We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I along with my Sister and her husband stayed here for 5 nights in October. It was the best resort I have ever stayed at! I wish we had of had more time to spend here. The resort is exceptional luxury, everything is modern and clean. Staff are all lovely and incredibly helpfull, nothing was ever a problem! Staff speak english very well and if they weren't sure if they understood you correctly they would ask another staff member to confirm. The pool is amazing! Would love to be back there right now with a mojito from the pool bar made by the wonderful Restaurant Capatian! We stayed in a room with a jacuzi on the balcony which was beautiful and relaxing. Yes the hotel is on a steep hill however but it's not as bad as people seem to make it out to be. Plus you have a choice of a lift, stairs, walk up the hill or get a golf buggy. It never bothered me. Food is excellent and the menu has plenty of options. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious and the restaurant is beautiful. There are shuttes that go to Karon Beach every half hour but we always walked as it's only 5 mins away and the area always felt safe. All in all it was a wonderfull holiday, my only regret is that we allocated only 5 nights there. Will definitely back in the near future!

Room Tip: Buildings 8 or 6 seem to be the best buildings to have a room in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sam W,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. We are really glad that you had a good time during your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. Located in Karon Beach area, this hotel is perfect for an escape from the busy Patong Beach. The elevators which bring you to the room have nice views on the jungle. The staff is very helpful and smiling. The breakfast is a buffet with a cook who can prepare different kind of eggs on demand.
One negative point would be the bathroom which was only 80 % clean.

However, I would recommend this hotel for sure !

Room Tip: My advise is to book a Deluxe Room in which you can have a private Jacuzzi, with a nice view on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alexandre K,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It helps us work with bigger smile.
For cleanliness of the bathroom, housekeeping department has been noted. Indeed, our housekeeping worked very hard, but still the “not 100% unclean look” resulted from tiles glue. Our Engineering is working on this. Thank you very much for your kind comment. Hope to welcome you to our resort again in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of management


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We returned to Phuket from Bangkok for a few days of relaxation before we flew back home to Australia. This is definitely the hotel for you if you just want to chill out! It's location is about a 15 minute walk to the beach, or there is a shuttle, though it's only one way. The hotel layout, as a few have mentioned, is quite steep! We needed 2 lifts to get to our room and quite a few stairs. Not the greatest if you have had a long day shopping or at the beach! The room was quite nice though. Limited mini bar which was disappointing, and we ordered some replacements for the pepsi we drank when we arrived and instead of the 60baht listed on the menu, they ended up costing 500. I also had the "do not disturb" sign on the door and housekeeping came banging on the door. Overall, the hotel is beautiful and relaxing, and the staff are very helpful. The view from our room was incredible (room 5105) and the infinity pool is amazing. Wifi is limited to the lobby and pool area, so don't expect it in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Leanne P,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It is glad to know that you like your room, sea view from your room and the infinity swimming pool and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing make us happy working here much more than our guests’ happiness.


And we, included the roomaid, apologized that she interrupted your relaxing time during your stay. She didn’t mean to do that to any of our guests. In that day, she didn’t find “Do Not Disturb” sign card hanging front of your room. We’re really sorry about that. I believe it was blown away from the door. Because our resort located on the hill, the wind is normally blowing all day long slightly or heavier in rainy day/night. And the card is quite not heavy. It was only plastic card. In order not to annoy our guests by mistake again, we have decided to change new Do Not Disturb sign. Thank you very much. Your comment is very useful to us.


For minibar bill, It probably was misunderstood or miscommunication. As I checked the bill in the system, the payment for 5 pepsi x 30 THB each = 150 THB only. But the bill total costs 650 THB which was not for pepsi only. The reservation received your booking through Agoda.com specified that you booked Superior room without Breakfast inclusion. And it was the reason that on your arrival, the reception introduced you special discount coupons for Breakfast and explained that it would cost you 250 THB per person in case you would change your mind to have Breakfast in our restaurant. Out of 2 night stay, you both went to our Breakfast line on second day only and gave the coupons to the Restaurant staff and that was the origin of the 500 THB added to your bill. Somehow, on your check out date, our Reception may not well explain about it. We apologized for this.


For heavy shopping day, we understood that nobody would want to walk more. We wish we knew this during that moment. We have Buggy car that can carry you to your room. It’s another way of transportation within our resort. The Buggy cars are normally parked near of the stairs leading to Front Desk or at front of the lift. If our staffs knew this, we’re pretty sure that they would drive you to your room.


For Wi-Fi service in room, it is in list of our work now. Thank you very much for your comment.

Once again thank you very much for your stay with us. If there is anything we could assist further, we’re more than happy to do it.


With Best Regards,



On behalf of management team

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This was the worse choice ever. The location is ouful, no wifi in the rooms, insects everywhere. Staff in the restaurant doesn't speak English at all. The elevator got out of order twise during our stay. And the design of elevators are miserable, you have to take first one to first floor then another one to the rest 4 floors, then use stairs. Toilet design is so bad there is no washing tube for it! And more worse for bath design, the shower is separated from the banio, you have to go out of bath to take shower. There is no water free in the rooms! No tea or coffee for free as well. Towels smells so bad... Everything was 000 , maybe the only advantage is the pool location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Management Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mkarshuli,


Thank you for posting your review which is not the norm that we get comments like this from our customers comparing to the last 20 other reviews here.

We investigated your stay seriously and found that you booked our resort via one of the best online booking website- Booking.com, very well presenting our resort that it is occupied a prime location on Naka Mountain, offering panoramic ocean and forest views…..Karon Beach is a 15-minute walk away. It is a 50-minute drive from Phuket International Airport.

By the well design of the webpage, I was convinced that everybody could read this information before they selected us as their vacation destination. If you don’t like a unique designed resort- nestling on a mountain, offering expansive turquoise sea view, a lush green forest view and a quiet ambience, certainly we are not your best choice.

And it is also informative on Booking.com in Facilities section that “Free Wired internet is available in the hotel rooms and is free of charge”. It’s vividly noticeable that we don’t provide free Wi-Fi in room.

Anyhow, we don’t against Wi-Fi and realized that it is very important to people nowadays. So we installed free Wi-Fi signal at swimming pool and Lobby area since the beginning of this year and we can see that our customers have been enjoying this service very much. And we still move on improvement, we have installed Wi-Fi in some of our deluxe rooms already and will keep working on this until every room gets Free Wi-Fi available.

For insects, we have pest control services weekly provided by the registered company. Anyhow insects would annoy those who keep terrace slide doors open at night because lighting [in room] naturally attracts insects to visit and/or for those who bring food to eat in room and leave leftover in room overnight without well re-pack.

Our elevator is a cable lift which you will not find anywhere else in Karon. It is mostly used in hotels on mountain in Europe and some Asian countries like Singapore and China. And as it mechanic nature, to get on a cable lift, our customers will take a regular elevator which take times about 15 seconds up onto the cable lift station.

And I apologized if our elevator went out of order twice during your stay. We didn’t receive this complaint from you during your stay, and neither from other customers staying in our resort same period and the cable lift is currently well operating, our engineers didn’t find any technical failure reported.

And when I read your comment about bathtub and shower, it is quite not the norm to us. All of customers I talked to prefer bathtub and shower separated bathroom.

Bathtub that attached to shower that you said it would be better may not be comfort for bathing. You have to stand in the tub while you’re showering or if you use the tub for bathing, another person have to wait until the water drained off and climb the tub to get shower. Normally only budget hotel will provide bathtub and shower combination because of budget and limited space of bathroom. Sometimes we find that some people have their own taste. But I see no point of disadvantage to have bathtub and shower separated.

And certainly, as per our standard we provide no charge water, tea and coffee maker in room. The 2 well packed water bottles with 1 ½ inches size sticker writing “with complement” in the room means “it is free”

We provide it for free 2 bottles daily. But we found that you didn’t touch it until your check out date. In contrast, the Evain mineral water bottle which is in minibar list at a cost was empty and the plastic bottle was found in the garbage bin in your room. As we did clarify the price in the list putting in front of the television in the room, our reception gave the bill of Evain miniral water to you when you check out, but it was refused to pay with the reason that you said you didn’t drink it.

For coffee and tea, it is provided for free, well packed in the wooden box in your room, just next to the LCD television. If you open the box, you will see it.

For towels, it is changed new every day unless guests who want to re-use it as per our environment friendly campaign. And your towel was the same quality we gave to other customers stay in our resort. It was cleaned by well founded laundry company. The cleaning process includes Towel Sterilizer which needs very less sun light. It is almost impossible to have bad smell left on our towels. We never received complaint about its smell and cleanliness before. And as I checked, its smell was good. As we didn’t receive new towel ordering from you, we didn’t know that you have the problem during your stay.

We apologize that our service was not live up to your expectation. Anyhow, in some points of your opinions, I was not convinced and looking at the other reviews, surely there are more than 10 reasons to stay at Karon Phunaka.



With Best Regards,



Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

did a quick 4 day getaway after bkk and chiangmai. found karonphunaka. i like that it has seaview rooms exclusively. i like that its not right on the beach (traffic noise, hawkers etc). rooms are top notch...very 5star-like. very decent tub and generous bathroom. however the layout is not for everyone. its hillside location makes for beautiful layout but stairs, stairs, stairs everywhere. there is a cog-rail sort of elevator which is slow, but frankly if youre here you need to throttle back a gear or two anyway. if youre wanting to go full throttle, you need to be at patong beach, not karon.

i have cardiac issues but do just fine, however, if you are mobility limited, this may not be the place for you. also, if you think youre going to dash in, dash out to/from your room all day....think again. we rented a jeep and leave in the morning to explore, hang out at all the beaches on the island, shop etc etc and find this a great place to start and end our day.

the restaurant is quite passable with a little bit of everything available. lamb chops were pretty good and caesar salad, while not earth shattering, was pretty decent. the help really care and do try to make your stay a nice one.

i heartily recommend this as a great couples retreat sort of place...romantic, spa-like anbiance at a really competitive price. we loved ending the day looking at the sea with cocktail in hand before heading down the cogway to the restaurant

Room Tip: i think room 5210 will be a real winner with 2way sea views...but any of the 52XX rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, management team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Rileysfromcolorado,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay at KARON PHUNAKA. We’re glad to hear that you like Andaman Sea View from our resort. We will keep up our good work to maintain our standard for better service to our customers. Thank you very much for your recommendation. Hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the future.

With Best Regards,

On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Date of Stay: July 2012
Room Type: Deluxe Room

Hotel Phunaka is located away from the street that run along the Karon Beach. It is located quiet some distance off a more "inland" street, which is also rather populated by restaurants and Marts. Guest will have to take a rather long walk (approx 10 min out) from the hotel, which is located on a hill, to the inland street. It'll take a good 15 mins to reach the Karon Beach.
However, the hotel offers one way shutle down to Karon Beach on a half hourly basis up till 1500 local time. Going back will have to be by Tuk-tuk, taxi, or walking.


Good:
Great Views - You'll see the sea, the Karon area and Kata from far. Saw fireworks at night in Kata, the view was amazing at night or in the day.
Friendly Staff - Staff is always friendly, especially so for the security guard. Always rendering help when I park my motorcycle within the premises of the hotel.
Breakfast - Decent spread, and the person manning the egg station was great and friendly.
Pool - Great pool with great views... a relaxing dip especially after a hot tan at the beach
Jacuzzi - Jacuzzi at your own balcony.. how convienent can it be? Great views to go along with it too.

Not-so-Good
Distance to the beach and the main road - It's quite a distance, especially under the sun
Bed - a little too hard compared to my previous hotel @ kata
Little and not so little creepy crawlers - Saw a couple of bugs in my balcony and a rather big spider (Fist-size) just by my bed on my 2nd night

Overall-
It's quite a nice experience, would recommend it to friends. Obviously a great choice for view lovers, and friendly staff are always there to help (help with fixing the jacuzzi and clear the spider away)

Tip:
If you're as lazy as I am... you can rent a motorbike just outside the hotel. However, be warned that it's going to cost double the price you are going to get out at the main street. But, that said, it's just approx US 12 dollars a day with gas. It does saves you time going out and back to the main street, the beach, or even a ride to Kata or Patong.

Room Tip: Choose Building 8 or 7. Preferbly corner room for sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Managemenet Team at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear wsinsw,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. I believe it’s truly useful for other customers.

And please apologize that I reply your review quite late. After we received your comment about the spider, we seriously sought for more. And to be honest, we found another one in our resort after you checked out.

According to our study, the big spider that you found in our resort can also be found throughout Africa, large parts of Asia and all over Australia. In Europe, there are some species in Spain, Portugal, Turkey, Italy, and in Cyprus. The sizes range from as small as a fingernail to as big as a dinner plate. Depending on the species, the body length of them ranges from 2.5 to 10 centimetres (1 to 4 in), with 8–30-centimetre (3–12 in) leg spans

Anyhow, most of them are harmless to humans, and some species are popular in the exotic pet trade. It’s also very popular meal in our neighbor country; Cambodia in Kampong Cham. CNN reported about this before.

Up until now, it’s been 4 months since we found the couple of the spiders. And we never find any of them again. We believe that they were a new couple, just moved in our resort area before your stay. Now we’re sure that there were only 2 of them and we had moved them to live in appropriate place far away from our resort. Once again, thank you very much for your comment.


With Best Regards,



On behalf of management

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grace, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Phunaka is located on a steep incline which is perfect for the lovely views, serene setting and relaxing and quiet location. It is only a 5 minute walk from the shops - not far at all. Umbrellas are provided in the room to keep you dry if it rains - very handy.
The staff are very friendly and willing to assist with queries/questions.
The room was large, spacious and comfortable and clean.
The breakfast buffet was very extensive and there is something for everyone - the chef makes omelettes to order - yum.
I emailed before our arrival and reception arranged for a pick up from the airport - it was about an hour away ( less or more depending on traffic) and it was very convenient having this organised for us.
The pool area is clean - tidy and has an amazing view.
All in all a wonderful place to stay for a proper holiday to get away from everything and relax yet close enough to walk to the local restaurants and shops. It was about a 10 min tuk tuk ride to Patong. We would much prefer to stay in Karon as it is away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, things seem to be less expensive and the local people are friendlier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Nadene O,


Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our resort. It’s really nice to know that you’re also Andaman Sea View lover and that our team took a good care of you during your stay with us. Your review has been forwarded to every unit that you mentioned above. And I believe that it must make them working with greater happiness. Thank you very much for your stay with us. And wish you have amazing and enjoyable vacation wherever you go. And hope you come back to stay with us again in the future.


With Best Regards,


On behalf of Karon Phunaka management and staffs


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Address: 22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.