We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good service and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, good service and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Checked in to this hotel from 22/10/12 to 25/10/12. We booked the deluxe room as advised by the good people here and I was amazed by the effort they took to tidy up the room. The view from the balcony with private jacuzzi, great service rendered by every staff there. No regrets booking this hotel.

Do note that the cable lift is part of it's uniqueness although some might bed to differ. I feel that it will be better if they offer more varieties for their breakfast but rest assure that this is not going to be a deal breaker. Have fun and take a look at some of the photos I took while I am there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Swasdee kah khun Ben5252,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It’s nice to know that you’re one of Sea View Lovers.

And million thanks for the amazing photos. I’ve repost it on our facebook and pinterest. Hope you don’t mind. For breakfast, I’ve forwarded your message to Chef and believe that there will be more choices of breakfast served in this November and onwards.

Wish you best luck and hope to welcome you back to KARON PHUNAKA in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went for a 5 day stay at this lovely hotel. We were a bit nervous having never been to Thailand but were so pleasantly surprised! The food in the restaurant was consistently outstanding. We went out twice and found it to be nowehere near as nice and that the prices were the same. The pool has amazing views. The staff are sooooo helpful (we didn't find everyone in Thailand that helpful and pleasant but rather out to get as much money as possible but the hotel wasn't like that at all). The hotel rooms are big and comfortable and have everything you need, incluing very lovely squashy slippers and dressing gowns. The walks around the hotel are steep but we managed fine with a 2 year old and a 6 year old, you jut have to be vigilant near the big slopes but our girls coped fine. Go on a trip to phi phi island, it is completely amazing. The elephants are ok dpending on where you go but beware of companies that offer monkey shows etc as they are horrible! We would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AnnaHK949,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s really nice to hear that you and your family [with the 2 lovely kids :] had good time in Phuket. We are missing your lovely family here. Hope to welcome you back to our resort again next year.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I along with my Sister and her husband stayed here for 5 nights in October. It was the best resort I have ever stayed at! I wish we had of had more time to spend here. The resort is exceptional luxury, everything is modern and clean. Staff are all lovely and incredibly helpfull, nothing was ever a problem! Staff speak english very well and if they weren't sure if they understood you correctly they would ask another staff member to confirm. The pool is amazing! Would love to be back there right now with a mojito from the pool bar made by the wonderful Restaurant Capatian! We stayed in a room with a jacuzi on the balcony which was beautiful and relaxing. Yes the hotel is on a steep hill however but it's not as bad as people seem to make it out to be. Plus you have a choice of a lift, stairs, walk up the hill or get a golf buggy. It never bothered me. Food is excellent and the menu has plenty of options. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious and the restaurant is beautiful. There are shuttes that go to Karon Beach every half hour but we always walked as it's only 5 mins away and the area always felt safe. All in all it was a wonderfull holiday, my only regret is that we allocated only 5 nights there. Will definitely back in the near future!

Room Tip: Buildings 8 or 6 seem to be the best buildings to have a room in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sam W,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. We are really glad that you had a good time during your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. Located in Karon Beach area, this hotel is perfect for an escape from the busy Patong Beach. The elevators which bring you to the room have nice views on the jungle. The staff is very helpful and smiling. The breakfast is a buffet with a cook who can prepare different kind of eggs on demand.
One negative point would be the bathroom which was only 80 % clean.

However, I would recommend this hotel for sure !

Room Tip: My advise is to book a Deluxe Room in which you can have a private Jacuzzi, with a nice view on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alexandre K,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It helps us work with bigger smile.
For cleanliness of the bathroom, housekeeping department has been noted. Indeed, our housekeeping worked very hard, but still the “not 100% unclean look” resulted from tiles glue. Our Engineering is working on this. Thank you very much for your kind comment. Hope to welcome you to our resort again in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We returned to Phuket from Bangkok for a few days of relaxation before we flew back home to Australia. This is definitely the hotel for you if you just want to chill out! It's location is about a 15 minute walk to the beach, or there is a shuttle, though it's only one way. The hotel layout, as a few have mentioned, is quite steep! We needed 2 lifts to get to our room and quite a few stairs. Not the greatest if you have had a long day shopping or at the beach! The room was quite nice though. Limited mini bar which was disappointing, and we ordered some replacements for the pepsi we drank when we arrived and instead of the 60baht listed on the menu, they ended up costing 500. I also had the "do not disturb" sign on the door and housekeeping came banging on the door. Overall, the hotel is beautiful and relaxing, and the staff are very helpful. The view from our room was incredible (room 5105) and the infinity pool is amazing. Wifi is limited to the lobby and pool area, so don't expect it in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Leanne P,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It is glad to know that you like your room, sea view from your room and the infinity swimming pool and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing make us happy working here much more than our guests’ happiness.


And we, included the roomaid, apologized that she interrupted your relaxing time during your stay. She didn’t mean to do that to any of our guests. In that day, she didn’t find “Do Not Disturb” sign card hanging front of your room. We’re really sorry about that. I believe it was blown away from the door. Because our resort located on the hill, the wind is normally blowing all day long slightly or heavier in rainy day/night. And the card is quite not heavy. It was only plastic card. In order not to annoy our guests by mistake again, we have decided to change new Do Not Disturb sign. Thank you very much. Your comment is very useful to us.


For minibar bill, It probably was misunderstood or miscommunication. As I checked the bill in the system, the payment for 5 pepsi x 30 THB each = 150 THB only. But the bill total costs 650 THB which was not for pepsi only. The reservation received your booking through Agoda.com specified that you booked Superior room without Breakfast inclusion. And it was the reason that on your arrival, the reception introduced you special discount coupons for Breakfast and explained that it would cost you 250 THB per person in case you would change your mind to have Breakfast in our restaurant. Out of 2 night stay, you both went to our Breakfast line on second day only and gave the coupons to the Restaurant staff and that was the origin of the 500 THB added to your bill. Somehow, on your check out date, our Reception may not well explain about it. We apologized for this.


For heavy shopping day, we understood that nobody would want to walk more. We wish we knew this during that moment. We have Buggy car that can carry you to your room. It’s another way of transportation within our resort. The Buggy cars are normally parked near of the stairs leading to Front Desk or at front of the lift. If our staffs knew this, we’re pretty sure that they would drive you to your room.


For Wi-Fi service in room, it is in list of our work now. Thank you very much for your comment.

Once again thank you very much for your stay with us. If there is anything we could assist further, we’re more than happy to do it.


With Best Regards,



On behalf of management team

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This was the worse choice ever. The location is ouful, no wifi in the rooms, insects everywhere. Staff in the restaurant doesn't speak English at all. The elevator got out of order twise during our stay. And the design of elevators are miserable, you have to take first one to first floor then another one to the rest 4 floors, then use stairs. Toilet design is so bad there is no washing tube for it! And more worse for bath design, the shower is separated from the banio, you have to go out of bath to take shower. There is no water free in the rooms! No tea or coffee for free as well. Towels smells so bad... Everything was 000 , maybe the only advantage is the pool location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mkarshuli,


Thank you for posting your review which is not the norm that we get comments like this from our customers comparing to the last 20 other reviews here.

We investigated your stay seriously and found that you booked our resort via one of the best online booking website- Booking.com, very well presenting our resort that it is occupied a prime location on Naka Mountain, offering panoramic ocean and forest views…..Karon Beach is a 15-minute walk away. It is a 50-minute drive from Phuket International Airport.

By the well design of the webpage, I was convinced that everybody could read this information before they selected us as their vacation destination. If you don’t like a unique designed resort- nestling on a mountain, offering expansive turquoise sea view, a lush green forest view and a quiet ambience, certainly we are not your best choice.

And it is also informative on Booking.com in Facilities section that “Free Wired internet is available in the hotel rooms and is free of charge”. It’s vividly noticeable that we don’t provide free Wi-Fi in room.

Anyhow, we don’t against Wi-Fi and realized that it is very important to people nowadays. So we installed free Wi-Fi signal at swimming pool and Lobby area since the beginning of this year and we can see that our customers have been enjoying this service very much. And we still move on improvement, we have installed Wi-Fi in some of our deluxe rooms already and will keep working on this until every room gets Free Wi-Fi available.

For insects, we have pest control services weekly provided by the registered company. Anyhow insects would annoy those who keep terrace slide doors open at night because lighting [in room] naturally attracts insects to visit and/or for those who bring food to eat in room and leave leftover in room overnight without well re-pack.

Our elevator is a cable lift which you will not find anywhere else in Karon. It is mostly used in hotels on mountain in Europe and some Asian countries like Singapore and China. And as it mechanic nature, to get on a cable lift, our customers will take a regular elevator which take times about 15 seconds up onto the cable lift station.

And I apologized if our elevator went out of order twice during your stay. We didn’t receive this complaint from you during your stay, and neither from other customers staying in our resort same period and the cable lift is currently well operating, our engineers didn’t find any technical failure reported.

And when I read your comment about bathtub and shower, it is quite not the norm to us. All of customers I talked to prefer bathtub and shower separated bathroom.

Bathtub that attached to shower that you said it would be better may not be comfort for bathing. You have to stand in the tub while you’re showering or if you use the tub for bathing, another person have to wait until the water drained off and climb the tub to get shower. Normally only budget hotel will provide bathtub and shower combination because of budget and limited space of bathroom. Sometimes we find that some people have their own taste. But I see no point of disadvantage to have bathtub and shower separated.

And certainly, as per our standard we provide no charge water, tea and coffee maker in room. The 2 well packed water bottles with 1 ½ inches size sticker writing “with complement” in the room means “it is free”

We provide it for free 2 bottles daily. But we found that you didn’t touch it until your check out date. In contrast, the Evain mineral water bottle which is in minibar list at a cost was empty and the plastic bottle was found in the garbage bin in your room. As we did clarify the price in the list putting in front of the television in the room, our reception gave the bill of Evain miniral water to you when you check out, but it was refused to pay with the reason that you said you didn’t drink it.

For coffee and tea, it is provided for free, well packed in the wooden box in your room, just next to the LCD television. If you open the box, you will see it.

For towels, it is changed new every day unless guests who want to re-use it as per our environment friendly campaign. And your towel was the same quality we gave to other customers stay in our resort. It was cleaned by well founded laundry company. The cleaning process includes Towel Sterilizer which needs very less sun light. It is almost impossible to have bad smell left on our towels. We never received complaint about its smell and cleanliness before. And as I checked, its smell was good. As we didn’t receive new towel ordering from you, we didn’t know that you have the problem during your stay.

We apologize that our service was not live up to your expectation. Anyhow, in some points of your opinions, I was not convinced and looking at the other reviews, surely there are more than 10 reasons to stay at Karon Phunaka.



With Best Regards,



Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

did a quick 4 day getaway after bkk and chiangmai. found karonphunaka. i like that it has seaview rooms exclusively. i like that its not right on the beach (traffic noise, hawkers etc). rooms are top notch...very 5star-like. very decent tub and generous bathroom. however the layout is not for everyone. its hillside location makes for beautiful layout but stairs, stairs, stairs everywhere. there is a cog-rail sort of elevator which is slow, but frankly if youre here you need to throttle back a gear or two anyway. if youre wanting to go full throttle, you need to be at patong beach, not karon.

i have cardiac issues but do just fine, however, if you are mobility limited, this may not be the place for you. also, if you think youre going to dash in, dash out to/from your room all day....think again. we rented a jeep and leave in the morning to explore, hang out at all the beaches on the island, shop etc etc and find this a great place to start and end our day.

the restaurant is quite passable with a little bit of everything available. lamb chops were pretty good and caesar salad, while not earth shattering, was pretty decent. the help really care and do try to make your stay a nice one.

i heartily recommend this as a great couples retreat sort of place...romantic, spa-like anbiance at a really competitive price. we loved ending the day looking at the sea with cocktail in hand before heading down the cogway to the restaurant

Room Tip: i think room 5210 will be a real winner with 2way sea views...but any of the 52XX rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Rileysfromcolorado,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay at KARON PHUNAKA. We’re glad to hear that you like Andaman Sea View from our resort. We will keep up our good work to maintain our standard for better service to our customers. Thank you very much for your recommendation. Hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the future.

With Best Regards,

On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Address: 22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Spa Hotel in Karon
#20 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.