We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have nothing but praise for this Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phunawa Resort

Save Saved
You added Phunawa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Phunawa Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 hotels in Karon
Zurrieq, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We have nothing but praise for this Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have nothing but praise for this Hotel. Our stay was very comfortable. The pool is lovely and the breakfast was adequate. Rooms very clean and modern. .We had a good Thai massage at the hotel tooWe are going back soon.

Room Tip: We loved room 1132 which is for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Flekkefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in this beautiful resort last month. The resort was nor fully booked and they gave us free of charge upgrade to a fantasic Family Suite. Lots of space for a family of 3. Our baby got a room for himself and we could enjoy ourselfs. Lots of space outside and not to warm since it is a bit up from the beach - 15 min to walk. It is also 12 min to walk to "center" of Karon. Friendly staff and very good food reasonabled priced. A place to return to :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

When we arrived we were very impressed by the efficiency of the reception staff and by the standard of our suite, which has a kitchen area, a lounge area with a flat screen tv and DVD player, a bedroom with an en suite bathroom and a lovely shower room with a rainfall shower.

The hotel is located up a slight slope but this is not a problem and there is a free shuttle to the beach if you don't fancy the 10 minute walk. We''ve walked back in the early hours of the morning and not felt unsafe or threatened in any way.

We had noted some mention of the breakfast being basic but this is not so, eggs cooked to order with bacon, sausage, waffles and another hot item each day. A full continental section has various hams and cheeses, together with salad. There's 8 different cereals, 2 breads and toast, croissants and danish pastries, fresh fruit salad, pineapple and melon, whole coconuts and 2 sorts of yogurts. There's 3 juices, fresh ground coffee and tea, and every morning, the waiter makes me a pot of my favourite green tea. What do these people want???

In short a lovely hotel I'd come back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hi we have found all the staff great, rooms are nice ,breakfast is beautiful everyday,the walk to karon is about 10 mins would class it a quite easy walk unless you are a lazy. There is construction work next door but it didn't cause a drama for us. My partner had planned surgery in Phuket and she walk the stairs to our room easy without a problem and I'm sure if you ask to be put on a ground floor the would accommodate.
We also spoke to staff ( Lillian ),paid for the room in full before leaving Australia and it caused no problem.
We found that where the resort is place is out of the Hussle and bustle of karon which we seem to love so you could relax without the constant beeping of tuk tuk horns. We would class this hotel up there with any of the 4 star resort back in oz. whilst we didn't have our kids with us there were a lot of families here and we plan to bring our kids next year . We would like to end by saying thanks for the great service you provide dewa karon beach resort.


Regards Adam & Peta
From Australia

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's a big resort in a small area but at no time dose it feel busy. We stayed in a family suite. Two bedrooms with a living room and kitchen. The rooms are really nice. Lots of nice little touches. You have everything u need. The room service was fast and the food and drink good. This is a great spot for family's coz it has a great pool and a kids room. It's only a 5/10min walk to the beach or u can get the free shuttle in the morning. That would be my only compliant is that they should have a shuttle too and from the beach every couple of hours. But this would not stop me choosing to stay there next time.
Next year I won't be looking around for a hotel I will be going straight back to dewa.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear ToshTanner,

We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money. Also got a free upgrade when as our original room was next to construction work.

Breakfast buffet is outstanding, the coffee made to order is up there with the best coffee shops in Melbourne.

The hotel is located a 10 min walk away from the main street & beach. On hot days it can be a little tough walking back up the hill but if you are reasonably fit its not a big deal.

The only negative thing is that the tiles around the pool area are very slippery, the kids fell over and hurt themselves many times so take care if you are older or have young children.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fantastic 'Family Suite' but we didn't get what we paid for. The pictures advertised on the Dewa Karon website differed greatly to the room given to us. Staff were not overly helpful or friendly. Breakfast was average but ok, not a great variety. Our spa kept tripping out the circuit breaker after 5 minutes , scary experience when your sitting in a tub that needs fixing by an electrician not the maintenance man. The pool was slimy around the edges and needed a good clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Shanesheps,

We are sorry to hear your spa experience was not up to standard. Since your stay we have worked on these issues. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phunawa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.