We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Resort ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Karon
1 review
“Excellent Family Resort ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights here in Room 711 which is a Luxury Pool Suite. The room was very clean and the room well presented with modern and fresh facilities. The beds firm but very comfortable for us. We had two doubles and pushed them together to make a giant King sized bed. The housekeeping staff then made that to fit each night which was very kind of them.

The room we stayed in is on the ground floor. This hotel has all of its facilities at the Ground floor which was really convenient when accessing the restaurant and the pools.

This room had its own private plunge pool which was very refreshing. The only feedback we had for the hotel is not to lay polished marble around the pool as when it gets wet it is obviously very slippery.

I said pools because in this place, there is no shortage. There's a lagoon pool with a constant depth of 1.2m, a kids pool with a slide and another pool. Then there is a lazy river meandering around, two jumping ledges and another river raft slide.

The resort is right on the beach with a private reserve access with shark nets. You can hire watersports from the pool towel hutt. There are no jet skis here at this resort.

Central Karon or the Markets are a 15 minute walk or 200THB by hotel transport or tuk tuk.

The Buffett breakfasts were very comprehensive and the evening buffets we avoided only because of the cost. We are each night either having Pizza by the pool, in room meals or at the Beachcomber restaurant which is a steak house in front of the hotel beachside. at the steakhouse you pay around 220-280Thb per 100gm of meat.

There's nothing we could complain about here.


Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    353
    155
    56
    34
See reviews for
583
435
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Urunga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas and new year . Staff very friendly and accomodating , service was slow and the buffet breakfast after two weeks I was so over , same choices daily . The evening " theme " nights didn't seem a hit at all very over priced and guests soon realised this and went to town to dine . The pool areas are great , need more sun chairs and if as you say on every sun chairs they can't be reserved then follow up on it and don't let people . People were smoking in no smoking areas of the pool and no one seemed to care . We booked a twin room upon arrival we were given a king room and had to move to a twin room on Christmas Day - not perfect at all . The rooms were tired .
I e mailed the Spa requesting someone contact me re massages still not had a reply !! We had a manicure and pedicure and the beauticians put the TV on for us and didn't talk to us - for what I paid very disappointed

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Kate V,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

Your comments have been noted when it comes to breakfast, reserving sun chairs, smoking areas and that your spa experience was disappointing. We do aim to deliver perfect holiday experiences and your experience will be shared with the managers concerned for their follow up.

I hope we we will be able to welcome you back at one of our properties in the near future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great 2 weeks at the grand centra beach resort, the facilities were great, the staff were amazing as we had an adult and a child with food allergies. The location is fantastic, an easy walk to Karon or a 10 minute taxi to the busy Patong. The beach was great. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great they all have beach rooms, the block nearest the beachcomber restaurant is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Sawasdee Gruntau,
Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket as your holiday destination and for sharing your holiday experience.

It is delight to read that the location was fantastic and that you enjoyed the beach and our facilities. It is also very nice to hear that our staff looked well after you.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my wife for my 75th.birthday.Although the location of the hotel is great -- right on Karon beach, and the rooms are large with big outdoor balcony and sea view, something is lacking. It is the service, which is not up to the mark. Took ages to check in, baggage did not arrive in room for half an hour. There were no lights in the Internet zone area, took 2 hours for them to set it right.
They demanded a security deposit of 10,000 baht for 3 day stay although room was fully paid for in advance, and said it would be refunded on departure, when I checked out they said refund would take 8 to 10 days! Also they swipe the credit card for that amount and then refund it to credit card, which means 2 foreign exchange transactions, on each of which credit card companies charge 3.5% foreign exchange transaction tax. In other words I lost 700 baht for nothing.

To cap it all, a small lizard jumped on to me in the bathroom, when I informed the room cleaning maid she id not understand initially and then innocently asked if I meant a "small crocodile"!!

The hotel is over priced.

Room Tip: Corner premium deluxe ocean view rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Sheesh276,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about us on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know that you liked the location and the rooms.

It is common practice in hotels that guests are required to provide surety to cover incidentals. At our hotel guests are asked to provide a deposit in the form of cash or credit card.

Please allow me to correct you when it comes to the information you provide about foreign exchange transactions and credit card companies charging a certain percentage. When you decided to use your credit card to provide a deposit the money was merely blocked on your account. Please note that no actual transaction is made. Hence it is not correct that you lost money because you were required to provide a deposit.

May I also mention that we ask our guests to provide surety of 2,000 Thai baht per day per room. If you stayed with us for 3 days, my colleagues at the front desk would have requested a total of 6,000 Thai baht and not 10,000 as you mention in your review.

I hope you will be returning to beautiful Thailand in the future.

Best wishes,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked this hol as a special treat for our 20th anniversary. The hotel was superb we had a sea view pool villa , the room was lovely and the breakfast buffet amazing , we also ate in the hotel one evening a bit pricey but the food was amazing.
The best part of the holiday was the location Karon beach , the town was friendly and the restaurants fantastic value . I strongly recommend hireling a moped to get about at £4 a day you can't go wrong.
We visited other areas of Phuket and SO GLAD we never booked into Patong it's like Blackpool on steroids.
Things to do - the kayaking in the caves I think it was called John Grey tours , you don't actually kayak that's done for you, the tour was carried out very professionally and very informative but most of all breath taking ly beautiful . And the food was amazing.
Don't bother with Pi Pi island to many people and boats.
In a nutshell Phuket people and food fantastic , value for money yes , definitely eat out don't stick to the hotels . Enjoy we did.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Iain54,
Thank you for sharing a review of your holiday experience.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Phuket and that you liked the beach and the local town.

I hope we can welcome you back the next time you visit Phuket.

Best wishes,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Phuket for 6 nights in January. We were very impressed by this hotel. Though it boasts its family activities, it was wonderful for a couple on their honeymoon.

When we arrived, we were very impressed by the beautiful lobby. The waterfall was really cool. Checkin was very smooth. We booked with a travel agent that noted we were on our honeymoon. Because of this, they upgraded us from a Spa Deluxe to a Pool Suite Deluxe. It was absolutely fantastic! The room had ocean views (from the bed!), a wrap around patio, and a double sized pool. It was so large. The bathroom was extremely modern with a wonderful large bathtub. The bed was amazing -- it just ate us right up. We received a lovely "Happy Honeymoon" cake, card, and fruit basket. It felt very personalized.

We ate at Mare 2 times and the cove for breakfast. The pasta at Mare was fantastic and not overpriced. The breakfast had a lot of variety. You can really over eat at this breakfast since there are so many options so I tried a few things each day... that way I never got tired of the options. Loved the bread pudding. We also had in-room breakfast one morning (you get this for half off if you already paid for a breakfast plan). It was really nice.

Cocktails were about $9usd each at the hotel, but were delicious. From 4-6 at the pool bar and 10-11 at the evening bar, you received buy one get one free which was a great deal. You just need to take advantage of the specials!

The pool was great -- we spent our time at the family pool. We really enjoyed the lazy river and the water slides. There were a lot of kids, but we didn't feel like they killed our mood. The beach was stunning. I definitely recommend the lunch spot right off the beach -- great green curry!

We only had one incident in the room that was resolved quickly. A pipe under the bathtub burst while we were out and created a rainforest environment/ flood. Maintenance came within 15 minutes. The night manager arrived later, but was very hard to understand.

Overall, we had a fantastic time at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Karon beach. We would return again if we were in Phuket.

Room Tip: Mention special occasions for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Kharlee,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for taking the time to share a review of your stay.

It is a delight to read that you had fantastic time at our resort and enjoyed your honeymoon. We appreciate your kind comments about the room, the amenities, the Mare restaurant and the breakfast buffet.

The team and I would love to be able to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this Centara property for 3 nights and found it pleasant.

The staff were wonderful and very friendly.

There were some problems with the room which required the attention of the engineer team but these problems were addressed and fixed quickly and efficiently.

We tried the in room dining and were impressed by the speed and quality of the meal. We also tried the Beachcomber restaurant and loved it. The food quality was sensational.

Costs of transport were not reasonable when offered by the hotel and we outsourced our taxi to and from the airport.

A pleasant stay, I would return.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Kharlee,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for proving a review of your stay.

Your kind comments about in room dining and the Beachcomber restaurant are very much appreciated, and we are pleased that our you found our staff to be wonderful and friendly. It is also good to hear that the maintenance issues brought forward were fixed quickly and efficiently, although I do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I have also noted your feedback on transportation service and will share it with the team.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#9 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.