We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centara Karon Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 73 hotels in Karon
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Centara Karon Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, staff super friendly and helpful, great facilties and good grub! Right in the center of all the pubs, food etc.Not too pricey for 4 star hotel.
Would definately go back to this hotel again. Well done Centara.

Room Tip: Stay in the Terrace section which is at the front of the hotel, the other rooms maybe better but fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    304
    135
    52
    31
See reviews for
515
378
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The resort is situated at the northern end of Karon beach on the beachfront. We stayed on the top floor in block 3 in a spa suite. It had wonderful views out over the sea and the resort itself. The roòm was very comfortable and loved the circular shower. Was close to the restaurants, breakfast and adult pool (which we found to be a godsend). The resort is large and was at 90% occupancy during our stay, so quite busy with a lot of families staying. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. Enjoyed some wonderful food at The Beachcomber, Mare Italian restaurant, Ripples by the adult pool and Luna Bar. Breakfast in The Cove is plentiful and very good, with a wide variety on offer. We did utilise the baht bonanza, which does bring prices to a reasonable level.
The resort is well maintained, which includes the beachfront which was always clean. Karon beach itself is beautiful for late evening strolls.
Karon is only a 10-15 minute walk, or 200 baht in a local taxi available at the front gate.
Overall, really impressed and will be back.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are on the top floor, but some of the pool villas looked very inviting. Most rooms appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First holiday without the kids in over 20 years so really looked forward to it. Stayed in a pool room and highly recommend it. We had a great one with palm trees in front for extra privacy -some had beach views but also had direct sun all day and not much privacy - preferred ours. Its a big resort so the pool was great when we got back to the room and was lovely to wake up to - only issue is that its a big step in and out and no rail. King bed was great and bathroom large - room was great. The Mare restaurant was fantastic - service brilliant - Joy in the bar was a delight and the chef was terrific and ran a great kitchen, just a very enjoyable experience dining there. All the staff we came across were very friendly and polite. It was no problem getting a lift to our room when we came back from a walk or shopping. Housekeeping ladies were very nice, however you didnt always get a complete set - sometimes little towels were missing or the floor towel etc, they were delivered when you rang but not really sure how they would keep an accurate check on what was happening. The Cove..... great for breakfast, we always went early so had it to ourselves pretty much and didnt have to wait or have kids running around so we enjoyed that - but - tried it for dinner, not a great experience. Not great food (terrible actually) and not great service. I know its a buffet, but its a buffet they do every week so there were things that were inexcusable and it wasnt busy, would hate to see if it was. To their credit I spoke to the manager Nick and he seemed genuinely concerned and keen to improve, so I hope it does - but really if you like a steak dont go there go to the Mare, similar price and enormous difference in quality. We also found them to be a bit disorganised in the front - they thought we hadnt signed something and they asked us to come down which we did, then they couldnt find it, so asked us to come back which we did - this went on about 4 times and I eventually said they could come to us when they knew what they wanted and they did - at midnight - wasnt happy. And when we checked out (a 40 minute process) we discovered that when we exchanged $150 Australian dollars they had used the US$ rate - the princely difference of about $12. They bought someone down from finance, had a whole file with photocopies etc - made us feel like we had committed fraud or something, I agreed to pay the $12 which they then charged my credit card and then tried to get me to pay cash as well - all for their mistake. After all the money we had spent in the resort was not a pleasant way to finish our holiday. Again though to their credit I advised the manager of this when we got home and they apologised, but really the mistake should not have been made in the first place, and considering the amount, and for a 5* resort they should have just worn it. Overall its a lovely resort, adults pool is great - we didnt use it as we were happy to be away from kids but the main pool looked great, beach was lovely, The Mare was terrific and our room was great. I would recommend it,but be aware there are organisation issues they need to sort that you may be impacted by.

Room Tip: Definitely a pool room. Block 4 has more privacy but not good beach view - beach views can be hot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AMS008,
Thank you for providing a review from your recent holiday.
After reading so many wonderful comments from you about your stay, such as how great the room was, the staff were wonderful, breakfast was fantastic etc however a few small things ruined a great holiday. Im pleased you spoke to Nick the Front Office Manager who help address the issues mentioned at the time. Thanks for your feedback and we work on those issues to improve.
regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed in all types of room in this resort, villa , spa and pool suite. All of them were good except for the Spa
The design of the bath is so bad that after every shower the whole room gets wet. It was a very bad luck of me and the hotel! that my room's water pipe under the sink exploded and there was a real flood in the room, all my luggages got wet and it was a horrible situation and they couldn't stop it.in brief they were messed up. I was very disappointed that they transferred us to an even worse smelly room after that!!the worst room if the hotel
Finally we could get into a reasonable room
But in such a situation that one night of my stay was wasted moving to different rooms, there was not a single apology from the manager or compensation like upgrade!
If you can get a nice room this resort is really nice bit unfortunately there are few not pleasant rooms you should avoid

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Hoomaan,
Thanks for writing a review and sorry to hear of the burst water pipe in your room. Obviously this is an unusual occurence and difficult to control but Im pleased our staff worked hard to find an alternate room that met your expectations. If you still free disappointed in how your situation was managed, feel free to contact the resort directly to investigate further.
Best Wishes
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon reading some of the reviews prior to staying I was not sure that we were going to get what we thought we were paying for, boy was I wrong. From check in to check out we had no hassles, we never waitied for service, everybody was so warm and friendly, they went out of their way to help of just chat. Our room was a great size for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers, more spacious than many we have stayed in before. The pool facilities were fantastic, unforunately the pool pump broke down when we stayed and the main pool was closed for 2 days but this did not impact on our stay. The staff worked day and night to get it right, the lazy river was still operational so there were still plenty of options for swimming.

I would throughly recommend this resort for families of all ages, it has everything you could want if you never wanted to leave the resort. With Karon on the doorstep there are many choices just a 200baht taxi or tuk tuk ride away or literally a 5 minute walk into town along the beach. We would definately not hesitate to recommend the Centara Grand to friends and family and would defianetly return if ever back in Phuket. Thank you for having us a wonderful place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Nimon2014,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review.
Im delighted you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a week, the room was large and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet selection was good although the dining area was somewhat crowded during breakfast however we have often seen this at other hotels. The pool area was very beautiful and the kids loved the slides and lazy river, however the lazy river did seem a little dirty and the kids pool was full of chemicals with yellowish water on a couple of occasions. These were our only negatives on the hotel, which are more than outweighed by the positives. Overall it was great value and we were particularly impressed with the professional, attentive and friendly staff through out the hotel, they are a credit to the Centara and it would not be the same without such quality staff.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Sawasdee GDrak,
Thank you for taking the time to provide Trip Advisor readers a review from your recent stay. Hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to start this review by saying for the last 3 years I stated at this resort since it's opening and it was very good. Since that time the hotel service has gone down tremendously. The check and check out takes forever and they spread us as a family over several buildings even though we asked to be put together at reservation. The pools had murky water, and the state of the facilities was poor. Rooms had problems with air conditioning, and facilities that were free now became expensive to use.
To be honest I don't think I will return to this resort next year.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Qyaqoob,
Sorry to read you had a disappointing stay. I a few thoughts in reply on the issues you mention.

"rooms were spread through out the resort" unfortunately sometimes we cannot place all rooms together especially when occupancy is high. We will try our best however we usually can manage these requests within the first days of your stay.

"check in and check out takes forever" again if the occupancy is near capacity things may take a little longer and I apologise for this inconvenience.

"Murky water and facilities were poor" we do offer complimentary drinking water in our rooms and I apologise if the town water was not crystal clear as we do have our own filtration systems to overcome this.

"Facilities that were once free are now being charged for", Im not sure what facilities you are referring to.

I note your comments that you are considering returning next year, so Im guessing there must be some positives about your stay. Feel free to drop me a line as I am happy to help you with your concerns and hopefully see you return in 2015.

Kind Regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#14 Business Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.