We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manohra Cozy Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Manohra Cozy Resort to your Saves list
Manohra Cozy Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Soi Patak 16, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Hillside Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Contact us for a 10% off!
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Karon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very quiet and nice resort surrounded by green, 10 minutes walk from the centre. Big and clean rooms, very kind and helpful staff even becouse i speak englis a little bit. The swimming pool is great. VERY VERY GOOD, THANK YOU VERY BIG.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    43
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
57
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my bf in december 2014 for 4 nights. I arrived by myself extremly late at night 1 night before my bf arrived to Thailand and thankfully I had emailed the reception staff prior to my arrival and asked someone be present when I arrived and sure enough there was someone there! And quickly checked me in.

Our next 3 nights were great here. Friendly staff. Very nice clean and fairly large rooms. Very nice bathroom and super large. Also the pool was clean and wonderful. The breakfast sucked. But thats a given in Thailand. There is a little Thai restaurant next door to this hoe down the walkway that sells extremely good and cheap thai food.

This hotel i would not recommend for people who are walking and not renting motorbikes. Its a good distance from Karon Beach and all the main shopping and eatng. Fine to walk once in a while but could be annoying everyday. It is a solid 15min before you hit the busy areas. But still very doable.

We had a great stay here for the price we paid. No means a 5 star resort but a very satisfying 3 star for sure.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked into Manohra on 5th Jan 2015 for 5 nights having researched descriptions and photos of this hotel
Having arrived to check in the female member of staff seemed polite and showed us to our room which was although an acceptable size room was basic.
As one evening there was a tropical downpour we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. I have never seen such a limited menu, which included NO thai dishes only pizza burger fries etc.
Needless to say we didn't eat at the hotel.
We stayed in a room two doors away from reception and every time their phone rang throughout the night several times it sounds as though it was actually our room phone ringing. Needless to say sleep at the Manohra was constantly interrupted
On the morning of day 4 there was no water until after 10am, affecting everything from sink to being unable to flush the toilet and awful sewer smell around the place.
The morning we were leaving (at 6am for a 9hour journey) again the water was non existent.
We were offered 2 small buckets of water as an alternative for two females needing to wash hair etc this of course was completely unreasonable.

Staff were rude an unhelpful and had trouble understanding basic question such as food menu etc. One male member of staff who dealt with us on the morning of our departure however was apologetic and after much deliberation we received acceptable compensation for our troubles. He the only one who seemed to have any decent customer service skills I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioPhuket, Owner at Manohra Cozy Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Customer I want to thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I would like to clarify some points you have mentioned on your review, please have a look at the following:

You booked 5 nights(5-10 January 2015) during the peak season in Phuket, the price you paid was 1,600 THB(special offer last minute) which is equal to 32 pound/night, your room size 45 m2( with bath tube), I just want to ask….Is the size only acceptable? Would you like to make a comparison with the 4-5 stars hotels nearby where you could get a 35 -37m2 room with a price of 8.000 THB/night? Or do you prefer to make a comparison with the 3 stars hotel/guest-house nearby where you could get a 28-30 M2 room, with not bath tube and at more expensive price than us?

Regarding our Italian restaurant, would you be so kind to specify what is limited menu? You mean limited because we do not serve Thai food? Did you try to go to eat to any Thai restaurant and ask for western food and you can not get it? Is this limited too? I guess you should focus in which kind of food you are planning to eat first and then choose the proper restaurant…Please note that we do not serve pizza so I do not know if you really pay attention to all the food we have in our menu….

Regarding the water missing I apologize for that, we had a problem with the water supply system which we fixed in 1 hour time, I apologize again for the problem occurred,. To justify this miss-service, as you mentioned, we refund the cost of 1 night , so totally you have paid 128 pound for 5 days staying!!26 pound/night!!!

You said that our staff was rude and not able to understand basic question, please note that our staff is from Thailand, they are not English Native, so you could understand that if you talk with them with your English slang it would be very hard to understand what you are saying, with a little more patience from your side for sure they could have understood you. So you defined our staff as unhelpful and rude because they were not able to understand you?...it does not make sense

And now we arrive at the main point….the morning you left, because no water available, you came to the reception and you start offending the male member of our staff, sorry but I want to ask if it is the right way to behave…offending people(you clearly said few times F****K YOU to the male member of the stuff threatening him)…You should respect other people especially when they have different culture….

So I would like to use your same words: this behavior is COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!!!In this case what you said was easily understandable by our staff!!!This is RUDE!!

Thanks

Best regards

Owner Manohra Cozy Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 12 nights in December 2014, I cannot fault this hotel, it was clean, nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and ideally placed far enough from town that it was peaceful yet only a 10 minute walk or two minutes on a moped or tuk tuk taxi.

Upon arrival, which was in the morning we were shown to our room which was already prepared, the rooms are very spacious and clean and we had a small patio area near to the pool. The whole hotel has free wifi which worked well all of the time.

Breakfast is served until quite late and is a selection of fruits, cooked eggs if you want and the normal meats and cereals all adequate.

The pool area is nice and there is a pool bar and restaurant, the staff at the bar are really friendly and helpful and the bar is open until 9pm, although you may use the pool at anytime.

We dined at the restaurant a few times and if I have one negative thing to say it would be that the menu doesn't look that good, they should take some new photos as the food was much better than expected having looked at the pictures on the menu.

The hotel can also arrange moped hire, trips and airport transfers. You may find these a little cheaper if you shop around but the difference is negligible and it is much more convenient using the hotel to sort these things out.

We will be returning to Phuket next year and even though there are hundreds of hotels,to choose from we will go back to Manohra.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked similar, if you have one near the pool it would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel accepts credit cards, though you have pay more (about 3%) for the transaction. It wasn't mentioned on the page. There is a standard buffet for a breakfast. The rooms are located in the main building and in a row house. We were staying in the row house.

Room Tip: Recommend to stay in the row house rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioPhuket, Owner at Manohra Cozy Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Customer

I want to thank you for the nice review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I would like to clarify some points you have mentioned on your review, please have a look at the following:

You have been stayed at our resort 2 days, the total amount for 2 nights breakfast included was 1,625 thb/night, which is less than 50 usd/night. You have been with us during the high season, considering that your stay was good (as you mentioned) and all the service we offer, sorry but i think you should have said at least that you paid for your nice staying.

Regarding the 3% commission(BANK COMMISSION) on credit card, we give the opportunity to our guest to choose the payment method such us cash(in this case there are not bank commission involved) or credit card.
I clearly remember that we spoke about this commission and based on your night extension(i gave you a special price in order to make you happy..30% off based on our normal rate) the TOTAL BANK COMMISSION 40THB=1,20 USD, you even got a 30% OFF!!!!!!!
Please i kindly ask you next time to mention all the information, not only what is on your side!!!

Thanks again for staying with us, hope to accommodate you again!!

Manohra Cozy Resort Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We book 5 night.Location is excellent with a great view from the swimmingpool area can see the sunset.
Hotel is new and clean.Rooms are very big for the price we pay.
Staff is very friendly and the owner is very helpfull to give us all tips about food and place to visit.
We spent a good holidays..thank you so much.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during November and have fallen in love with the place.
The rooms were clean and very spacious with fresh towels and bedding everyday, I especially loved the bath which I used a couple of times as it was big so you could really stretch out.
The pool area was also very clean and a really good place to relax there was no noise and watching the dragonflies hovering over the pool was beautiful.
The buffet breakfast was also more than satisfying the omelettes were especially good.
Staff at the hotel are fantastic and can't do enough to help on our last day we checked out at 12pm but were given use of a shower fresh towels, shampoo, shower gel and even a hair dryer to use a sour taxi to the airport wasn't until 9pm that evening.
The hotel is in a good. position close enough to walk into karon or kata beach .
One of the ladies in the hotel is a spectacular painter and you can see her paintings in every room in the hotel, which we thought made the rooms that little bit more cost.
All in all the Manohra is a perfect hotel and we are looking to visit Thailand again in April 2015 staying here for the whole visit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manohra Cozy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manohra Cozy Resort

Address: 10 Soi Patak 16, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Hillside Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#16 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manohra Cozy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karon Hillside Hotel, Phuket comprises 29 luxury guestrooms in Two distinctive wings the Main Hotel Wing: which features spacious rooms with enclosed balconies, the Garden Wing: where each room has a patio where you can sit and enjoy a cold drink in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manohra Cozy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manohra Cozy Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manohra Cozy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.