We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 / 1 Soi Pataksoi 22, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 69 hotels in Karon
Kirke Hyllinge, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

You have to stay at this hotel. We stay 4 days and we enjoyed every minut. The staff are very friendly and they will do everything to help enjoy your stay.
The room and every where at the hotel there are very clean.
The room was great. Large bed and large bathroom. The view from the balcony was amacing and the private jacuzzi at the balcony was excellent to.
You har to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Heidi B,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay at KaronPhunaka.
It is really glad to hear that you had a happy time with us. We will keep up our good work and keep moving forward to make every stay enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much, and Merry X’s as and happy New Year 2013.

Yours Sincerely,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a std room from the 26 october to the 2nd november 2012. the room was beautiful! large bed, bathroom and room. the balcony view was amazing! we stayed in the 7th building. the beach was a 5min walk and i could see big Budha from my balcony. the food was excellent and the food and beverage manager and our waitress Benjamas made dinning an excellent experience. the infinity pool was clean and cool after long hot day walks around town. check in and check out was quick and efficient. i will definately come back here. Oh and i dont really like food that im not used to (fussy eater) but breakfast was a good spread so i thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Nicola-snoopy,

Sawadee Kha. I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at the Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for recommending our resort.

I look forward to opportunity to welcome your return to Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa in the future.

Sincerely,


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Checked in to this hotel from 22/10/12 to 25/10/12. We booked the deluxe room as advised by the good people here and I was amazed by the effort they took to tidy up the room. The view from the balcony with private jacuzzi, great service rendered by every staff there. No regrets booking this hotel.

Do note that the cable lift is part of it's uniqueness although some might bed to differ. I feel that it will be better if they offer more varieties for their breakfast but rest assure that this is not going to be a deal breaker. Have fun and take a look at some of the photos I took while I am there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Swasdee kah khun Ben5252,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It’s nice to know that you’re one of Sea View Lovers.

And million thanks for the amazing photos. I’ve repost it on our facebook and pinterest. Hope you don’t mind. For breakfast, I’ve forwarded your message to Chef and believe that there will be more choices of breakfast served in this November and onwards.

Wish you best luck and hope to welcome you back to KARON PHUNAKA in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went for a 5 day stay at this lovely hotel. We were a bit nervous having never been to Thailand but were so pleasantly surprised! The food in the restaurant was consistently outstanding. We went out twice and found it to be nowehere near as nice and that the prices were the same. The pool has amazing views. The staff are sooooo helpful (we didn't find everyone in Thailand that helpful and pleasant but rather out to get as much money as possible but the hotel wasn't like that at all). The hotel rooms are big and comfortable and have everything you need, incluing very lovely squashy slippers and dressing gowns. The walks around the hotel are steep but we managed fine with a 2 year old and a 6 year old, you jut have to be vigilant near the big slopes but our girls coped fine. Go on a trip to phi phi island, it is completely amazing. The elephants are ok dpending on where you go but beware of companies that offer monkey shows etc as they are horrible! We would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AnnaHK949,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s really nice to hear that you and your family [with the 2 lovely kids :] had good time in Phuket. We are missing your lovely family here. Hope to welcome you back to our resort again next year.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I along with my Sister and her husband stayed here for 5 nights in October. It was the best resort I have ever stayed at! I wish we had of had more time to spend here. The resort is exceptional luxury, everything is modern and clean. Staff are all lovely and incredibly helpfull, nothing was ever a problem! Staff speak english very well and if they weren't sure if they understood you correctly they would ask another staff member to confirm. The pool is amazing! Would love to be back there right now with a mojito from the pool bar made by the wonderful Restaurant Capatian! We stayed in a room with a jacuzi on the balcony which was beautiful and relaxing. Yes the hotel is on a steep hill however but it's not as bad as people seem to make it out to be. Plus you have a choice of a lift, stairs, walk up the hill or get a golf buggy. It never bothered me. Food is excellent and the menu has plenty of options. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious and the restaurant is beautiful. There are shuttes that go to Karon Beach every half hour but we always walked as it's only 5 mins away and the area always felt safe. All in all it was a wonderfull holiday, my only regret is that we allocated only 5 nights there. Will definitely back in the near future!

Room Tip: Buildings 8 or 6 seem to be the best buildings to have a room in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sam W,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. We are really glad that you had a good time during your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. Located in Karon Beach area, this hotel is perfect for an escape from the busy Patong Beach. The elevators which bring you to the room have nice views on the jungle. The staff is very helpful and smiling. The breakfast is a buffet with a cook who can prepare different kind of eggs on demand.
One negative point would be the bathroom which was only 80 % clean.

However, I would recommend this hotel for sure !

Room Tip: My advise is to book a Deluxe Room in which you can have a private Jacuzzi, with a nice view on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alexandre K,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It helps us work with bigger smile.
For cleanliness of the bathroom, housekeeping department has been noted. Indeed, our housekeeping worked very hard, but still the “not 100% unclean look” resulted from tiles glue. Our Engineering is working on this. Thank you very much for your kind comment. Hope to welcome you to our resort again in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We returned to Phuket from Bangkok for a few days of relaxation before we flew back home to Australia. This is definitely the hotel for you if you just want to chill out! It's location is about a 15 minute walk to the beach, or there is a shuttle, though it's only one way. The hotel layout, as a few have mentioned, is quite steep! We needed 2 lifts to get to our room and quite a few stairs. Not the greatest if you have had a long day shopping or at the beach! The room was quite nice though. Limited mini bar which was disappointing, and we ordered some replacements for the pepsi we drank when we arrived and instead of the 60baht listed on the menu, they ended up costing 500. I also had the "do not disturb" sign on the door and housekeeping came banging on the door. Overall, the hotel is beautiful and relaxing, and the staff are very helpful. The view from our room was incredible (room 5105) and the infinity pool is amazing. Wifi is limited to the lobby and pool area, so don't expect it in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Leanne P,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It is glad to know that you like your room, sea view from your room and the infinity swimming pool and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing make us happy working here much more than our guests’ happiness.


And we, included the roomaid, apologized that she interrupted your relaxing time during your stay. She didn’t mean to do that to any of our guests. In that day, she didn’t find “Do Not Disturb” sign card hanging front of your room. We’re really sorry about that. I believe it was blown away from the door. Because our resort located on the hill, the wind is normally blowing all day long slightly or heavier in rainy day/night. And the card is quite not heavy. It was only plastic card. In order not to annoy our guests by mistake again, we have decided to change new Do Not Disturb sign. Thank you very much. Your comment is very useful to us.


For minibar bill, It probably was misunderstood or miscommunication. As I checked the bill in the system, the payment for 5 pepsi x 30 THB each = 150 THB only. But the bill total costs 650 THB which was not for pepsi only. The reservation received your booking through Agoda.com specified that you booked Superior room without Breakfast inclusion. And it was the reason that on your arrival, the reception introduced you special discount coupons for Breakfast and explained that it would cost you 250 THB per person in case you would change your mind to have Breakfast in our restaurant. Out of 2 night stay, you both went to our Breakfast line on second day only and gave the coupons to the Restaurant staff and that was the origin of the 500 THB added to your bill. Somehow, on your check out date, our Reception may not well explain about it. We apologized for this.


For heavy shopping day, we understood that nobody would want to walk more. We wish we knew this during that moment. We have Buggy car that can carry you to your room. It’s another way of transportation within our resort. The Buggy cars are normally parked near of the stairs leading to Front Desk or at front of the lift. If our staffs knew this, we’re pretty sure that they would drive you to your room.


For Wi-Fi service in room, it is in list of our work now. Thank you very much for your comment.

Once again thank you very much for your stay with us. If there is anything we could assist further, we’re more than happy to do it.


With Best Regards,



On behalf of management team

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Address: 22 / 1 Soi Pataksoi 22, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Spa Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.