We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai Food Doesn't Exist in Phuket” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bai Toey

Bai Toey
192/36 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
081-6916202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 144 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kensington, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food Doesn't Exist in Phuket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I guess as far as Thai food that we had in Phuket...this was the best and "most authentic", but honestly that still doesn't mean that it was outstandingly good. I think in Phuket all you can hope for is food that doesn't taste like ketchup and won't leave you spending the whole night in the bathroom. This place does shape your rice into a teddy bear though....I did like that :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice as we loved the food and service was very good! Owner is lovely and we definitely recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Food was ok and the service was good but wasn't as tasty as some of the other restaurants in the street. There is a Restaurant two doors away next to the massage place much better value. Can't remember the name but is a long one, the decor is green and they have a Russian menu outside.
We ate a lot there and it was much better

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Fresh and flavorful, serving sizes were 'just right' and we particularly enjoyed the fruit shakes in the menu to cool off. (We tried pineapple, watermelon and lemon shakes) they are non alcoholic shaved ice drinks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great character, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food was lovely and the drinks came in lovely round glasses like fish bowls. Visited this place several times for food and drink.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bai Toey also viewed

Karon, Phuket Town
 
Karon, Phuket Town
 

Been to Bai Toey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bai Toey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.