We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 10 days @ Karon Phunaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 hotels in Karon
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome 10 days @ Karon Phunaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

To Managment & Staff

We have just returned from an awesome 10 days in Phuket. Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa provided us with a perfect setting to enjoy a well deserved break. The room was spacious with stunning views of the Andaman Sea. We had a corner room with big sliding doors leading to a patio including another window with beautiful views over the ocean. The pool was amazing - lovely to cool down after a day on the beach and shopping. The new years eve fireworks was spectacular.The friendliness of all staff from check-in to departure was very refreshing - nothing was ever any trouble for them. The honesty of housekeeping is also highly commendable as we accidently left two pens with very sentimental value in the safe. We phoned from the airport to enquire whether this had been found by housekeeping after our check out. It was confirmed that they had found the pens. We have arranged with a courier to collect the pens from reception - in this day and age this is truely remarkable - there are still very honest people in this world. Once again thank you to management and staff of Karon Phunaka Resort - your resort is absolute wonderful and we will definitely be back. This was our 4th trip to Phuket and we are already looking forward to the next one. To anyone out there planning a trip to Thailand make Karon Phunaka your destination.

Warm greetings from the Robertsons

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir,


Thank you very much. Your review is really appreciated and truely makes us proud of our staffs. They are really stars of Karon Phunaka. Our guest’s comfort and happiness are our priority. And there is nothing valuable to us more than your remarkable time during your stay here. It is the reason and inspiration that we take into our work every day. We will keep up our good work and keep developing our service for every guest enjoyable stay. We wish you have enjoyable trip wherever you go. And if you come back to visit Phuket again, we will be more than happy to welcome you back to Karon Phunaka again.

Yours Sincerely,


On behalf of management team and all staffs,

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3D2N on my honeymoon
The management took the extra effort to prepare our room for our Honeymoon..
Our own personal jacuzzi on the balcony with a beautiful view of sunset over Karon Beach
Spectacular view from our room
The hotel is situated on the cliff of the hill overlooking Karon Beach..
The staff was friendly and ever helpful to all our needs
Breakfast spread was quite good as well.
Highlight of this hotel is its Funicular Cable Lift.
On the overall, we had a wonderful stay here
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Kiran_Chalam,


Swasdee kah. Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It is really glad to know that you had enjoyable time during your stay here. Among hotel in Karon, we are one of few hotels that offer Andaman Sea view in every room. If you come to visit Phuket again, hope we will have chance to welcome you back to Karon Phunaka.

Once again, thank you very much.


With Best Regards,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnarvon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at the phunaka resort and spa in october for 5 days and was very impressed!!
Room was amazing, very spacious and bathroom was new and massive! Awesome view of the beach and Karon and could also see the big buddha up on the hill.
View from the pool was amazing and spent few nights enjoying the sunset and having a couple of drinks at the pool side bar with an awesome bar tender
Food was amazing as well, having an omlette cooked fresh in front of you was excellent as well as the large selections each morning.... dinner was also awesome and had no complaints!!
Bit of a walk back from the beach but good exercise for the legs!
Had a couple of massages at the spa and was very impressed with the treatment we recieved, left feeling rejuvinated!!
Staff were awesome, answering any quiries we had and always smiling!
Would be back for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear nicole87_12,


Swasdee kha. Greeting from Karon Phunaka! Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoy reading it a lot. It’s really glad to know you like room and Andaman Sea view and facilities at our resort.

And I strongly agreed that the infinity pool was amazing! Nothing is better than swimming in the pool overlooking the city and the blue sea view, while sipping a cool drink with your special person. It is truly relaxing moment of life.

Once again, thank you very much and waiting to welcome you back to Karon Phunaka again.


On behalf of management team and all staffs,


Yours Sincerely,



Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirke Hyllinge, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

You have to stay at this hotel. We stay 4 days and we enjoyed every minut. The staff are very friendly and they will do everything to help enjoy your stay.
The room and every where at the hotel there are very clean.
The room was great. Large bed and large bathroom. The view from the balcony was amacing and the private jacuzzi at the balcony was excellent to.
You har to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Heidi B,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay at KaronPhunaka.
It is really glad to hear that you had a happy time with us. We will keep up our good work and keep moving forward to make every stay enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much, and Merry X’s as and happy New Year 2013.

Yours Sincerely,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a std room from the 26 october to the 2nd november 2012. the room was beautiful! large bed, bathroom and room. the balcony view was amazing! we stayed in the 7th building. the beach was a 5min walk and i could see big Budha from my balcony. the food was excellent and the food and beverage manager and our waitress Benjamas made dinning an excellent experience. the infinity pool was clean and cool after long hot day walks around town. check in and check out was quick and efficient. i will definately come back here. Oh and i dont really like food that im not used to (fussy eater) but breakfast was a good spread so i thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Nicola-snoopy,

Sawadee Kha. I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at the Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for recommending our resort.

I look forward to opportunity to welcome your return to Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa in the future.

Sincerely,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Checked in to this hotel from 22/10/12 to 25/10/12. We booked the deluxe room as advised by the good people here and I was amazed by the effort they took to tidy up the room. The view from the balcony with private jacuzzi, great service rendered by every staff there. No regrets booking this hotel.

Do note that the cable lift is part of it's uniqueness although some might bed to differ. I feel that it will be better if they offer more varieties for their breakfast but rest assure that this is not going to be a deal breaker. Have fun and take a look at some of the photos I took while I am there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Swasdee kah khun Ben5252,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It’s nice to know that you’re one of Sea View Lovers.

And million thanks for the amazing photos. I’ve repost it on our facebook and pinterest. Hope you don’t mind. For breakfast, I’ve forwarded your message to Chef and believe that there will be more choices of breakfast served in this November and onwards.

Wish you best luck and hope to welcome you back to KARON PHUNAKA in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went for a 5 day stay at this lovely hotel. We were a bit nervous having never been to Thailand but were so pleasantly surprised! The food in the restaurant was consistently outstanding. We went out twice and found it to be nowehere near as nice and that the prices were the same. The pool has amazing views. The staff are sooooo helpful (we didn't find everyone in Thailand that helpful and pleasant but rather out to get as much money as possible but the hotel wasn't like that at all). The hotel rooms are big and comfortable and have everything you need, incluing very lovely squashy slippers and dressing gowns. The walks around the hotel are steep but we managed fine with a 2 year old and a 6 year old, you jut have to be vigilant near the big slopes but our girls coped fine. Go on a trip to phi phi island, it is completely amazing. The elephants are ok dpending on where you go but beware of companies that offer monkey shows etc as they are horrible! We would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AnnaHK949,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s really nice to hear that you and your family [with the 2 lovely kids :] had good time in Phuket. We are missing your lovely family here. Hope to welcome you back to our resort again next year.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Address: 22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Spa Hotel in Karon
#20 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#41 Business Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.