We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite hit the spot.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 69 hotels in Karon
karachi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not quite hit the spot.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

stayed here in June 2013 for 2 nights as part of our resort hopping in phuket.
the resort itself is stunning. but did not have the warm feeling. everything went well during my stay and yet i dont know why i left un-satisfied from the resort.
the staff was nice, we were upgraded to a corner room with a huge balcony. the room/bath/balcony were amazing. the pools/slides and kids activities were great.
the breakfast was great. the gereral dinning/food was average with not enough variety. the pools/slides were good, the lazy river was too lazy. the jumping cliff was fun.
towels etc in the room were always inadequate and did not have a plesant smell-always. the luggage took too long to reach our room at check-in.
the beach in front of the hotel is not that great.
the hotel had everything but still i would choose some other resort for my next visit to phuket
*lots of mosquitos everywhere all around the resort

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear AAtravelerAA

Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding our team members, rooms, facilities and breakfast meal. Our menus in our two main dining outlets are extensive and with a different theme each night, obviously quite varied.

Our lazy river has now found renewed energy with the installation of no less than 8 new pumps and we have overcome the towel issue with the arrival of new stocks to replace those worn out by the constant use of a busy high season. Unfortunately, the extent of the beach we control does get somewhat reduced during the monsoon season but is regularly maintained by team members and the resort is ‘fogged’ as often as is environmentally possible to reduce the mosquito population readily found in most tropical climates.

We are sorry but surprised you left feeling disappointed after your many positive experiences at our resort, which as you say, has everything you could require for a family holiday.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    284
    130
    51
    30
See reviews for
485
363
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We checked in at around 2am in the morning and were greeted straight away.
We were shown to our rooms, and our luggage was bought up. The room we were put in had 2 beds and I asked if we could change to one with a kingsize. We were told it would be sorted while we were out the next day.
We arrived home the following evening and not only did we have another room with great ocean views - we had been up graded to the corner deck and had a heart of rose petals on the bed..
The following morning we tried to shower but the water was cold - we went to reception, and they said they had had problems in block one and they would move us that day. We came home once again to a new room, - with amazing views and a corner deck. We happily spent the remainder of our 8 days here.
The adults pool has a lovely view of the ocean, and we even had a go on the slides and the lazy river ride in the kids pool.
The staff are so friendly and while there is a language barrier (non english speaking country people - to be expected somewhat) they were attentive and helpful and full of smiles.
The Baht Bazaar is a great idea too.
The breakfast were totally AMAZING - although the one night we tried the dinner buffet, were not overly impressed (we were very late though) the Italian restaurant was fantastic how ever (even did my pudding up with candles on my birthday)
The resort itself was stunning and tranquil - even with a fair few kids there it was peaceful and just lovely to stroll around.
There was 6 in our group - and we all loved our stay.

I agree with the walk to the gate to get a taxi - we however found a fantastic taxi driver, and paid him 1500 baht a day to take all 6 of us every where, and he even booked all the things we wanted to do for us, and found us a place that sold happy tourist sim cards so we could have unlimited free data for 7 days ( we struggled to find them with the language problems)

.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Fionna O

Thank you very much for your extremely positive comments regarding hotel facilities, room and for highlighting the friendly team members.

We are glad that a few small issues did not detract from your overall enjoyment, specially for your special birthday occasion.

We really look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Being a resort it is isolated and tranquil, with the added amenities resorts provide, gym, swimming pool with easy access to the beach. Patong beach is nearby and is ideal for backpackers for cheap accommodation and choice of food. Our room was with oceanview, also faces swimming pool, with a balcony. It was a good 5 min walk to the Reception. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast there was good choice in the Cove Restaurant. Staff do not speak english but eager to help.
Reception area could be air conditioned but it was not.

Room Tip: Room allocation depends on your length of stay, we stayed for 3 nights. Ask for Ocean View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear BLRvisit

Thank you very much for taking your time placing the review.
We are extremely delighted to hear the positive feedback from you, thank you for sharing this with us.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are here at the moment. When my wife enquired by both email and actually phoning about joined rooms as we have 2 kids (3 & 6) they could not guarantee we would get them but said no one has ever not gotten them.
When we got here we got the interconnected rooms we require great BUT they are connected via a balcony ! So we would have to go outside across the balcony and in to the next room.
Unacceptable for a 3 & 6 yo.
So the sorry, sorry began . I'll see what I can do said the very young( read inexperienced ) clerk or whatever he is.
More sorry, sorry. No villas available , sorry,, sorry, sorry nothing we can do. Sorry sorry.
As it was late in the day so we had a look at the rooms as suggested by the clerk.
After a lengthy talk we decided to get a portable bed put into one of the bath rooms and my wife would sleep in one room with the kids and I would stay in the other for the night till we organised something else.
We tried to get transfered to another of their resorts, guess what? More sorry, sorry, company policy or some crap.
Ok what about refund? We would have to go through the travel agent at home but unlikely .
So we're stuck between a rock and a hard place. Not wanting to blow a few more grand at another resort we decided to stay.
The room are nice clean and maintained ok apart from an air con in my room stuck on 23 degrees. I'll live with that cos I can't be bothered dealing with 3 people befor I get one to understand .
The pools are good for kids. They have enjoyed the slides and the jumping rock. The lifeguard at the slide and jumping rock are very good, at tentative and do their job very well.
But be careful in the main pool. They are not there for up to 20 mins at a time several times a day.
Some of the wood decking is in disrepair . Boards and nails sticking up. There was a woman next to us that tried to explain to one of the pool attendants but after a few mins of oooooo yes yes yes she had to take him to the nails so then he knew what she was saying.
The food at breakfast is good, as good as any other resort I have been to.
The food around the pool and at the restaurant is the same and ok.but the service is poor.
We sat down at the beach restaurant and ordered . We got 1 meal after a reasonable time then another then another a while later . Well the last took a long time. In fact a group of three sat down at the next table, ordered ate,( 2 of their meals were the same as we were waiting for) and left. Then we got the last meal. You tell a hungry 3 year old why here food took so long. Very unhappy about that.
We ate at the Italian restaurant , or the Asian version of Italian . Was ok but lacked that real quality. Had to laugh at the " wood fired " pizza oven. Looks similar but no wood. It's gas fired so lacks the " wood fired " taste even though it states on the menu it's wood fired.
Based on our experience at resorts here in phuket and around the world

I would class it as a 3 1/2 star hotel with 1 star management ..
If it didn't have the pools it would struggle to have any customers due to the service that you get at all levels .

Room Tip: Walk to top of hill to get a tuk tuk or taxi, cheaper and don't have to wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Paul V

Thank you for your review and the kind comments regarding the quality of the breakfast and poolside food, the pool facilities, cleanliness and maintenance of our rooms and the work of lifeguards at the rock jump.

As you booked your holiday through a travel agent, it is unfortunate that you were not advised that the Resort does not have internal interconnecting rooms and that any room connection is via a linked balcony. I will communicate this issue with your travel agent accordingly.

I totally understand this may have been inconvenient to you, however our Guest Service Agent or “clerk”, as you referred to him, who has experience in working in a hotel reception environment, tried to find a solution but there were no other rooms available that would have met your requirements. Profuse apologies are a common reaction from Thais, who are naturally extremely humble and eager to please the guest wherever possible. You seem to infer in your review that this and other issues you raise, indicates that the staff are inefficient and give poor service. In which case, you are among a very small minority, as most of our guests find our staff helpful, friendly and effective.

Our Lifeguards are permanently on duty during pool opening hours. They don’t however remain seated at the Lifeguard chair at all times, as they are required to patrol the entire pool area.

We apologise if you felt the service at the pool was slow. This may happen at peak times but is something we will investigate to ensure standards are being maintained.
Again it is unfortunate, that unlike the overwhelming majority of our guests, you didn’t find the Mare restaurant to your standards.

There are a number of areas in the hotel that are currently under renovation due to the wear and tear caused by our tropical climate and constant extremely high occupancy, including the wooden decking area mentioned.
It would have been helpful if you had brought any complaints you had to the attention of one of our managers at the time. You would see that our response to any issues is commensurate with the Resort’s grading and far from 1*.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As two travellers in our early 20s this wasn't the usual place we would stay but we are very glad we did. The room and view were beautiful and when I lost my camera the staff at reception were very helpful in trying to find it. All of the pools were lovely and not too crowded with really nice bars. Breakfast was very nice and you are only a short walk away from many other restaurants with all kinds of food. For a more lively party scene the hotel is not too far by taxi from Patong but there are also bars nearby. I would recommend asking at the hotel about tours as we went on 2 from stalls near the hotel and they were both disappointing and seemed very unsafe. We saw one of the elephants getting beaten to the point its head was bleeding which was very upsetting. This was nothing to do with the hotel but we suggest you ask their advice to avoid this kind of situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear GLT956

We are extremely happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recently stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

Also, thank you for sharing your excellent feedback regarding the room, breakfast and the helpfulness of our team member.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Overall the accommodation and resort itself are beautiful. However the service in the bars and restaurants was considerably slow. It often took quite some time to get a drink even though the Beachcomber bar was not busy. We also had the Brazillian buffet for dinner one evening and as one of our party does not eat meat, the staff kindly offered to replace the meat with fish. At first they forgot to order the fish from the kitchen and by the time it arrived, we had all finished our meals and they brought a kids meal instead.

The Thai food we had at Ripples adult pool was ok but nothing like you would expect to receive at a resort like the Centara. Food arrived cold too.

The resort location is great, the rooms and pools beautiful but the food and beverage service left a lot to be desired.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Deekayoz

We are delighted you found that our rooms are nice and enjoyed our hotel facilities including hotel location.

However, we apologise for the issues that should have not happened, these are being address through training and all concerns.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Centara Grand in May for my 30th there was 9 of us including two kids every single one of had the most amazing time at this resort we stayed for 9 nights it was a real effort to leave the resort as it had everything to offer in it. The food was amazing in fact we didn't eat any where else huge variety of options to choose from. The rooms are beautiful we had an ocean view and it was spectacular the staff were all very welcoming and made our stay so pleasant. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jess R

Thank you to highlight to our team members, rooms, food on this review.

We very much appreciate your feedback and really look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.