We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Karon
The Hague
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent two weeks here on a special deal from a German tour operator. We were picked up from the airport which worked very well and brought to the hotel, which is set on a well-maintained compound with 3 nice pools.
We had booked a 'superior' room which had ocean view and a huge bed; the only thing that took away from that view was the ugly 'lagoon' before it (see picture). The complimentary water bottles and the coffee and tea in the room were a nice touch.
The rooms were nice, airconditioned, and the TV had lots of international channels; however, at times, they could have been more thorougly cleaned (under the bed, for instance).
Breakfast was O.K., the selection was alright but didn't change at all in the two weeks we were there, which made it boring after a while. The quality of the fruit was not great, unfortunately.
Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel; In our opinion, with a few small changes, this hotel could receive a better star rating than it has at the moment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    190
    79
    13
    10
See reviews for
81
199
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here December 14th-19th, 2012. Staff was great. The room were average for a beach resort. I had a king size bed but it was really two twins pushed together. Only slept on one side anyway. Be should to ask for extra towel because when taking a shower, the water spreads more then it should. 2 complimentary waters per day. In-room safes and refrigerator. Found 3-4 channels that were English speaking. My room was across from the 2 pools (3 pool on a higher floor). Great views, better views if your room was higher. The breakfast buffet had plenty of options and delicious including eggs any way you want. Free Wi-Fi. There are three computers in the lobby. One is free for guest for 15 minutes, the other two there is a small fee. Short walk to the beach. Kata beach was a little further but in walking distance. 7-Eleven next to the hotel. NOT a hotel for handicap people or cannot tolerate steps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The resort itself was a pleasant surprise. Most reviews stated that it was outdated, but upon arrival one could see that renovations had been done since the Tsunami in 2004. All finishes were modern, clean and an asset to the resort. All 3 pools were immaculate and well run. The room was beautiful, rooms with aircon, a safe inside the cupboard was a nice touch for peace of mind. Rooms were serviced daily, bottles of water was a regular addition, any condiments used were replaced the next morning. The only complaint in this was the nuts eaten were at a cost - which was very expensive compared to purchasing the same packet at the 711 up the road.

The Hotel breakfast was dynamic - such a wide variety of food from cereals, to yoghurts, cold meats and salads, cooked meals (different every morning with some regulars), pastries and toasts, and eggs were done to your request. Waiters walked around refilling your coffee/tea. Plates were removed upon finishing one course.
The hindrance was that the majority of people working there - their understanding of the English language was limited - but one got used to using sign language/key words.

Entertainment during the evenings did take place at the hotel - with Meat/"Braai" at the pool area on 2 occasions. On a few occasions there were people selling their purchases outside the Hotel Restaurant - very good quality - prices very similar to ours in South Africa.
Everyone said that the prices were much cheaper - but we did not find that. Prices are equal if not more expensive to South Africa. What we did find was that the cheaper items were colddrinks, chips, chocolates and fruit outside the hotel.
The Hotel Spa is well worth trying - and although pricey - for spa lovers, an invigorating experience. You have not had a massage until a Thai person has given you one.
We recommend this resort to anyone who wants a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The people of Thailand are the hardest working people - who give magnificient service irrespective of the little that they themselves have. Once all renovations have been done in the resort (such as the games room) - it will be a resort worth considering!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Resort in a great location to walk to beach, restaurants, convenience stores, and shops. We had a great view of the Andaman Sea from our room. Room amenities were very good and the rooms were made up quickly each day. We ate breakfast early each day and avoided the line ups that started around 9 the week before Christmas. The breakfast was good and provided many choices. We had no problem getting lounges around the pool any time of day. The resort does have a lot of stairs and we would not recommend if mobility was a concern. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangasala, Finland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Phuket Ocean Resort for a week in december 2012 and we can highly recommend the hotell for everybody-

The situation is very good near Karon,s north center and still in a reasonably peacefull environment. Near but still far enough.

We has a room with a splendid view over beatifull Andaman sea and a nice balcony with lots of space. Comfortable double bed and of course, air-conditioning that you could adjust yourself. Safetybox in own room is also a very good thing. The room was cleaned well every day. Nothing but good things to say about our room.

We have aiways liked to ha a good breakfast and that of Ocean Resort is more than good. You can find everything you can ever think of; omelets, fried eggs, yoghurt ( 2 kind), meny sorts of bread, thai food, potato in many ways, pancakes, donuts... you name it, they got it. It is nice to start a new day with good food!

Beach towels were easy to find and they could be changed every day by the pool.

The hotell staff all over the hotel was very kind and helped in every possible way
and allways with a friendly smile. We can give them the best degrees.

All in all we were more than satisfied with our stay and can with no doupt recommend this nice hotel with its most friendy and helpfull personnel to everyone who is looking for a good place to stay and have a relaxing vacation.

We will most certainly be back there on our next holiday in warm and sunny Phuket.

Room Tip: We had a room with seaview from one of the higher floors and it was perfect. It costs a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My Dad and I stayed at the Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort in November 2012. The location of this hotel is perfect. Situated at the northern end of Karon and was so close to the beach. The hotel is on the same road as many restaurants, tour booths and convenience stores. They give you a welcome drink which was delicious and the breakfast was delicious. The staff are friendly, welcoming and impecably dressed. Any proplem was no trouble for them. The room overlooked the beach and lagoon and we were able to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set. It was truely beautiful. There are three pools which is awesome! They werent too busy and one had a bar/ restaurant service which was great.

The gym and mini market were under repair when we were staying there so I cannot comment.

My only recommendation would be to offer free wifi through out the hotel and especially in the rooms. It makes contacting friends and family much easier and many hotels offer this service now.

Thank you Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort!

Room Tip: The rooms seemed all the same. Phuket is a bit of a party destination so dont expect it to be tranqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My sister and i stayed here for 8 days in Octiber and had an absolute ball. The pools are great.. not to busy. The pool upstairs was closest to our room as we were on the same floor. The staff are an absolute pleasure to deal with. They were all so very polite. The staff in the restaraunt were our faveourite. Our room seems like it was recently updated and it was great. Nothing wrong with the aircon in my rooms. The walk up the stairs to our room was tiring... we passed a few people on the way up having a short break before they headed up the next flight. I wouldnt reccomend getting a room up higher unless you like a heap of stairs. The lift was being replaced when i was there. Food in the restaraunt was great. We had breakfast lunch and dinner some days there. But if your looking for something cheaper definately go for a walk and find a restauraunt called PAPAYA! The food was cheap and yumm!! Definately cant wait to go back :) thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs ask for a lower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#17 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.