We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THB2,699 (THB)
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed 10 night in April. Thought the hotel was a bit average, food in the restaurant was the highlight in fact it was most excellent.

The first room we were presented with was a nice superior room. Even though it was on the second floor we still had water views. Sadly most of the water view was dripping from the air conditioning. After complaining and them attempting to fix it it's was too wet to stay in. They moved us promptly to a higher floor in deluxe room which was much nicer had great view with large balcony.

I'd have to say if your not fond of stairs this hotel is not for you. There are many uneven steps and its easy to fall down them if your not careful.

We booked a few day trips with them which we're great. I have to say however they booked us a night at Phuket Fantasea they told us the pick up was 7.15 we questioned this 3 times as we thought is should have been 5.15 they assured us that that was the correct time.
We were right and they were wrong so I don't recommend booking day trips with them. We were promised a refund back to my credit card but to date it has not happened. They did give us 2 complementary drinks as compensation.

On a whole if you are on a budget it's ok, but for a little more you can find much better. We did and checked out 2 nights early.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    171
    72
    10
    9
See reviews for
74
171
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stay-Very pleasant, rooms are decent not great but comfortable & has all the amenities. Every room has a veranda with a view. Not all rooms have pool view. Opt for pool view rooms on higher floors.
Food - Breakfast is the best with almost 100 options to choose from
Crowd - Mostly European guests
Would recommend it strongly

Room Tip: Opt for room on lower storeys with pool view. Higher floor rooms does not have elevators and is quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for couple of nights right after Songkran on our way back from Phi Phi Islands. I booked this place for couple of reasons. First, I wanted to see how the services would be of a US Chain hotel. I am expat here in Thailand from the US and I am simply puzzled with the so called “Service with a smile” of many big hotels here which at times seem more polite and meeky than necessary and where it matters the most – are in most cases nonexistent. Secondly, the price was decent for this size resort and for the location.
Upon arriving we experienced what we expected. Not overtly and unnecessarily polite yet courteous and hassle free check in. Room was big, nice and clean. We needed an extra bed which was thrown in for just few hundred bhats more. This I am sure is to cover the free breakfast cost for the extra person more than anything which was included with the room. Had lunch at the hotel. Food was actually cheap here compared to super pricey Phuket and yet good tasting and fresh. Hotel has three decent size pools as advertised. All were in decent shape. When we order cocktail and food by the pool we were thinking we would be robbed blind. Yet again it was less than $10 per person. Breakfast is fantastic for paying bare $50 a night. Best hash browns I have tested in Thailand (let alone finding one in breakfast menu). And it is offered until 11 AM, I am sure keeping in mind that people on vacation may party late. That was a big plus.
The room’s A/C was not working for both nights and yet I am here to tell you I had a decent stay. Here’s why. Mechanical things eventually/occasionally break down even in a good hotels with best of intentions and if it is not me, someone else would have experienced it. But low and behold in this case it had to be us when the A/C decided to stop working. But it is what was done that warrants a positive review. They immediately send a guy to fix it. He tried his best but couldn’t They offered to change us the room. But since it was late at night we didn’t want to pack up and move. They brought us two large table fans which worked just fine. We didn’t change the rooms for next night either but they were apologetic and did offer to change the rooms repeatedly. They fixed the ride for US to the airport which was again very reasonably priced (750 Bhatt for three of us in a Big Commuter Van for almost an hour long ride – without sharing it with others). The driver was very courteous and polite.
While they resort may not be ultra modern and glitzy as some of the other resort that have sprouted up along the shore, but you can be assured of decent prices and no non-sense oriented straight forward service. I would go and stay here again.
If you some negative feedback here, keep in mind that it’s a big place. Somewhere, somehow human errors are bound to happen and make few of them bitter. All in all not a bad place at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the second visit to karon beach in the last 6 months. Once again we had a great time at the best western the staff are amazing. So friendly. The room we had was great . Level 3 right at the end,nice big room, very clean and a great balcony to sit and watch the sunset over the ocean. The pool was very crowded owning to high season. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed for 2 days from Dec 18-20,2012 and had a comfortable stay with my family. The hotel is around 45 minutes drive from the airport, so if you are reaching at night (or even during the day) it is preferable to request the hotel reception for a pick from the airport. It was 750 THB/way and you could pay the money at hotel reception when you reach there.
We stayed at the 4th floor and had an excellent view of the city. However if you are old - you should prefer the rooms on lower floors as you would have have to walk and climb few stairs.
The breakfast was complimentary and was excellent. It starts around 6 am so it is better to be at breakfast table on time if you have booked a cruise for that day, as these pickup people come on time.

Room Tip: Good view is available at 4th and 5th floor, however if you are old or problem in walking or climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We originally only planned to stay here for 5 nights but extended our stay for a further 5 nights! The location is good as its on the edge of karon, so away from any potential noise at night. There is a supermarket and restaurants close by.
We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and few times and the food was really good, although small portions, and so very expensive as tax isn't included in the price. If you walk just 2mins you can find a good restaurant- attached to phuket heritage hotel that is far cheaper. Alternatively you can go to the street market around the corner where the food is fresh and cooked by Thai people!
Pool and gym at hotel were great, although not so many sunbeds and people have a habit of putting towels down and walking away for the day so get down there earlish!
Our room was amazing-we upgraded to a family superior room which I think makes all the difference as other rooms didn't look as good.

Room Tip: I would suggest spending a bit more on a bigger family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

terrible......rooms not clean, service was disappointing. breakfast was good & location was excellent with a 2 minute walk to Karon centre. loved the locals & great resturants, massages etc. would go back to Karon but definately not stay at Best Western

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#16 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.