We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not find a better paradise in Phuket 10* Centara Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 73 hotels in Karon
Manchester
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You will not find a better paradise in Phuket 10* Centara Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at Centara Grand on the beach in 3 years, what more can we say! We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children ages 5 & 7. This hotel is perfect!

First of all our praises to the amazing staff here to name but a few Opas, Roong, Cruz all the kids club staff just too many to mention. They can not do enough for you, we had a slight problem this year for 24 hours due to a main water pipe supply to the hotel causing hot water not to work, the staff could not be more apologetic even though it was not their fault, we were invited to use the beautiful spa facilities that evening including the steam room and sauna followed by invitation to a complimentary meal at the cove, how fantastic! Also we were sent gifts of fruit to the point of us having to say thank you but we can eat no more :)) and a complimentary bottle of champagne upon arrival!

The room - one word WOW

The food - AMAZING

The pool facilities- the best ever lazy river, slides, children's pool and the life guards are totally on the ball which is a great thing to see as not many hotels have life guards who pay much attention!

Kids club - I have to say I have always been a little wary of putting my children in a club but my girls never want to come out of there as they have so many great activities going on and the staff are amazing! My girls would go home looking whiter than when they arrived if I didn't bring them out!

Since our last stay here in April 2012 they have built a new restaurant outside on the beach which is truly beautiful, to sit and eat and drink whilst hearing the waves break and watching the sun go down, no words to describe just wow!

You can get a taxi or tuk tuk into Patong or Karon and do some shopping but beware you MUST haggle as they will start extremely high so you must go in extremely low but you get the hang of it :) eg Lacoste short sleeve shirts they will say 1000baht pay no more than 250baht. We did lots of shopping and its fun to have a giggle with them too :) don't be intimidated.

Well I will end my review by saying my family and I have already rebooked for next year and our thanks to all the staff especially Opas, Roong, Cruz and all at kids club :) Everyone here has made our last 3 holidays the best and we look forward to next year!

See you soon!

Room Tip: All are beautiful xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Shona N

Welcome “home” Shona N!

We are extremely delighted that you have been having memorable experiences at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing positive comments regarding our hotel facilities, room and food. Especially, your kind comments regarding the team members are very much appreciated since it means a lot to them as they strive hard to provide a wonderful holiday experience for our guests.

We just can not wait to welcome you back again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    304
    135
    52
    31
See reviews for
515
377
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location and area: An hour's drive from the airport, the hotel is conveniently located at Karon beach. The hotel has its own private beach and own sun beds with swimming areas marker buoyed.

There are plenty of cheap restaurants and good selection of bars in Karon beach town around 20 mins walk from the hotel along the beach. Patong beach about 20 mins by taxi around Thai Baht 400. Local taxis or tuc tucs are easily available.

Overall, this hotel is ideal as a family getaway. It is the house of the popular Italian Restaurant, Mare. The hotel has a good mix of Russians, British, Australians, and a handful of Asians. Busy during the Easter holidays, advance booking is highly recommended.

On arrival
Check-in smooth and fast. Welcome drink and cold towel provided.

Room
A bit expensive (booked during the Easter holidays), the room overlooking the sea is spacious. It has good sized wardrobes, oversized executive desk, built-in ceiling fan, bed side control panels, and reading lights. No iron and ironing board. Bathroom with single wash-basin, glass en-cased shower room, built-in hair dryer, full length mirror, and functional toiletry shelves. Free toiletries provided and replenished daily. No shaving mirror. It has good cable TV channels. Balcony decked with two sun beds, drying rack, and a jacuzzi. Complimentary fruit bowl and generous bottled waters replenished daily.

Some rooms with infinity pools. Room blocks generally four storey served by large lifts which could easily accommodate any handicapped persons making the hotel handicap and buggy friendly.

Staff, Service centre, and Room service
Dependable, fast, and very good. Staff pleasant, friendly, and consistently polite. Lifeguards friendly and attentive. Spoken English very good.

What we all love ...

For him and her
Facial spa and back massage at The Spa, fitness centre, fresh young coconut juice, and the daily happy hour. Drinks at the Luna Bar better than Beachcomber. Apple Mojito and Margarita, very good.

For the family
Lazy river, diving area, main pool and its pool bar, Mare restaurant (see separate review), and the surf and turf buffet with live entertainment by the beach. Good water sports. Sun beds no problem.

For the children
Mini and large water slides, kids club, children's pool, fish and crunchy chips, lemon iced tea, loads of friendly children from all over the world, and daily children's activities

What we did not like ...
Treated water outlet open to the beach with a lot of standing water, mosquitos and effluent smell uncomfortably close to the beachcomber dining area. This needs to be properly dealt with. The treated water outlet is immediately next to the buoyed swimming area. Clearly a health hazard.

Tip:
1. Double check bills before signing and ask copies of receipts before final settlement upon check-out.
2. Cheap local shop selling all sorts of children's toys (water guns, floats, beach stuff, etc), mini supermarkets, local exchange and atms available at Karon town, just 20 mins walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Although a bit expensive, the sea facing room, higher floor provides a good view of the sea and suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Onbarefeet

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you very much for your positive reviews regarding the location, fast & smooth checking in, rooms and hotel facilities.

Thank you again for your concern regarding treated water pipe which does not belong to the hotel, however, we are monitoring the condition of the sea water regularly by taking samples for in-depth analysis and the results always show that the sea water is safe to swim in. Our team is also working on the standing water which could cause mosquitoes and unpleasant smell by the area of Beachcomber.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The most impressive part of this resort is the rooms. Feels like a a beautiful home. I have never been in a room this beautiful. Take a bubble bath in the outdoor Jacuzzi on the balcony with an amazing sea view (see my pictures). You will remember this for ever.
The food at the restaurants were fantastic.

A bit expensive for Thailand. This was the second nicest resort I have ever stayed at (Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas is by far number 1). For the price, I will not come again. Too expensive at $340 per night.

Room Tip: Get a room at the highest level up the mountain. Amazing view from up there. Especially when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear md99

We are extremely delighted to read your wonderful review. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with us.

In regards to the room rate, the rates depend on seasonality and the time of booking. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at a different time of the year when the room rate is more competitive.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several nights in March. Our room was located in building 9, I have to say - one of the best locations ever! Close to the beach with direct beach access and close to Karon - you can even take 15 minutes walk there - no need to take a taxi if you are able to walk on the beach.
Breakfast is lovely with great selection, staff is fast and efficient. Great hotel for families with kids - our family spent a lot of time by the water park and lazy rivers.
Gym is nice, could have more equipment but this is hotel gym, not professional, so this is explainable.
Had a couple treatment at the spa, which was a great pleasure.
Mare Restaurant is great and with nice atmosphere and great food. We also liked buffet dinners at the Cove - especially seafood and steak night. Taking into account quality and quantity of the food, this is good value for money. I can't understand those who complain about the prices.
Lobby is too small, but we only spent time there for check-in and check-out.
Very friendly and good staff - I would like to say thank you to Beedee, Marina and a pool bar supervisor - always smiling and giving great service.
Overall, great value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Al K

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent experience at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

We are extremely glad to know that you enjoyed hotel facilities and the service, specially our team members were friendly and always had a smile on their faces. I have passed the message on to them.

We look forward to your return soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Centara for 6 nights, Brilliant 5 Star Family Resort, staff were friendly and helpful,
excellent check-in with Yuri and the Breakfast was Excellent. My son thoroughly enjoyed the Rock Jump and the Private beach was perfect. Had a fantastic ocean facing room...Great property would definitely be back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Josh007

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you had a great stay with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket. We can not wait to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamunanagar, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 4 Nights from 19 March to 2013 to 23 March there.We were six family in six rooms.
I ll specify point wise:-
1) Room toiletries was so basic you can get better in any 3- star hotel in india.
2)In room service takes minimum 45 minutes even to deliver a water bottle.
3) Hotel is dominated by House keeping staff , i dunno , might be some union.Hotel Manager has no say on them.
4) Daily room cleaning was so poor that they dunno even care to refill your soap or conditioner (this is the only toiletries they provide including shower cap) .Water bottles which is 4 complimentary per day is not refilled or replaced during cleaning , you have to always call for that and another wait for half an hour .
5) When i complained to Customer Relationship manager during my check out , She (Some european Lady) just get aside by saying i only cater European and Russian customer.Hell where Indian Tourist should go.
6)I literally have to shout every night on reception for house keeping and room service.

The list in endless ... please friend this is not a 5-star hotel but a 3- star hotel and worst .Please prefer le -meridian (if you like to stay on Beach0 or else Holiday inn at patong.

Room Tip: Avoid it any cost.Mere wastage of your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ankur 202

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our hotel.
Firstly, we would like to point out that our hotel has many guests from all over the world, including a large number of first-time and returning guests from India. The vast majority of these guests find their stay an enjoyable and memorable experience and behave with grace and appropriateness towards our staff and facilities.

We would like to answer your specific criticisms but before I do so, let us first look at the arrival of your party at our hotel.

Your initial party with a booking for 4 rooms arrived about 2pm on 19th March. Two rooms were immediately available however due to our high occupancy level there was a need to wait 1 hour for the remaining 2 rooms. You were unhappy with this and demanded compensation, not just for the two rooms with late check-in but for your whole party, including two rooms that weren’t due to check –in until the following day. Our duty manager quite reasonably offered an amount of room credit for the rooms affected. You vociferously demanded more but after some time you reluctantly accepted the offer.

We realise that late check-in is not acceptable however a delay of 1 hour is not totally unreasonable and certainly doesn’t warrant the level of compensation you were demanding.
Now let me address your specific points.

1. The toiletries proved in each room consist of shampoo, soap, conditioner, bath gel and body lotion. These are replenished on a daily basis or more often when guests make reasonable requests for additional supplies. The supply is more than adequate for the number of guests per room. What is not expected, is for guests to raid the Housekeepers trolley taking handfuls of supplies and when politely asked to desist to reply, “I’ll take what I need”

2. In Room Dining, prides itself on ensuring the delivery of a meal or other requested items within 30 minutes. The specific incident you mention relates to a call you made at 11.44pm, ordering a number of Indian food dishes. You were informed that the Indian Chef was not immediately available and asked if you would be prepared to wait 45 minutes for delivery. It is recorded that you accepted this. In fact the food was delivered to your room at 00.20 but the waiter was required to ring and knock at the door 6 times before it was answered. You then asked for extra cutlery and tableware, which took another 10 minutes to deliver.

3. There are no unions in the hotel. Guests who continuously make demands of the Housekeeping department will undoubtedly see more of them. Housekeeping Managers and supervisors will also try to resolve issues relating to the room, particularly where staff performance, welfare or safety is concerned. Staff welfare became a concern when you refused to let a housekeeper leave a room until she had cleaned it for the fourth time that day.

4. Each room is cleaned on a daily basis and towels are replaced where necessary or at the request or indication of the guest. There is an additional evening turn-down service. Four complimentary bottles of water are provided per day. Again reasonable guests find this more than adequate and the more environmentally conscious often do not want their towels changed that often.

Your party however regularly demanded that the room be cleaned and towels changed in excess of 4 times a day and demanded in excess of 10 complimentary bottles of water per day. The primary reason that the towels were being soiled, it would appear, is due to the fact you were using them on the floor to sit on and to eat food on. The Housekeepers often found the towels on the floor covered in discarded food.

5. According to the member of staff you spoke to, you asked if she was the Customer Relations Manager, to which she replied, “No I’m the Russian Guest Relations Officer but can I help you?” At which you turned and walked away.

6. It is recorded by our Call Centre and Reception that you did indeed ‘shout’ and demand all kinds of service on numerous occasions every night. When asked on many occasions by the Call Centre to repeat your incessant requests in a more reasonable manner, you simply put the phone down.

It should also be mentioned that other guests found your group’s loud and demanding attitude both in reception and in the restaurant quite noticeable.

We are sorry that we couldn’t satisfy your high demands and hope you will enjoy your future holidays in Thailand, even if it not at our hotel.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Centara Grand Beach for 4 nights in March and I had to say we had an excellent time. The trip was for my birthday and we had booked a deluxe pool suite. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told our room was upgraded to a luxury pool suite which the pool was twice the size as the deluxe pool suite. The kids were so happy in the room playing in our own private pool that they didn't want to leave the room. It was also very hot outside during the day and having your own private pool in the shade was just heavenly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They always see to it that our concerns are being taking care of. They also sent us a wonderful birthday cake which made our trip so much more memorable. The hotel is right on the beach and our room is in Block 6, which was very close to the pool and the beach. We didn't get a sea view room because the pool suites are on the bottom floor, but the room was right next to the lazy river and it was nice to be so close to the pool. The sunset view from the beach was amazing. The resort is close to Karon town and Patong and it was a very short taxi ride to both locations for some shopping. You can also walk to Karon and it was about a 10 minute walk. The breakfast was one of the best that we've had, and had a good variety of asian and western choices. We all had a very good time at the Centara Grand Beach and although our stay was short, it was one of our best trips. We'll definately stay there again when we visit Phuket. The resort is excellent.

Room Tip: If you want seaview, choose a spa suite on higher floors. The pool suites are on the bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear LisaCWong

We are extremely delighted to read your review, thank you for sharing your experience. I have shared your kind words with among our team members.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#14 Business Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.