We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwis in karon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kiwis in karon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just had 10 fantastic days at this resort. The staff were excellent,friendly and always had a smile. The room was everything we needed and cleaned every day. We had breakfast included in our deal and it was well worth it( great selection) . We also ate at night in the restaurant and by the pool,prices very good. Pools were fantastic. The location is the best as you walk 5 min and your in town, beach,markets. Tuk tuks right across the road only about 300 baht to get to patong,go for a night and see the sights lol. Also I read how people love a Thai massage,I got hooked, the massage shop next to the seven eleven is the place to go. Over all great first time in Thailand ,great resort,great people, we are already planning same time next year,just wish they had direct flight from Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room over looking pool great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    163
    66
    10
    8
See reviews for
69
162
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wow! Stayed 12 nights and had a fantastic time, staff amazing, rooms cleaned everyday, all you can eat if you so choose... We had a room on the lowest level overlooking lagoon and was fantastic - no stairs for hubby, lagoon undergoing a major transformation so will be awesome once finished. Short interesting walk into town and beach and amazing eating places to be found from as little as 50 baht if you do as the locals do. Can't wait to come back such good value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hi all just returned from 8 nights in this hotel. what can i say just BRILLIANT they couldnt do enough even the reception we received at 1 in the morning. Wouldnt stay any where else STAFF were brilliant PLEASANT and WILLING to help with anything we wanted, nice clean hotel nice breakfast and great pools will be comming back next year and staying at the same place. WELL DONE PHUKET OCEAN RESORT u made our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great breakfasts,great pools, friendly staff,clean comfy rooms,good value...and the lift was working......................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: stay close to the pools unless you like lots of exercse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed in this resort for 3 years in a row. They are always welcoming, do not expect 6 stars but a absolutely clean resort with 2 pools and a huge offering for breakfast. You cannot go wrong here, watch out for super rates, which we have always managed to get.The only down side here is , you could get a room 50 steps up with no elevator, so if you have health issues be sure to let them know prior to arrival. We did and we had a terriffic room.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of some sort, we had a garden room and it over looked the beach ( some what) J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be clean enough with a very nice view out to sea. The hotel is huge and sprawling and there are lots of stairs, but a lift helps avoid most of them.

Our room was large and comfortable enough although we did have ants coming in and the aircons are noisy. Much of the hotel is being renovated and some of the higher rooms had been completely gutted, while some of the rooms at the sides were used as store rooms. It looked rather spooky higher up. This didn't impact too much as the central and lower part by the main two pools was still fully functional.

One policy I found bizarre though was the charge for wifi. In most hotels, wifi is complimentary, but in this hotel it is charged and the rate is rather expensive. We ended up just using a net cafe round the corner in Karon.

Overall, it was ok, but we wouldn't stay again owing to wifi hassles.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went with 2 elderly ladies and were really impressed with the beautifully kept grounds, clean and sparkling swimming pools and all around service. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffets were really large with lots of choice, and delicious. Our rooms were ocean facing-we could see the little pond surrounded by trees and the ocean clearly-hear it too at night! Rooms were clean and well appointed but obviously not new. The bathtubs were made with 6 footers in mind, difficult for us short 5foot somethings to clamber in and out of, not to mention the problems the elderly, not very mobile ladies had. The air conditioning was freezing at all regulated temperatures. The only problem was the amount of stairs(of irregular heights) and slopes that one had to negotiate in the open air from the lobby up the hill to the lift. This was not clearly mentioned on the hotel information before and therefore outings for the ladies were restricted. Otherwise a lovely quiet place a few minutes from the beach and round the corner from shops and restaurants without the noise!Would definitely go again but not advisable for people with restricted mobility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#15 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.