We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but dated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 73 hotels in Karon
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant but dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Quite a nice resort but looks a bit old and dated and in need of considerable maintenance. Our deluxe room was on the 3rd floor and quite a steep hike, around 80 stairs, the 5th floor would be a nightmare climb as the lift is never working despite lots of promises as to its expected reopening date.
Breakfast was usual Thai hotel fare, our room had been recently renovated and was excellent and the overall housekeeping standard was very high with beautiful gardens. The pool water was very warm and appeared a bit murky at times.
Although overlooking the stagnant lagoon and distant beach, the location is not great. We found Karon to be quite dirty and smelly and next time would prefer further south at Kata, a much better location.
There are far better alternatives.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are more private but quite a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    162
    65
    10
    8
See reviews for
68
161
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here once again, and they couldn't be more helpful. Asked for room by the pool on the third floor, and we got what we wanted, but due to unforseen circumstances and the pool leaking, we had to be moved to ground floor by the other pools. After being there only one day airconditioner not working properly, we were once again moved to another room. All done without a fuss and nothing was too hard for them. Only thing was I heard that the elevator was closing for one month for upgrade. Would not want to be on the higher floors when this happened. It did not infere with our stay but definiety would be hard for others who would be staying there whilst this was happening. Maybe a second elevator should be introduced. Other than that all was very good, great buffet breakfast close to everything, market, beach and restaurants. Recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floors near the pools, or the third floor near the pool, as long as the elevator is working!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed from 12- 20th October. Found staff friendly and helpful. Grounds are very beautiful and well maintained. Rooms cleaned every day unless you requested different. Stairs very tiring. Ask for lower levels if unable to climb flights of stairs. New lift being installed. The top level rooms are renovated. We were in a Deluxe room on second level which I felt did not compare to previous Deluxe rooms we have stayed in elsewhere in the world. Our room was in need of renovation (old paint on wall flaking off) and very dated.
The bathroom, although clean, was tiny and the high sided bath would be a a problem for an older or less fit person than myself. The restaurant was good but don't recommend the steak- ours was very poor quality meat with lots go gristle and very thin.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just had 10 fantastic days at this resort. The staff were excellent,friendly and always had a smile. The room was everything we needed and cleaned every day. We had breakfast included in our deal and it was well worth it( great selection) . We also ate at night in the restaurant and by the pool,prices very good. Pools were fantastic. The location is the best as you walk 5 min and your in town, beach,markets. Tuk tuks right across the road only about 300 baht to get to patong,go for a night and see the sights lol. Also I read how people love a Thai massage,I got hooked, the massage shop next to the seven eleven is the place to go. Over all great first time in Thailand ,great resort,great people, we are already planning same time next year,just wish they had direct flight from Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room over looking pool great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wow! Stayed 12 nights and had a fantastic time, staff amazing, rooms cleaned everyday, all you can eat if you so choose... We had a room on the lowest level overlooking lagoon and was fantastic - no stairs for hubby, lagoon undergoing a major transformation so will be awesome once finished. Short interesting walk into town and beach and amazing eating places to be found from as little as 50 baht if you do as the locals do. Can't wait to come back such good value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hi all just returned from 8 nights in this hotel. what can i say just BRILLIANT they couldnt do enough even the reception we received at 1 in the morning. Wouldnt stay any where else STAFF were brilliant PLEASANT and WILLING to help with anything we wanted, nice clean hotel nice breakfast and great pools will be comming back next year and staying at the same place. WELL DONE PHUKET OCEAN RESORT u made our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great breakfasts,great pools, friendly staff,clean comfy rooms,good value...and the lift was working......................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: stay close to the pools unless you like lots of exercse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#15 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.