We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Phuket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 69 hotels in Karon
Whangamata, New Zealand
1 review
“First time in Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have not long returned from a well deserved over due holiday in Phuket. First week we stayed in kamala at sunwing & loved everything about it, not a5 star resort but a good 4! :)
We then headed to centra grand for the second week. ( 6 of us all together) I was so excited to be finally staying there as a friend had highly recommended the resort as they have stayed many times.
Quite a big resort.. I was very impressed. On arrival we had to wait 41/2 hours to be booked into our room & I don't no why but ended up in completely different room than what I thought I had booked. Anyway tired & ready to settle in we were finally in our room. Top floor spa one room which was really lovely but definitely I felt very cramped with all 4 of us in one room, we had a balcony that was roomy and was nice to take in the amazing view of the resort & ocean.
I was so pleased to have the spa on our deck.. It was perfect for a wee dip with bubbles and a great way to end the day.
Omg the spa treatments are amazing... A must do!! I treated my family to a massage.. They were all impressed.the staff are all very friendly & helpful. Unfortunitly it did rain a lot while we were there & the sea was very ruff ( not good to swim in) it was not good when the resorts pools became unusable due to technical troubles.. After 3 days were talked to management & he very kindly organised for us to go to splash water park which was awesome , this made the kids really happy.we had a great time being our first time there was lots to discover around Phuket. We would love to return to Phuket next year & stay again here.. But I'd say we would much prefer a room that has a seep rate area for the kids to sleep. ( budget will dictate that tho )
Yes I recommend staying here... Over all a great holiday. My kids were 12-23... They had a ball.xo
Also I loved the little details.. The flowers left on our beds... Very kind staff in deed.
We found breakfast a bit crazy and often had cold un cooked eggs.. So ended up with fresh fruit most the time. A good choice for everyone tho :)
Thank you ang & Andre hilliar

Room Tip: Top floor spa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    289
    132
    51
    30
See reviews for
494
367
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keith, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We thought we would treat ourselves to a top resort for a few days. First thing to remember is that it is not situated in a town. Unless you walk along the beach for 20mins to Karon your only option is to get a taxi or take the shuttle bus supplied by the hotel. The shuttle bus does not go to Patong. We had booked a room with a private plunge pool. The room was really nice, it had everything and we were lucky enough to be upgraded so we had an extra outdoor room on the side. The room was lovely, supplied with everything even a coffee maker. The bed was really comfortable and our view was great. The breakfast was great with a huge variety. Something that you need to be aware of is that it is a family friendly resort and there are kids everywhere. We did not swim in the main pool at all but did go on the lazy river which wasnt working at the time. We went to the adults only pool once which was nice until it started pouring with rain (good timing haha!). Our plunge pool was excellent, a good temperature with a nice view of the gardens. You also need to know is that there are heaps of stairs, we were on the first floor and had 45 steps. The grounds were lovely with nice gardens. One major downfall is the beach, we had a walk down the beach and were shocked. There were areas of really gross looking brown water with children playing and swimming in it and rubbish on the beach, although the staff where picking it up when we were there. We have since been told the brown water is allegedly an algae bloom but we wouldnt take that chance. We asked about the airport transfer cost which was really expensive, you would be better to organise a pickup from outside the hotel. Overall a lovely resort but too far out of town and more suited to those who go to a resort and want to spend the bulk of their holiday in the resort.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps so dont get a room on a high floor. If you can get a pool with your own pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay was perfect,the staffs around the hotel was friendly.the location of the hotel are perfect with large pool and beach just near the hotel.
The breakfast was nice, and the Italian restaurant was amazing.
We will try to come back soon as possible.
Thanks .

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here some 2 weeks back.

Check in all ok, quick and easy. Stayed in block 8, great room, well kept and no bathroom/shower flooding issues, which i think are possibly from the free standing "round type" showers that some rooms have ( was told by other staying there that they had issues with flooding). House keeping genally good, but had to constanly ask for 4 towels as there was 4 of us staying there, plus had to get them to sweep the floors as the sand from the pool area just spreads throughout the hotel ( must annoy management, no end).

Pool area was great, kids had a ball, but the pools need a bit more attention with the cleaning, in many area's there is scum/slime build up along the water line...it sure made a real mess of my bathers, The paved areas around the pools could do with being swept/hosed down each morning to remove/clean away the sand that builds up all around the place. we stayed in a similar hotel in Bali after this, which also had a sand part to the pools and the cleanliness was far and above this place.

Breakfast...........pfft! to the nay sayers on here...it was excellent with a wide variety of food/cuisines, it was excellent.

Pool side food?...where was some Thai food...even if it was only Pad Thai, surely you could add this to the burgers and fries list?

All in all an excellent stay, if only they could get hold of some of their cleaning issues, i would give it 5 stars.

cheers S

Room Tip: Block 9 has a great outlook over the ocean ( closest too)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The pool's so nice! Luxury and very clean room and great spa service. Excellent foods taste. Everyone service with kindly and smile. So nice mood and comfort. Totally I spent a wonderful holiday with my family at here. Thanks! I'll be there again for sure^^

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Sawasdee Marisa C,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your holiday experience.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful holiday. Pleasing to read your comments about everyone being kind and smiling.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We have a wonderful holiday in Centara Grand Beach Resort.

Breakfast each morning was nice although, and we met head Chef Laurent he make a very very nice morning Breakfast. It is a very high maintenance Resort.

The staff are very friendly and have a genuine affection for children, which makes for a very relaxing holiday for parents.The pool is so nice and the beach was amazing.

We had a really great stay and we would definitely recommend this resort and wold stay here again and again. Thank Centara Grand, a Great introduction to Phuket. Love Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for sharing you holiday experience.

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and found our staff to be friendly. I am glad they took good care of your children.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked an ocean facing room. The view in building nice on second floor was out of this world. I can lay on my bed and see the ocean. Room is nice, well appointed. Staff a bit abrupt. I must admitted i may be a bit spoiled after being in Thailand for the last three weeks and received remarkable service at my the Banyan tree in Bangkok, and Pillar house in Chiang mai. The service here is way below the level of those hotels or others i have experienced. No turn down service, at check in receptionist very abrupt and eager to move on to next cliental. Not interested in answering some questions i had about hotel. Maids dont really clean rooms just make bed and provide new towels. All pillows not even placed back on beds. A very hurried job. Breakfast buffet horrible!!!! Make sure you go early. We went at 10 am a couple of times and although it finishes at 11, they never put new stuff out. If something is finished too bad for you. Food at all restaurants average at best. Pool area fantastic, my kids had a blast. Beach access and area fantastic!

Room Tip: Building 9 best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Christine S,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you found the room nice and that you enjoyed the view. It is surprising to read your feedback on level of service. We strive to deliver an excellent Thai hospitality experience and the majority of our guests praise our staff for the service they provide. We are also disappointed to read that the breakfast was not to your personal liking.

Best wishes,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#11 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.