We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and amazing views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Carnarvon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at the phunaka resort and spa in october for 5 days and was very impressed!!
Room was amazing, very spacious and bathroom was new and massive! Awesome view of the beach and Karon and could also see the big buddha up on the hill.
View from the pool was amazing and spent few nights enjoying the sunset and having a couple of drinks at the pool side bar with an awesome bar tender
Food was amazing as well, having an omlette cooked fresh in front of you was excellent as well as the large selections each morning.... dinner was also awesome and had no complaints!!
Bit of a walk back from the beach but good exercise for the legs!
Had a couple of massages at the spa and was very impressed with the treatment we recieved, left feeling rejuvinated!!
Staff were awesome, answering any quiries we had and always smiling!
Would be back for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear nicole87_12,


Swasdee kha. Greeting from Karon Phunaka! Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoy reading it a lot. It’s really glad to know you like room and Andaman Sea view and facilities at our resort.

And I strongly agreed that the infinity pool was amazing! Nothing is better than swimming in the pool overlooking the city and the blue sea view, while sipping a cool drink with your special person. It is truly relaxing moment of life.

Once again, thank you very much and waiting to welcome you back to Karon Phunaka again.


On behalf of management team and all staffs,


Yours Sincerely,



Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kirke Hyllinge, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

You have to stay at this hotel. We stay 4 days and we enjoyed every minut. The staff are very friendly and they will do everything to help enjoy your stay.
The room and every where at the hotel there are very clean.
The room was great. Large bed and large bathroom. The view from the balcony was amacing and the private jacuzzi at the balcony was excellent to.
You har to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Heidi B,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay at KaronPhunaka.
It is really glad to hear that you had a happy time with us. We will keep up our good work and keep moving forward to make every stay enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much, and Merry X’s as and happy New Year 2013.

Yours Sincerely,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a std room from the 26 october to the 2nd november 2012. the room was beautiful! large bed, bathroom and room. the balcony view was amazing! we stayed in the 7th building. the beach was a 5min walk and i could see big Budha from my balcony. the food was excellent and the food and beverage manager and our waitress Benjamas made dinning an excellent experience. the infinity pool was clean and cool after long hot day walks around town. check in and check out was quick and efficient. i will definately come back here. Oh and i dont really like food that im not used to (fussy eater) but breakfast was a good spread so i thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Nicola-snoopy,

Sawadee Kha. I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at the Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for recommending our resort.

I look forward to opportunity to welcome your return to Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa in the future.

Sincerely,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Checked in to this hotel from 22/10/12 to 25/10/12. We booked the deluxe room as advised by the good people here and I was amazed by the effort they took to tidy up the room. The view from the balcony with private jacuzzi, great service rendered by every staff there. No regrets booking this hotel.

Do note that the cable lift is part of it's uniqueness although some might bed to differ. I feel that it will be better if they offer more varieties for their breakfast but rest assure that this is not going to be a deal breaker. Have fun and take a look at some of the photos I took while I am there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Swasdee kah khun Ben5252,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It’s nice to know that you’re one of Sea View Lovers.

And million thanks for the amazing photos. I’ve repost it on our facebook and pinterest. Hope you don’t mind. For breakfast, I’ve forwarded your message to Chef and believe that there will be more choices of breakfast served in this November and onwards.

Wish you best luck and hope to welcome you back to KARON PHUNAKA in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went for a 5 day stay at this lovely hotel. We were a bit nervous having never been to Thailand but were so pleasantly surprised! The food in the restaurant was consistently outstanding. We went out twice and found it to be nowehere near as nice and that the prices were the same. The pool has amazing views. The staff are sooooo helpful (we didn't find everyone in Thailand that helpful and pleasant but rather out to get as much money as possible but the hotel wasn't like that at all). The hotel rooms are big and comfortable and have everything you need, incluing very lovely squashy slippers and dressing gowns. The walks around the hotel are steep but we managed fine with a 2 year old and a 6 year old, you jut have to be vigilant near the big slopes but our girls coped fine. Go on a trip to phi phi island, it is completely amazing. The elephants are ok dpending on where you go but beware of companies that offer monkey shows etc as they are horrible! We would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AnnaHK949,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s really nice to hear that you and your family [with the 2 lovely kids :] had good time in Phuket. We are missing your lovely family here. Hope to welcome you back to our resort again next year.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I along with my Sister and her husband stayed here for 5 nights in October. It was the best resort I have ever stayed at! I wish we had of had more time to spend here. The resort is exceptional luxury, everything is modern and clean. Staff are all lovely and incredibly helpfull, nothing was ever a problem! Staff speak english very well and if they weren't sure if they understood you correctly they would ask another staff member to confirm. The pool is amazing! Would love to be back there right now with a mojito from the pool bar made by the wonderful Restaurant Capatian! We stayed in a room with a jacuzi on the balcony which was beautiful and relaxing. Yes the hotel is on a steep hill however but it's not as bad as people seem to make it out to be. Plus you have a choice of a lift, stairs, walk up the hill or get a golf buggy. It never bothered me. Food is excellent and the menu has plenty of options. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious and the restaurant is beautiful. There are shuttes that go to Karon Beach every half hour but we always walked as it's only 5 mins away and the area always felt safe. All in all it was a wonderfull holiday, my only regret is that we allocated only 5 nights there. Will definitely back in the near future!

Room Tip: Buildings 8 or 6 seem to be the best buildings to have a room in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sam W,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. We are really glad that you had a good time during your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. Located in Karon Beach area, this hotel is perfect for an escape from the busy Patong Beach. The elevators which bring you to the room have nice views on the jungle. The staff is very helpful and smiling. The breakfast is a buffet with a cook who can prepare different kind of eggs on demand.
One negative point would be the bathroom which was only 80 % clean.

However, I would recommend this hotel for sure !

Room Tip: My advise is to book a Deluxe Room in which you can have a private Jacuzzi, with a nice view on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alexandre K,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It helps us work with bigger smile.
For cleanliness of the bathroom, housekeeping department has been noted. Indeed, our housekeeping worked very hard, but still the “not 100% unclean look” resulted from tiles glue. Our Engineering is working on this. Thank you very much for your kind comment. Hope to welcome you to our resort again in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Address: 22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Spa Hotel in Karon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.