We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ROOM REFURBISHMENT
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We just got back from a week at the Ocean Resort. I had read a few reviews and like most reviewers found very few problems. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, although starting to show their age in the bathrooms. having said that the property is currently being renovated with one wing underway now. The location is good, close to beach, town and great local restaurants. Try the small local style places for excellent good cheap Thai food....I was also a bit concern about the steps, but once you get to your room, all rooms have a ocean facing balcony...the views are worth a few steps...definitely will go back and recommend yiu give this one a look..good value for your baht....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    223
    85
    14
    11
See reviews for
98
228
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
margate qld
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We loved our stay at the Ocean Resort [local known name]
.HOWEVER, and this is so unfortunate, with the wind in the wrong direction the most foul smell wafted over the whole place from the lagoon just over the road.
And the stairs, a very big problem for the less able person and in some ways quite dangerous with quite steep rises and no railings to help keep ones balance.
The staff did everything to make this a delightful experience.The food and cleanliness were great and our room was airconditioned, comfortable and perfectly adequate.
We are both in our 70s, reasonbly fit and able, but could not consider returning next year, although we loved our stay , because of the stairs.
Karon is delightful and the people are charming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return to Karon as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Views from the higher floors overlook the bay and those lower have delightful views of the garden an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macksville, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Fantastic holiday,Great hotel,very friendly and helpful staff, and excellent view and location,, stairs were not a problem,and the pools were beautiful,,.breakfast was good and room cleaners were excellent, overall a great place to stay. we definately plan to stay there again next year,Stayed at a more plush hotel in Kuala Lumpur on the way back and would prefer to stay at the Ocean resort,

Room Tip: all rooms are good value from what i could see,, views from everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 14 days, in a single room which was veeeery comfortable, with two double beds. Hotel in general is very clean, although it is not a very new one. Swimming pools areas really relaxing. Many steps to most of the rooms, but this wasn't bad at all, because the higher you are the better view you get, and the hotel is very picturesque! Nice breakfast with show cooking in an open air breakfast hall-restaurant. I didn't try lunch or dinner because I prefered the local restaurants with fresh fish, shrimps & lombsters (reaaally cheap). Hotel is located in Karon beach, one of the most beautiful & long beaches of the island. if you prefer a very busy night you better stay at Patong Beach (10-15 min car drive away). However in Karon you can find everything you need like bars, restaurant, souvenirs, bazzars etc but in a liitle bit more calm rythms. I recommend this hotel, it was also in a very good price!

Room Tip: Try sea view rooms in a higher floor for the best view, if you dont mind the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, nsw
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Lovely hotel in quieter Karon Beach area, We stayed in the off season and still had a room on the 3rd level which envoles many steps and sloping pathways, Buffet breakfast was nice and included in price. Like many others comments the bed was extremely hard, harder than the hotel we stayed in Bangkok. having said that we requested an over lay and were promptly provided with a pad which helped a bit. Check the mini bar when you arrive as ours had no stock and we had to remind them several times to ensure we werent charged for items. Our bathroom had recently been refurbished and was very clean

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was an amazing hotel, staff were very friendly and very obliging. Close to everthing. Very clean and tidy. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We chose this resort based on price and many of the recommendations on this site. We weren't disappointed. Situated in a quiet end of Karon Beach, the resort was an easy walk to the main street and beach proper. The rooms (we got a basic room) were simple but clean. The king sized bed turned out to be two singles pushed together with a foam one-piece put over the top, but this didn't worry us as most nights we slept well and the mattresses, in fact, very comfortable. The only issue we did have was with the noisy air conditioning unit that sounded louder in the wee hours than it did during the day!

The breakfast buffet in our package was brilliant. I particularly loved the fresh fruits and the waiters never missed a beat - as soon as you'd finish one cup of tea or coffee, they would be around to refill! The pool area was right outside our room (I agree with the previous post that the rooms near the pool were much more accessible!) and the food and beverages served by the pool were good. I recommend the Pina Coladas served in coconut shells!

Also, while you did have to pay to access wi-fi from your room, there was free wi-fi in the foyer, which was easily accessed from my iphone!

Overall, our holiday in Phuket was great and my husband and I both agree that we definitely would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.3 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#46 of 72 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#15 of 72 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
0.2 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#27 of 72 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#19 of 72 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#23 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.