We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Phunawa Resort to your Saves list
Phunawa Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Having a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

When we arrived we were very impressed by the efficiency of the reception staff and by the standard of our suite, which has a kitchen area, a lounge area with a flat screen tv and DVD player, a bedroom with an en suite bathroom and a lovely shower room with a rainfall shower.

The hotel is located up a slight slope but this is not a problem and there is a free shuttle to the beach if you don't fancy the 10 minute walk. We''ve walked back in the early hours of the morning and not felt unsafe or threatened in any way.

We had noted some mention of the breakfast being basic but this is not so, eggs cooked to order with bacon, sausage, waffles and another hot item each day. A full continental section has various hams and cheeses, together with salad. There's 8 different cereals, 2 breads and toast, croissants and danish pastries, fresh fruit salad, pineapple and melon, whole coconuts and 2 sorts of yogurts. There's 3 juices, fresh ground coffee and tea, and every morning, the waiter makes me a pot of my favourite green tea. What do these people want???

In short a lovely hotel I'd come back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    67
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
87
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hi we have found all the staff great, rooms are nice ,breakfast is beautiful everyday,the walk to karon is about 10 mins would class it a quite easy walk unless you are a lazy. There is construction work next door but it didn't cause a drama for us. My partner had planned surgery in Phuket and she walk the stairs to our room easy without a problem and I'm sure if you ask to be put on a ground floor the would accommodate.
We also spoke to staff ( Lillian ),paid for the room in full before leaving Australia and it caused no problem.
We found that where the resort is place is out of the Hussle and bustle of karon which we seem to love so you could relax without the constant beeping of tuk tuk horns. We would class this hotel up there with any of the 4 star resort back in oz. whilst we didn't have our kids with us there were a lot of families here and we plan to bring our kids next year . We would like to end by saying thanks for the great service you provide dewa karon beach resort.


Regards Adam & Peta
From Australia

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's a big resort in a small area but at no time dose it feel busy. We stayed in a family suite. Two bedrooms with a living room and kitchen. The rooms are really nice. Lots of nice little touches. You have everything u need. The room service was fast and the food and drink good. This is a great spot for family's coz it has a great pool and a kids room. It's only a 5/10min walk to the beach or u can get the free shuttle in the morning. That would be my only compliant is that they should have a shuttle too and from the beach every couple of hours. But this would not stop me choosing to stay there next time.
Next year I won't be looking around for a hotel I will be going straight back to dewa.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear ToshTanner,

We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money. Also got a free upgrade when as our original room was next to construction work.

Breakfast buffet is outstanding, the coffee made to order is up there with the best coffee shops in Melbourne.

The hotel is located a 10 min walk away from the main street & beach. On hot days it can be a little tough walking back up the hill but if you are reasonably fit its not a big deal.

The only negative thing is that the tiles around the pool area are very slippery, the kids fell over and hurt themselves many times so take care if you are older or have young children.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fantastic 'Family Suite' but we didn't get what we paid for. The pictures advertised on the Dewa Karon website differed greatly to the room given to us. Staff were not overly helpful or friendly. Breakfast was average but ok, not a great variety. Our spa kept tripping out the circuit breaker after 5 minutes , scary experience when your sitting in a tub that needs fixing by an electrician not the maintenance man. The pool was slimy around the edges and needed a good clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Shanesheps,

We are sorry to hear your spa experience was not up to standard. Since your stay we have worked on these issues. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

At a walking distance of 10 mins from Karon beach, this hotel is a comfy n peaceful place to spend your holiday. Its far from the overcrowded city and the rooms are like a villa with kitchen facilities. We stayed in a family room which was more than sufficient for 4 persons(2 bed rooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, a drawing room and a sea view balcony). Hotel services were good and the cost at which they provide the rooms is also pretty reasonable.
We cooked our own food one evening as we wanted to enjoy the sunset from our balcony(sea view) and it was very convenient as every thing was provided by the hotel. Its a great choice to relax, have some family time and have a home away from home.
They have a swimming pool and spa as well.
Cons:
1. Do not book a taxi through the hotel staff bcz the charge you almost double for it.
2. The surroundings did not look safe to roam around late outside the hotel premises, as the hotel is situated in a peaceful locality. You can ofcourse take your own car/taxi bt avoid setting off on foot.
3. Autos/Tuk tuks are difficult to find in this area so its better to save a few taxi contacts in ur mobile, otherwise you can use the hotel's car services to go to nearby places like Patong, etc. bt avoid taking it for airport transfer.
Overall, we had an awesome stay at Dewa Karon Beach Phuket and would love to stay at the same place anytime again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Dewa for 6 nights in early Oct 12. It was low season so got a great rate on a 2 bedroom family suite, room 1921. The room was nice & clean, 2 small bedrooms, the front room didn't have room to place a suitcase, it was very tight moving around the bed. Both bathrooms were small but it was nice to have 2. There is a lounge area with seating for 3-4 and a kitchenette with barstools. We didn't cook but it was nice to have a large fridge, cutlery and glasses.

The pool was a good size and always clean. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you wanted to lazy around a pool though. The only sunloungers near the pool, 6 in total, are all in noisy areas. 4 near the air conditioner motors and 2 near waterfall. The upstairs lounges (on top of restaurant) would be your only option if you wanted to lay around and relax.

We had a balcony with a table & chairs. Nice to sit and have dinner there when we orded room service. Also had two sunloungers but they were in full sun in the afternoon.

The hotel was quiet due to it being low season but if all the rooms were occupied you would struggle to find any privacy. Check my two photos, the rooms around us had direct sight onto our balcony and vice versa. Most rooms can see all the pool area.

It was noisy when we were there with construction over the road and a renovation of the breakfast area. It didn't bother us at night and we were out most days, but again not a great spot if you wanted to relax.

The walk back from Karon is fine, not too steep for us, but a bit too far to do a couple of times a day, especially with a 7 yr old. Cheapest we could find a tuk tuk or taxi for back to the hotel was 200bht even if it was 5 mins from the hotel. If you have a scooter this wouldn't be a problem.

Breakfast was basic but ok, room service the same - not much choice. We didn't eat any other meals in the restaurant.

Karon beach was rough whilst we were there so didn't go there for swimming. Moved on to Kata on 6 Oct and much preferred that.

Overall good value for what we paid but won't return.

Room Tip: Keep away from the waterfalls, very noisy and run 24 hours a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Karon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phunawa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.