We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary very ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Chilli

Green Chilli
206-206/1 Karon Road | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 108 restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ordinary very ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been in Karon Beach in Phuket for almost a week and eaten out every night, tonight we went to the Green Chilli ( 8 of us ) and it was far and away the worst meals we have had. All plates were small accept two kids menu cheese burgers, all meals were served in a wishy washy sauce and all were basically tasteless, we ordered French fries as a side dish and they had a taste like oil needed changing
Overall very ordinary place to dine in Phuket

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    5
    10
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Filthy but popular”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I ordered the spaghetti bolognaise, and found a hair in it just before I had finished it. Nice views across the road to the beach and sunset and good for people watching. I actually ended up in here by mistake and am regretting it now. I was trying to get to the pizza place, GG's pizza, which is actually upstairs on top of Green Chilli. Green Chilli offers a free salad bar with dinners, but I wouldn't touch it if you value your health.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Kennedy, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else; mediocre/awful food and service almost non existent.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Dinner tonight 26/06/13. Went in and sat down. After 5 mins an older Indian man came and took our order; one fried fresh fish, one shrimp cakes appetizer, one sweet and sour pork, one mango and one watermelon shake. 15 mins passed, no drinks but the fish cakes came, tasted not fresh. Asked about the drinks when the fish cakes came. About 20 mins later the drinks and my sweet and sour pork came. Very ordinary, almost no pork in the dish, the rest of which looked and tasted like it came from a Kantong jar. I abandoned my meal 1/4 eaten, vile; at which time my husbands very ordinary fried fish appeared. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Jumped into this place when I just arrived to Karon and simply wanted to eat something/anything. Food was good and fresh, services was nice, good place to get in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callala Bay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good basic food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good Thai fresh food. Most of the other food types are stereotyped to the country of origin. Stick to the Thai and you can't go wrong. It is owned by the Jaspar Tailor Group. Very enjoyable and service is good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Chilli also viewed

 
Karon, Phuket Town
Karon, Phuket Town
 

Been to Green Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Chilli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.