We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Karon
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great start to our honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We booked this hotel because of it beach location and good amenities. Other reviewers had commented on a poor check in but we had no problem with this. The receptionists English was a little broken but we were well able to understand.
We had a lovely room - ocean view with a jacuuzi on the balcony. The bed was huge because they had joined 2 single beds together (not v romantic ha ha ) so they had to use 2 double duvets to cover it.
Breakfast was great - a huge variety for every nationality. There were lots of pool areas with plenty of beds however with the layout of the resort and beds few beds naturally have the sun throughout the day. There were quite a lot of small children there but not enough to bother us. There's also an adult pool for those that don't want the noise of children around them. There was a good variety of snacks on the poolside menu but, as expected with a large resort, it is quite pricey in comparison to the town.
We ate in the Italian restaurant which was fab and also had the seafood buffet as part of our package which was also great. The only gripe I would have is that there is little or no options for food between 4.30-6pm even though many of the menus suggest that the restaurants/bars are actually open. We tried on a few different occasions to get some food at this time and were told that the kitchen was closed.
One thing that was disappointing, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is the new government laws banning sun beds on the beach. The hotel has made a good effort to provide extra beds behind the beach but ts not the same. Its such a shame the rules are so strict as its a gorgeous beach.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and always greeted us warmly.
We took 2 trips - the John Gray afternoon/evening canoe trip and the Fantasea show. The John Gray trip is well worth the money. If going to the Fantasea show go on the late bus unless you are intending to eat at the buffet as there is not a whole lot to do there.
Karon town offers everything a small Thai town needs. Some lively night entertainment, pop-up bars, lovely restaurants and little market shops. The main market is only on Tuesday and saturday.

Room Tip: I'm not sure I'd go for a room with a plunge pool. You loose balcony space and also reduced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    378
    159
    58
    34
See reviews for
601
460
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is very frielndly and Family place, My kids (3 and 6 y.o) even didint want to go anywhere outside of the hotel. Everything IN it. The swimming pool for kids including sliding. And it is the pool BAR in the middle - everyone happy -kids and parents. There is also the big pool for parents and we used it while kids were sleeping. Plenty places to walk - beautiful flowers everythere! Big sandy playground and even kids room hwere you can leave the m and professional tutitiors tale care of them and doing different acitvities and decorations. We brought mane of them home. The reastaurant have huge choice of food in the menu.Buffet is big and nice. The gym is just perfect. Nice and cold) The tennis court also in the hotel area. AND the main point -you have the most wonderfull animators group working for this hotel. You will never ever boring here as they provide joyfull classes of Zumba< Aqua, polo. They make a lot of fun for kids- the child disco every evening with face painting and costumes - just RIGHT! we were so happy to live here as we didnt mention how one week gone. Wish to stay there forever)) Forgot to say that the access to the beach is also so close. 5 min walk. Location is very good -you are around the town with shops and markets and pubs -paradise for women and men))

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, today
Dear alexandra d ,

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket as your vacation destination and for sharing a review of your stay.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our facilities and had a pleasant stay. Thank you for the nice comments about our animation group.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel looked amazing online but as we all know looks can be deceiving I chose this hotel mainly because of it's proximity to the beach however beach although beautiful was disappointing. There is some sort of a street draining system that drains nasty street/rain water right off the beach into the water. There are signs posted everywhere warning hotel guests of this unsanitary disgusting practice. The streets in Phuket are very dirty and the water is firt collected in a nasty stale looking reservoir that you can see while walking the streets of town and then dumped into the ocean right on the beach at the hotel. Sad to say we didn't even get our feet wet. The hotel it's self is simply too large and walking from our room to the office was a long hike. The food was average and way over priced. Our room was comfortable but our balcony tub faced the walkway so whoever was walking by could see everything. The hotel staff was no responsive. Our room key didn't work and after walking to the office to let them know and walking back we waited outside our room for 30 min and no one ever came. We walked back and they gave us another key which also didn't work. Finally after about an hour being locked out they sent someone with us to help us. Overall my impression was poor and we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Its an upmarket resort which is showing its age. Staff are very nice but it was not easy to get information from reception on other areas of the hotel. Activity schedules were not widely distributed or advertised. The resort is very clean with great swimming pool and lazy river and diving platform. Great kids club but parents must stay with kids under 4 unless they have extra staff available. Tennis courts were available Internet was free. Buffet breakfast was fantastic and was varied every second day. There were plenty of steps even with the numerous elevators don't be surprised if you have to give your legs a work out. The rooms were well fitted out but the fridges did not keep drinks very cold ( no freezer in these bar fridges). Outside of the resort the beach was beautiful and right out the front. Restaurants were a kilometre away and shopping was more tourist oriented and market in the evening again for tourists was only 2 nights a week. If your kids don't like water you probably wont get much value out of this resort. For very young children or that spend long periods in the pool and on the water slides take booties ( like diving boots) as the pool tiles while grippy can be hard on children's soft feet ( our grandchildren had cuts on their feet).

Room Tip: building 1 had elevator to the ground floor. We had a spa room and it was private, our son had a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear MelbourneFred ,

Greetings from Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket !

Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation at our resort and for providing a review of your experience.

It is a pleasure to learn that you found our staff to be very nice. I notice you feedback when it comes to getting information from reception staff about other areas of the hotel and will ensure that this is addressed through training.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone kent england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from 10 days at this hotel. I have to say I felt a little different by the time I left from when I arrived. The first room was in block 4, there was no see view and it was a little tatty,especially in the bathroom. WE asked to move and was given a room in block 1 where the view of the beach couldn't have been better. That said I agree with others that the accommodation does need some TCL. The grounds and the pool area are lovely.
The breakfast is really go, the waitress Sue was very attentive. We did eat a couple of times in the evening it was nice but expensive once tax etc is added .the best place to eat is at the beach bar,prices are like town and the food is great.
A word of warning, the government does not allow sun beds and umbrellas to be rented on the beach,so you need to buy one the first day if that's where you plan to be rather than round the pool" whilst we weren't blown away when we arrived we had a great holiday and would I return? ........tomorrow if your paying!

Room Tip: Block 1 was a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear lorry ,

Greetings from Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to provide a review of your time with us.

Your praise of Su, one of the waitresses in the Cove restaurant, is very much appreciated. We are also pleased to read that our staff were able to offer you an alternative room that better suited your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the staff at grand centara are absolutely wonderful, i can not fault the restaurant, bar and cleaners in anyway. The management is what lets the hotel down, they tend to stuff you around a lot and never seem to give people the room that they paid for and do not want to give information about happy hour or anything you are entitled to. The bond that you have to give is huge and lucky we checked before staying at the hotel as it worked out to be 550 Australian dollars for 7 nights. the resort its self if at a beautiful location but needs a lot of maintenance when you take a closer look. The buffet nights are amazing and the chefs can not be faulted at anytime of the day. Whatever you do make sure you get the buffet breakfast as it contains to much variety and is delicious.

Room Tip: If you dont have children make sure you get a room closer to the lobby as has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Danielle M ,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be absolutely wonderful and that the buffet nights were amazing and the breakfast delicious. When it comes to the bond you mention it is common practice at hotels that guests have to provide some form of surety upon check-in. At our resort we ask for 2,000 Thai baht per day per room in the form of cash or credit card pre-authorisation to guarantee for any incidentals. Our employees, including managers, can provide information about the hotel and its facilities, and I am sorry to hear that you did not receive sufficient information.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at one of our properties in the future.

Best wishes,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are currently at the Centara Grand on Karon Beach. The hotel is amazing. Our pool room is great. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and extremely accomodating. The Cove restaurant has plenty to offer with entertainment each evening at 7pm and 8 pm. Ray, a young waiter in the Cove is a real credit to the restaurant, he is very friendly and helpful - we will miss him. Yo hands in customer relations is also a credit to himself and the hotel. He too is extremely friendly and helpful. The pools are fantastic, the security is excellent and everything is clean and fresh. We dined in all three restaurants and had some great meals. Slight disappointment in the Italian restaurant also not enough choice there. Would I come back- absolutely! Have also recommended this to friends at home and one is coming in the school holidays based on recommendation. Management and all staff at Centara Grand you are great, thank you for a perfect holiday. Can't wait to return. Sawasdee Ka.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear lisajdh1,

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket as your holiday destination and for sharing your holiday experience.

It is pleasure to read that our staff took good care of you during your stay. Your kind comments about Ray in the Cove restaurant and Yohan at the front desk are really very much appreciated.

I am happy to note to you had some great dining experiences. I notice that you were slightly disappointed in the Italian restaurant and will share the feedback with the Italian Chef and his team.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#9 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.