near to our room but bafflingly away from the sight and notice of the rest of the hotel. The billiards, ping pong, gym and childrens playroom were here too - all very underutilized as they are hidden from the world.

I liked this hotel and wanted to give a perfect review because they tried so hard. Despite the illness I would stay again.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are worth the extra bucks. Book your transportation through the hotel its less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were here with our kids 4 & 12 yo in January 2014. Our room was family deluxe, located on 5th floor with fantastic sea view from the balcony. I suggest to take this room. You don't regret. I promise! :)
Location is in 200 m from the beach and very close to the shopping area. There you can find also one place with good, testy, cheap and safety food: go to the Centara hotel, and you'll see few tents (selling fruits, pancakes, etc). Go to the last tent, just near the tattoo place. There is couple cooking mentioned food. For example rice with chicken with cashew nuts is only 70 THB.
You'll get beach in 5-10 min from hotel. No problem at all. A little problem is go across the road with density traffic, but drivers will pass you go when see you on the way.
Breakfast in hotel,s restaurant is very good, but restaurant is small compare to guests amount in hotel. 8:30 am is rush hour there and approx 10-20 peoples waiting entry the restaurant. So go before this time, or after 9 o'lock, if you don't want wait in the line.
This is a lot of tailors nearby. I liked one, just in 50 m from hotel to the left. There is a Wiki-guy, who speak excellent Finnish and English. Quality of my coat was very good!
Check in and check out where very fast. Because of early check out we've got a breakfast boxes from the reception. Taxi to airport booking from hotel was only 750 THB and it takes 45-60 min.
Karon beach is beautiful and hundreds other people also understand it, so it is a full of peoples. I suggest you visit Ko Lanta, if you want to be in scenic and peaceful place. Ko Phi-Phi is terrible! Don't go there. A lot of tourists everywhere, a lot of hotels, a lot of excavators built more hotels...
If someone needs more info about Ocean resort / Karon, don't hesitate contact me.

Room Tip: On 5th floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for our vacation cause in trip advisor we kept on reading excellent reviews about this place.Disappointment.it makes me think that people-tourists have no idea of what is good value for money means or what service quality and flavor stands for.
For starters no one mentions that exactly outside the hotel is an open sewerage that smells awful 24/7.
No one mentions that the hotel staff in minor exceptions doesn't speak or at least understands basic English.
Thirdly the"excellent breakfast buffet" is below zero in terms of quality and has no flavor.
Also the only restaurant of the hotel is just above the main road of the town which is a busy road at all times.
Besides these a have to admit that the rooms where spacey, new and very clean.
Nice touch the complimentary Coffey for the guests by the reception area.

Not a hotel we are gonna visit again.a big big disappointment.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick,
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a pleasant, busy hotel just on the edge of the main Karon beach area. Rooms are terraced "motel style" over four floors. Reception is spacious and airy, and a welcome drink was provided at check in. Staff are helpful ( and multi-lingual), and the hotel is generally clean and we'll kept. Out room, on the first terrace was clean and of good size with bathroom and usual facilities. Restaurant is good and good value- though there are scores of alternatives nearby. Breakfast buffet was very good. Only disadvantage was rather aggressive aircon in the bedroom (not adjustable), and the constant noise at night from the high power audio systems installed in passing tuktuks.
Good value and facilities.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I think it's important from the beginning of this review to make sure the reader understands that an average rating is not a bad thing. The staff here are very pleasant and do try to help. On this trip there were 13 of us (Eight adults, 2 teenagers, and 3 children) having a family Christmas and New Year together. This review is from the position of two guys in a same-sex marriage.

Our family arrived at different times and days. We arranged transport by the hotel to and from the airport at a cost. This was easily arranged and transport was comfortable.

On arrival to the hotel check in was uncomplicated and we our bags were taken to the room. Tipping the porter may not be expected but we did this. As mentioned staff were helpful. If there is one negative comment about the reception it would be is the varying degree of English language understood. There was a young English speaking lady who was on duty from time to time, but when she was not on then communication became more of a challenge but still reasonable.

In the reception area there is machine for free coffee or hot chocolate. There is another area for light refreshments that is not open 24/7. There is also some assistance with tourism which we had no need to use.

Now for the Harry Potter analogy. The hotel has a lot of stairs, and I mean an awful lot of stairs. You could imagine that they (the stair cases) move just like Hogwarts. This can be a problem for patrons with varying degrees of mobility, visual impairment, and/or who could be a falls risk. There is a lift but you have to climb stairs to get to it, and it doesn't go to the numerous levels or provides direct access to the pools or recreational areas; you still have to navigate stairways. In regards to the lift then I'll briefly move away from Harry Potter and use Babylon 5, but instead of grey sector missing it is level two, that is there are levels 1, 3, 4, 5 only.

Our room was referred to as a 'superior room', it was not. It was a room underneath a staircase which was reached by walking by numerous air conditioner units which made it noisy, and very hot especially during hot times of the day.

The room itself was shared with ants that were initially few in number, maybe one or two but then add food and the little buggers called their buddies. It just meant to be careful about having food left uncovered. The temperature was cold and the air conditioner was fixed and either was on/off and at fan speed from 1-3; and it was also noisy. The bed was comfortable the linen clean but some did have marks/stains on it and some were torn. There was a TV and a kettle. There were sockets to charge devices; but only one by the bed that could be used because the fridge used the other socket. Plenty of drawers, a built in wardrobe, other storage areas and a safe.

The on suite was kept clean but could be in need of a renovation. But still it was usable, everything worked. The vanity had only one tap which was for cold water, but you could use the shower to fill the sink with hot water to have a shave, or you could boil the kettle. This may seem bad but it will depend on your expectations.

Other members of the family had better rooms than us. We were offered alternatives but there were not suitable as my husband was using crutches so there were limitations.

The last of my Harry Potter analogies is directed to the 'street-like-type' lamp that looked over the balcony that reminded me of the one on Privet Drive, Little Whinging. It looked over the upper pool. You could also had a good view of the sea and sunsets.

The pools were good. But claim you seating early because it is limited and people claim the seats with their towels, provided by the Hotel, but then leave them for hours stopping others from using the seating. This is not fair, but I can understand hotel staff not getting involved as some of the guests came from aggressive natures and had the potential of being quite rude and obnoxious.

The buffet breakfast was very good. There was a variety of food to cater for most people. The toaster needed upgrading as if you didn't know how to work it you would have to put bread in twice to get it toasted. It was necessary to get there early as at times there was a queue. If you had to go on an early tourist outing such as the Phi Phi islands then breakfast started at 0630 hrs and most certainly not before that time. This meant a very quick breakfast or missing out.

The location of the hotel was good and there was transport available. There were a few convenience stores close by. The beach was across the road. I was able to have several morning runs to Kata Beach and back. There are many restaurants close by, and other clothing outlets etc.

Saying this we would use this hotel again but if the Avista was available and affordable we would chose that one over this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We spent six nights at Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort. This hotel is very close to the Koran beach which has deck chairs and umbrellas and eateries. The location is very central and one can easily catch taxis or do local shopping. There are many different places to eat a variety of foods within walking distance.
Be prepared to wait in a queue for breakfast in the morning. It is extremely busy and crowded. The hotel offers a buffet of fresh fruits, salads, cold meat and cheese, bread and pastries, Asian, Eastern and Western breakfast foods. The staff working behind the counter as well as serving staff are very friendly. We were particularly impressed with Mel who always ensured that everyone has their tea or coffee and a refill if required.
The swimming pool area is well frequented and nicely cared for. The hotel offers each guest a towel for their use. It would be preferable if there was a system in place to ensure that once guests left the pool area thier lounge chair could be used by other guests as what happens is guests leave personal items on their chairs and go shopping or to lunch and return three hours later to 'their chair'.
The gardens are well cared for, neat and lovely.
There is complimentary tea, coffee always available at reception. There was also tea and coffee available to make in the room as well as complimentary water each day.
There is a lot of music at night and sensitive sleepers may find it difficult to get some rest.
The bedrooms are large enough with nice blocked out curtains in order to sleep a bit late. We were unable to regulate our freezing cold AC. The bathroom was small but more modern. The bathroom shower curtain had mold on it and the towels were very tierd and worn with strings coming off them. Our bed linen had holes in it. Unfortunately for us the hotel used our corridor to store their broom, dustpan, clean and dirty towels, empty and full water bottles. Immediately outside our room door! So this is in effect a meeting place for the people who clean the rooms. You would not be able to sleep late with all the clinking of bottles and chatting going on. Further it was unpleasant to see their dirty laundry and cleaning equipment each time we stepped out of our room or came back to our room. We found it to be very disrespectful to the guest. We stayed in room 1425.
Upon checkout at 11:40 the receptionist asked us to please take a seat whilst she ensured that everything was in order with our room. We waited patiently until 12:25 and then enquired why this took so long. Unfortunately there had been a shift change and they had simply forgotten that we were still waiting. The hand over procedure was not what we would have expected.
In short we did not feel like a valued guest.

Room Tip: There are lots of steps, so ask for a room immidiately facing the pool for the least amount of steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#16 Spa Hotel in Karon
#21 Family Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.