We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Tourist BeAware!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 73 hotels in Karon
Yamunanagar, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Indian Tourist BeAware!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 4 Nights from 19 March to 2013 to 23 March there.We were six family in six rooms.
I ll specify point wise:-
1) Room toiletries was so basic you can get better in any 3- star hotel in india.
2)In room service takes minimum 45 minutes even to deliver a water bottle.
3) Hotel is dominated by House keeping staff , i dunno , might be some union.Hotel Manager has no say on them.
4) Daily room cleaning was so poor that they dunno even care to refill your soap or conditioner (this is the only toiletries they provide including shower cap) .Water bottles which is 4 complimentary per day is not refilled or replaced during cleaning , you have to always call for that and another wait for half an hour .
5) When i complained to Customer Relationship manager during my check out , She (Some european Lady) just get aside by saying i only cater European and Russian customer.Hell where Indian Tourist should go.
6)I literally have to shout every night on reception for house keeping and room service.

The list in endless ... please friend this is not a 5-star hotel but a 3- star hotel and worst .Please prefer le -meridian (if you like to stay on Beach0 or else Holiday inn at patong.

Room Tip: Avoid it any cost.Mere wastage of your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ankur 202

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our hotel.
Firstly, we would like to point out that our hotel has many guests from all over the world, including a large number of first-time and returning guests from India. The vast majority of these guests find their stay an enjoyable and memorable experience and behave with grace and appropriateness towards our staff and facilities.

We would like to answer your specific criticisms but before I do so, let us first look at the arrival of your party at our hotel.

Your initial party with a booking for 4 rooms arrived about 2pm on 19th March. Two rooms were immediately available however due to our high occupancy level there was a need to wait 1 hour for the remaining 2 rooms. You were unhappy with this and demanded compensation, not just for the two rooms with late check-in but for your whole party, including two rooms that weren’t due to check –in until the following day. Our duty manager quite reasonably offered an amount of room credit for the rooms affected. You vociferously demanded more but after some time you reluctantly accepted the offer.

We realise that late check-in is not acceptable however a delay of 1 hour is not totally unreasonable and certainly doesn’t warrant the level of compensation you were demanding.
Now let me address your specific points.

1. The toiletries proved in each room consist of shampoo, soap, conditioner, bath gel and body lotion. These are replenished on a daily basis or more often when guests make reasonable requests for additional supplies. The supply is more than adequate for the number of guests per room. What is not expected, is for guests to raid the Housekeepers trolley taking handfuls of supplies and when politely asked to desist to reply, “I’ll take what I need”

2. In Room Dining, prides itself on ensuring the delivery of a meal or other requested items within 30 minutes. The specific incident you mention relates to a call you made at 11.44pm, ordering a number of Indian food dishes. You were informed that the Indian Chef was not immediately available and asked if you would be prepared to wait 45 minutes for delivery. It is recorded that you accepted this. In fact the food was delivered to your room at 00.20 but the waiter was required to ring and knock at the door 6 times before it was answered. You then asked for extra cutlery and tableware, which took another 10 minutes to deliver.

3. There are no unions in the hotel. Guests who continuously make demands of the Housekeeping department will undoubtedly see more of them. Housekeeping Managers and supervisors will also try to resolve issues relating to the room, particularly where staff performance, welfare or safety is concerned. Staff welfare became a concern when you refused to let a housekeeper leave a room until she had cleaned it for the fourth time that day.

4. Each room is cleaned on a daily basis and towels are replaced where necessary or at the request or indication of the guest. There is an additional evening turn-down service. Four complimentary bottles of water are provided per day. Again reasonable guests find this more than adequate and the more environmentally conscious often do not want their towels changed that often.

Your party however regularly demanded that the room be cleaned and towels changed in excess of 4 times a day and demanded in excess of 10 complimentary bottles of water per day. The primary reason that the towels were being soiled, it would appear, is due to the fact you were using them on the floor to sit on and to eat food on. The Housekeepers often found the towels on the floor covered in discarded food.

5. According to the member of staff you spoke to, you asked if she was the Customer Relations Manager, to which she replied, “No I’m the Russian Guest Relations Officer but can I help you?” At which you turned and walked away.

6. It is recorded by our Call Centre and Reception that you did indeed ‘shout’ and demand all kinds of service on numerous occasions every night. When asked on many occasions by the Call Centre to repeat your incessant requests in a more reasonable manner, you simply put the phone down.

It should also be mentioned that other guests found your group’s loud and demanding attitude both in reception and in the restaurant quite noticeable.

We are sorry that we couldn’t satisfy your high demands and hope you will enjoy your future holidays in Thailand, even if it not at our hotel.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    294
    132
    51
    30
See reviews for
498
371
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Centara Grand Beach for 4 nights in March and I had to say we had an excellent time. The trip was for my birthday and we had booked a deluxe pool suite. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told our room was upgraded to a luxury pool suite which the pool was twice the size as the deluxe pool suite. The kids were so happy in the room playing in our own private pool that they didn't want to leave the room. It was also very hot outside during the day and having your own private pool in the shade was just heavenly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They always see to it that our concerns are being taking care of. They also sent us a wonderful birthday cake which made our trip so much more memorable. The hotel is right on the beach and our room is in Block 6, which was very close to the pool and the beach. We didn't get a sea view room because the pool suites are on the bottom floor, but the room was right next to the lazy river and it was nice to be so close to the pool. The sunset view from the beach was amazing. The resort is close to Karon town and Patong and it was a very short taxi ride to both locations for some shopping. You can also walk to Karon and it was about a 10 minute walk. The breakfast was one of the best that we've had, and had a good variety of asian and western choices. We all had a very good time at the Centara Grand Beach and although our stay was short, it was one of our best trips. We'll definately stay there again when we visit Phuket. The resort is excellent.

Room Tip: If you want seaview, choose a spa suite on higher floors. The pool suites are on the bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear LisaCWong

We are extremely delighted to read your review, thank you for sharing your experience. I have shared your kind words with among our team members.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent the last 3 nights of our Phuket holiday at the Centara Grand to catch up with friends. Wouldn't normally have chosen this hotel as we like the quieter area of Bang Tao but so glad we came across it. The pool facilities are fantastic for kids with a lazy river, dive area and slides. The staff are friendly and fun but also diligent and really keep a watch on all the children. Have never used kids clubs before but my 8 and 10 year old wandered in and out happily and had lots to keep them occupied. Location is great at the end of Karon beach and quite separate from other hotels. We ate at the hotel all 3 nights as one of the party had an upset stomach and didn't want to venture out . Food was good but a little pricey. Entertainment provided was imitation Western style music and dancing. Kids enjoyed it but would have been better with some traditional thai style. Perhaps they do that on other nights. We stayed in The Premium Deluxe Spa room which offered great beach views. They are on the top floor. Swim up Bar is very handy, only wish they provided a happy hour there as it was so warm we really didn't want to get out of the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jlfamily29

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort for your recent stay and sharing your experience here. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our pool facilities, Kids clubs and the friendliness of our team members.

We do have different types of show on another nights depends on the dinner themes i.e. Roaring 20’s Show, Phuket Tin Mining, Seafood Show, Brazilian Show and Polynesian Show.

Hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had stayed at other Centara properties but were somewhat disappointed. I should say from the start that we are in our middle seventies and though reasonably fit we found the excess of stairs and steps very hard going. It was not easy to get onto the beach because there is a fringe of impenetrable bushes which the town will not let them remove. The quickest way into the town was along the beach but this involved fording a river in bare feet and the shuttle bus only made 2 trips and 1 return each afternoon. There is a huge number of Eastern Europeans in the hotel, in fact in 2 weeks we did not meet any other English nationals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear rayorgill

Thank you for taking your time sharing your feedback with us.

Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is located at the most secluded area of Karon Beach, with direct access to the beach and with lush green hills behind the property where it is to give our guests the utmost relaxation, privacy and luxury.

The complimentary shuttle bus service is provided twice a day, however, a taxi counter at the hotel lobby is also available.

The hotel has a good mix of nationalities including European, Asian and English nationals.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were very excited about this resort and booked a nonrefundable rate based on previous good comments. Lesson learned from our experience at Centara. We arrived on Phuket after lengthy travel and were excited to check in and get to the beach. When we got to the hotel we were told that the room wasn't ready due to maintenance and we couldn't check in until 5:00- 3 hours after the check in time. We expressed that this wasn't acceptable and were kindly given free lunch in the restaurant and told someone would come get us at 5:00. Lunch was terrible, ants all over the inside restaurant table and the staff basically ignored us even when we wandered around looking for a restroom. 5:00 came and went so we called the travel agent and asked to be moved. We only had 3 days on the island and Centara cut into hours of prime beach time. The travel agent tried to call and explain to the Centara management that since they couldn't honor the contract with the advertised check-in time we wished to leave to try to find another hotel. The Centara management refused since we had a non-refundable reservation and insisted we would be liable for the costs since we would be breaking the contract. I found this response to be ridiculous considering they couldn't honor their advertised check-in time for the room type we reserved. We also requested in-person to the management of the hotel and explained there was nothing they could do to make up for the lost time time on the beach--the very reason why we chose this resort--and they still refused to let us check out. This soured our entire experience at this resort. It was very kind of them to pay for our 12 dollar lunch but that didn't make up for the experience we had and the loss of daylight beach time of 1 out of the 3 days. We also found the buffets at Centara to be tired, the food sat out for long periods not getting refreshed. We called down for towels one morning and waited 30 minutes. When they didn't appear we called again and the front desk seemed confused and said they would send them right away. They arrived 20 minutes later. Too late- we showered and used dirty beach towels in the meantime since the theme of this resort seems to be "your time isn't valuable to us". We had a great experience at all the other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Thailand, including a couple of 3 star hotels which had much better customer service than Centara.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Accomodation in Thailand is known for being average, however you do expect it to be clean.

We went to Centara Grand and stay there for 7 nights, we were given a room on the quieter side of the hotel which was great! Until day 3 when I found ants in my wardrobe and all over my clothes! I found them before leaving to go out to a show which we had paid for in advance so we couldn't be late. I sprayed lots of insect spray in my wardrobe and left.

By the time we returned and rang hotel staff, most of the ants had either died or had left and only a few were remaining. Further to this I had insect bites on my legs from wearing clothes which were in my cupboard. The hotel manager was sent to inspect and he said it was fine. However I insisted that all my clothes be washed but the hotel refused to pay the cost of this, but as I had insect bites I felt this needed to be done regardless so I sent most of my clothes for dry cleaning.
The hotel manager did move us to a different room which was a little smaller but cleaner! We didnt have any issues in this room with insects however the bathroom didn't look as if it had been cleaned properly. But as the staff were so unhelpful the first time I felt I couldn't complain about this.

We had bed and breakfast package at the hotel and even at the cereal bar/fruit stand there was plenty of ants eating away at the fruit. But besides this, the food was pretty average.

They have a really nice italian restaurant within the hotel, and the food is brilliant!

The gym is very big clean and quiet. I really liked it.

The spa - really nice, staff are very knowledgeable and treatments are good value for money. I thoroughly enjoyed my massage and the natural drinks I received after my treatment.
If you find the spa treatments pricey, you can get massages on the beach for £5-£8 by locals.

They have two pools, one is very quiet and on a rooftop, its very scenic. The second pool is larger, has a view of the beach and has a family atmosphere with a bar within the pool (which was fab).

Overall our stay was average and I proably wouldn't return to this hotel! If you would like to go on excursions, I would advise to book these within the town centre as they are more expensive to book them with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed in Oct 2012 for 10 nights and found all aspects of the property from staff service to quality of food and grounds as excellent. Some other guests we spoke to had a few negative comments re length of time to check in and some staff service issues but from our point of view would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Gary H

We are delighted to read your wonderful review here regarding your stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#11 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.