We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New & Clean Hotel on Karon Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   188/5 Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 69 hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New & Clean Hotel on Karon Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights with kids and found the location just right. Beach is just across the road and lot of eateries around. Would recommend for any travelers looking for good value.

Room Tip: Look for Pool facing room in Tower 4 or Sea facing ones in Tower 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Sarawak
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We booked this hotel via booking.com. We paid for two family rooms with 3pax icon online, which is supposingly meant that it's a room for 3pax. We also view the rooms at the online gallery, which the picture shows a queen bed and a single bed in each room. When we check in to the hotel on 23rd April 2012, we were asked to pay for the extra bed in the room. I argue with the reception that my booking is for 3pax to a room, but was yell at by the receptionist who insisted that we pay for the extra pax. Too tired to further argue, knowing that's it's not helping, I unhappily paid the extra. At first, the receptionist assign a deluxe room to us but I insisted I want the family room since we already paid for it. Then she just walked off, luckily one receptionist by the name Michelle came to attend to us and assign the family rooms to us. When we went to the room we found that the room contain one queen size bed and one single bed. The question now is, why do I have to pay for the extra bed when it's already there and it's a family room. The reception pointed out that the problem lies with booking.com for misleading us on the booking. We then the following days have problem with the cleanliness in our rooms, service from housekeeping was bad, and so is the cleanliness of the breakfast tables each morning. Waiters at the breakfast rooms point to the place where the forks and spoons were kept rather then to bring it to you, etc. Won't come back again. For the extras that I've been force to pay for the extra beds in each room, the rate for the rooms were not cheap!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and if you are looking for quieter location away from the madness of Patong beach then Karon beach is a good spot.
Patong beach is less than a 10 minute (100 Baht) cab ride down the road and the area around the hotel has enough in the way of restaurants, shopping and bars to keep you interested.
The Hotel itself is in 2 wings with the older area at the rear and the newer building at the front closer to the beach.
The beach is only a few minutes walk away being almost across the road from the newer front section of the hotel.
There is street next door to the hotel which has several restaurants and massage places which is quite handy and also a decent small market for shopping just up the street.
The rooms in the new hotel section were quite nice, not very big but nicely decorated, clean and have a safety box fitted in the room which is always handy for your valuables.
Breakfast is served on the roof area near the roof top pool and is the usual Thai hotel breakfast but they do cook a good omelette.
If you mange to get the rooms at a discounted price (check Agoda) then they represent good value for what you get.
This would be a good area for families since it is a little quieter and less crowded than Patong beach however the beach may not be the best place for very small children as there are signs posted that warn swimmers of the rips and currents in that area.
Overall a decent hotel with nice rooms and good friendly staff and I would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms do have small balconys and the south side of the hotel may be a little cooler in summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Staying at Bauman Casa was quite okay. It was the only hotel here at Karon beach, which offered free internet. To my surprise to be honest I have gotten a good roomrate on walkin basis.

On booking.com the price was about 999 Baht, yet I paid only very little more at the counter. The staff was nice, the breakfast was okay and the rooms are clean. The hotel has a good location and is only a few meters away from the beach. There is still some construction work going on in the next building, but that didn't really hurt me.

I was happy to stay at Bauman Casa and yes, I would do it again. You get all the basics for a good price. Just do not expect some kind of resort, when you are not willing to pay much. People always tend to have high expectations and complain about everything, but if looking at the price you already know that you cannot expect a Bentley pickup service.

Room Tip: small balcony (2 seats), cable television with many foreign channels (russian, germany, italian etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 6-week trip around SE Asia. After the 2 night stay, we loved it so much that we stayed for another 2 nights. A few weeks after this stay, we had some extra time in our travel schedule, so we elected to come back here and stay for 5 more nights.

There's so much to say about this hotel:

- The staff are very friendly and helpful.
- The rooftop pool is relaxing and the view is great. They keep the pool at a perfect temperature, not too cold, not too hot. (Beach towels are provided)
- Happy hour at the rooftop pool. Buy 1 get 2, most mixed drinks are around $2.50 each during this promotion.
- Free wifi (some rooms you can't get access inside, but the computers in the lobby are usually available and fast)
- Breakfast is pretty good. There's a variety of foods (eggs and sausage for Westerners, salad and noodle/rice dishes for Asians, and lots of fresh fruits and pastries) and the coffee is pretty decent too.
- Massage parlor down the street. They knew us by name after our stay there and welcomed us back when we returned the 2nd time.
- Beach is literally a stone's throw away. Just have to cross a road, but its not terribly busy.
- Fitness center with great views of the sea. Treadmills, bikes, cross-trainers, and free weights.
- Lots of cheap shopping and restaurants nearby within easy walking distance.

Karon Beach is the ideal location for someone interested in enjoying the sun, beach, and some shopping (couples and families). If you are into the partying/clubbing scene, you might be better served to stay somewhere in Pattong Beach. There is much more nightlife there.

The rooms are clean and very modern. Free bottles of water every day and a pretty good minibar. Staying at Baumancasa was truly the highlight of our trip and we will not hesitate to tell everyone we know who is visiting Phuket to make sure to stop by here.

Room Tip: During the off-season, use booking.com for reservations. We spent B999 a night vs B1199 at the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We arrived there with a reccomondation of someone at the airport and didn't hope for much, but it was the best hotel we stayed at during our trip in Thailand! Clean, close to the beach, free wifi and free computers to use at the front desk. Great breakfast, great room, great swimming pool, freindly staff and all in all, just a causy nice place to stay in. I would defently recomnd it to people who look for quite peacefull place and a nice room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights, a very very clean hotel! Just next to the old Phuket hotel. Very near to karon beach about 1minute walk. A lot of restaurant beside the hotel only about 2 to 3 minutes walk. It is quite a new hotel so u can tell the taxi drive it is just next to old Phuket hotel. Overall it worth the price

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort

Address: 188/5 Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.