We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms but not so good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good Rooms but not so good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this resort because from the pictures it looked like it was a great resort. First of all you have to walk a long way up to get to your room. Second, it's a good 5 minutes to the beach. It's located in a good area, quiet but still easy to get transport to the main part of town. The service was not very good. The front office staff was short and impatient. The rooms are spacious and clean though, and it is pretty reasonably priced. So if you don't mind a few minor inconveniences, you should stay here. It is quiet and safe - if you don't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the main area of Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    163
    66
    10
    8
See reviews for
69
162
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Really friendly, helpful staff (especially John). A group of friends and I stayed for 5 nights in August 2012. Rooms were clean and big. Food and drinks in the restaurant were super cheap and really good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute decision whilst moving around Phuket (as was planned).
After walking into the elaborate foyer (electrical doors and all) we were disappointed to find that we had to climb up almost a 15 minute journey to find that our door to our hotel room was not synced with the key card we were issued with. Had to walk all the way back down as the staff we encountered did not have communication devices to contact anyone downstairs and then walk all the way back up.
Staff were not very helpful when they could clearly see we were struggling with some bags.
The buffet breakfast was definitely a spread to be reckoned with! It seemed at times to be somewhat wasteful and while enjoying the food, we tried not to imagine what they did with the leftovers or if we were in fact consuming them at that moment.
The towels for the pools had some ridiculous process that to this day I cannot explain. So keep an eye out for that! WiFi was only available in the foyer which was strange for a US owned resort.
Would definitely NOT recommend room service - it arrived cling-wrapped and soggy.
The room was clean enough but the mini bars unstocked.
Overall, we left with a lot less money then we arrived, got budget style accommodation but some intense food out of the Best Western!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This property over delivers for the price paid. For around $50 Aud for two pax including breakfast this is exceptional value. With 3 great pools a games room with pool table and table tennis there is plenty to do for the kids and adults. Also there are plenty of English tv channels to entertain adults when the kids are asleep. The location is very close to the main st and a great short cut exists through the driveway next to the baron restaurant. All in all a great value property its not 5 star luxury but that's because your not paying 5 star prices.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at 2am first impression is dark dingy reception like something out of the 70's that is in need of updating. After been taken to our room on the 3rd level I could see all the stairs that everyone comments about. Luckily the lift was in working order so the stairs from level 2 was as far as we had to go. On entering our room had a terrible damp smell, but we just wanted to get to bed and sleep. When we woke the next morning we found our way to the dining room for breakfast. This was a nice surprise as there was plenty to chose from. The room was OK, sheets and towels should have been replaced long ago very thin and threadbare. Pool area was good, wasn't too busy when we were there mostly Russians, who I found not to be overly friendly. Overall not a bad place for the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed 10 night in April. Thought the hotel was a bit average, food in the restaurant was the highlight in fact it was most excellent.

The first room we were presented with was a nice superior room. Even though it was on the second floor we still had water views. Sadly most of the water view was dripping from the air conditioning. After complaining and them attempting to fix it it's was too wet to stay in. They moved us promptly to a higher floor in deluxe room which was much nicer had great view with large balcony.

I'd have to say if your not fond of stairs this hotel is not for you. There are many uneven steps and its easy to fall down them if your not careful.

We booked a few day trips with them which we're great. I have to say however they booked us a night at Phuket Fantasea they told us the pick up was 7.15 we questioned this 3 times as we thought is should have been 5.15 they assured us that that was the correct time.
We were right and they were wrong so I don't recommend booking day trips with them. We were promised a refund back to my credit card but to date it has not happened. They did give us 2 complementary drinks as compensation.

On a whole if you are on a budget it's ok, but for a little more you can find much better. We did and checked out 2 nights early.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stay-Very pleasant, rooms are decent not great but comfortable & has all the amenities. Every room has a veranda with a view. Not all rooms have pool view. Opt for pool view rooms on higher floors.
Food - Breakfast is the best with almost 100 options to choose from
Crowd - Mostly European guests
Would recommend it strongly

Room Tip: Opt for room on lower storeys with pool view. Higher floor rooms does not have elevators and is quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#15 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.