We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located on the best part of the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 Reviews
Aland Island, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Located on the best part of the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

ROOM
We stayed in a Spa Deluxe room with Jacuzzi 02-09 March and enjoyed our stay very much. The room (647) was on the highest floor and had a view of the garden, pools and beach/sea. Great room otherwise but perhaps a little bit too hard bed for our taste. For improvement we would suggest to change the manual wooden curtain in front of the balcony-doors into an electrical one(instead of the manual) as the sound when you pull it up and down (daily...) is just horrible...
A special thank you to our room-cleaner, Pui, who did a great job every day!
BREAKFAST
We found plenty of choices for different nationalities. Please note that there are also food-stations OUTSIDE, omelettes for example. Our new favourite was Roti (a kind of banana pancake) combined with frozen honey-yoghurt!
SERVICE
Everyone we met, from reception, spa, breakfast, the Cove, Luna bar, towel-service and guards were very friendly, professional and polite. A golden rule to remember is that "If you are friendly and polite to others, they will be the same to you..." Many times we felt sorry for the staff working, as many of the guests seems to come from "the never smile - do not care for anyone else but yourself-lands"...
FOOD
We love to eat out when we are in Thailand so we only ate at the Cove when it was Sea-food-night. My husband simply loves sea-food so for him it was a treat, with plenty of dishes to choose from. If you want a bottle of wine it will cost around 1200 baht, we tried a rosé from Australia and didn´t like it, so be sure to know what you order...
For lunch we usually went to Kais at the end of the beach, excellent Pad thai with chicken or prawns. If you go there - give 100 baht for tip after payment and see (listen to!) what happens!
In the evenings we walked into Karon and found a very nice restaurant called Talay with the best Seafood soup with coconut-milk!
There is a part of the road, just outside the hotel, that is pretty dangerous, so if you have children I would advice you to take a taxi/tuk-tuk from the taxi-station outside the hotel instead.
BEACH
As we are not "pool-people" but "beach-people" one of the main reasons we chose this hotel was the location - directly on the beach. The choice turned out to be a good one as this is a more quiet part of the beach but still very nice to swim out from. You even have some rocks at the end, if you are into snorkeling. BUT the hotel does not have enough beach-chairs on the beach. If you come later than 0800 in the morning the chairs will already be taken. While this didn´t seem to be a problem by the pools as there were always plenty of free chairs all day long.. If you manage to get sun-chairs on the beach you will be VERY close to the neighbours...So most of the days we went to the local chair-owner to the left and paid 200 baht per day. Which we didn´t mind so much to do, as we like to support different local businesses, but I imagine it can be very annoying for others...
A word of warning to parents with children - some waves that roll in can be very big, so
don´t let your children alone into the water unless they are used to big waves.
WEATHER
We were in luck the week we went, sunshine every day and only rain one evening. It was very warm during the days, so one needs to remember to drink water. We got the habit of drinking two coconuts every-day - it says that it balances the electrolytes in the body - perfect to drink in the heat.
MOSQUITOS
Yes, they come every evening after sunset... Just be sure to have the balcony-doors closed, especially if you have a light on inside, and spray yourself with Sketolene, and all will be fine!
TOWELS
You are provided with towel-cards from the reception that you change into towels by the towel-station by the pool. If you stay for longer than one night you do not need to fill in your room-number and sign to just to get the cards back again, simply just ask for CHANGE of towels. Then on the day before your departure you sign out your cards to leave by reception when you check out.
KARON
All in all we had a nice, relaxing holiday, but Karon beach is perhaps a little bit "too big" for us. We tend to like smaller, more quiet places, and although the hotel is situated in a peacful place and that part of the beach is great, the feeling changes as you come towards the middle of the beach. But this is completely personal preferences, other people love when it is crowded, noisy and full of action, and here you can of course have both sides!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sea-Globetrotter

Appreciate your time for posting a feedback about your experience at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience, and that enjoyed our Seafood night at the Cove

Thank you for your suggestion regarding electric curtain and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    338
    152
    56
    33
See reviews for
569
423
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a great hotel and very well located. It is at the end of the beach and so you can walk from the hotel & pool directly onto the beach without having to cross a road. There are no other hotels in the area where you can do this. We found the hotel and our room were clean, the A/C worked fine, we slept really well, the pool was fine, there were enough sun-beds and umbrellas.

The hotel staff are very friendly and always have a smile on their faces. Ok, so it's probablly not 5* but it's certainly 4* and hey, you're on holiday, ignore some of the petty comments about trivial little things and just enjoy yourselves. So the service may be a little slow occasionally but chill-out, like I said, you're on holiday - you will get your drinks and is it really a problem if they take 3 minutes and not 1?

The dinner buffet is just fine, costs about 24GBP per person - yes it may be expensive compared to the cheap cafe on the beach but in the grand scheme of things it's an OK price. My advice would be to eat in the hotel for about half your stay and for the other half venture into Karon or Kata (both just a short tuk-tuk ride from the hotel costing 4GBP and 6GBP respectively) and try out something more authentic and help support the local restaurants/businesses.

They have free internet at reception and in the bar - excellent as if this was available in the rooms then the children would spend all day in the room on their phones/iPads etc.

Don't do the trip to Phi-Phi Island - you'll feel like cattle being herded. We did it and when we arrived on Maya beach there were thousands of people there. You spend most of the time in a speed boat bouncing along at about 50kmh. It's a waste of a day.

Do have a massage in Karon/Kata. Do have a go at parasailing on the beach and rent a jet-ski. Do take a tuk-tuk up to the Big Bhuda and Chalong Wat and have a go on the elephants on the way (just arrange it with the tuk-tuk drivers outside the hotel, costs 28GBP for a morning for a grouo of 4)

Take cash (GBP, US$ or Euros) with you and change it in Karon/Kata - you'll get about 10-15% more than at the hotel. The hotel rooms all have a safe to keep your cash.

Room Tip: Don't go for the rooms with private pools - they are on the ground floor and most are not very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear SMIFrance

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing the positive experience of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket experience here.

It was a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially the secluded beach which is indeed our highlight in the resort.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The room condition of the resort is so so. House keeper does not turn over pillow, I sleep using contaminated pillow. However it's pretty good condition except for that pillow. Its service is good and nice but slow, so if you want to be served in time, you should request your order with sufficient time margins. Buffet at cove is not good considering its price so you should be better to order a la carte menu. In spite of above shortcomings, pool is superior!!! If you have children, it is very appealing points.

It is very good for families that have babies but it is ordinary for couples or friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and for having exercised your patience with our Thai service. The speed will be improved as long as the charm remains.

We rarely receive adverse comments on the food served on our evening buffet and will pay particular attention for the ones to come.

The resort was designed with the family guests in mind and have also been praised for the facilities we offer to couples and parties of friends.

Kind regards,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel if you are fit with all the steps up to the rooms . Pool area great for kids but service from the bar very slow the waiters more interested in playing on there mobile phones than serving . Management must look at this and give more training . Restaurants very good especially the Italian service first class along with the food . The girls in the spa were excellent with my two daughters age 13 + 11 they were treated like princesses first class . The staff at the lunar bar were very friendly and polite any time we were there . Down side the reception staff did not have a clue what they were doing most of the time . Handed our passports and credit card to them on arrival then they could not find them said they did not have them then they turned up in a envelope at bottom of drawer . All in all good hotel but some staff need more training

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us recently.

The pool waiters must make their priority like anyone else in the resort to serve our guest, trainings are in place to improve their speed and efficiency.

We thank you for reporting this and also for your positive comments recognizing the good service and food at Mare the Italian Restaurant and for Luna bar for the friendly staff.
We added more efficient staff at reception and will increase the number of trainings with the new Training Manager starting soon.

Please accept our apology for the short falls encountered and thank you for the good words.

Yours sincerely,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sablet
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks here and loved it. The staff are so amazing and freindly, just lovely. The pool was great, plenty of sunbeds and towels. The restaurants were great, we had the buffet most nights, such a choice and so fresh, every night was a treat. Happy hour cocktails were a must !
Our room was cleaned everyday and bottled water provide free. The security guards were always happy and made sure we were safe when leaving the hotel.
Went into Karon and Kata for a bit of niightlife, great fun with the bars and loud music, great atmosphere. Loved the Tuk Tuks, especially at night when they were lit up and had music playing.
Thank-you to all the lovely staff, as a family of three we were very happy and friendly but we noticed that the staff do have to put up with some guests who are very rude....but they kept smiling even then.
Loved it, thank-you.

Room Tip: We had room 534....on the 3rd floor, lovely and quiet with great views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AliInf

We are extremely happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked our facilities.

Thank you to highlight the friendliness of staff, restaurants, room service and our happy security guards on this review.

We truly hope to welcome to back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket again soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our experience was much different than many described. When we arrived the staff seemed cranky. We are a family of four and shared one room, which was said to fit 2 adults and 2 kids. Technically, I guess it did as we had three of us in one big bed and a roll away brought in that took up all remaining floor space. This we could have gotten over if it had not been for the sewer smell that took over our room every time the air conditioning was turned off, which is every time you leave the room. This was also a problem in our friend's room. We also had to hold our breathe walking back and forth to the pool area as by the restaurant was very stinky, too. We spend much of the vacation trying not to smell [--]! The pool area itself was good fun. The landscaping was not up to par as there was tons of dead foliage around. The beach was HORRIBLE. Zero beach chairs, garbage on the sand and junk piled up around the perimeter. I was very disappointed especially after all the good reviews. I'm just trying to keep it real and let people know what to really expect. I would never in a million years recommend this place - especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We acknowledge your review posted Feb 28th and thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday in Phuket.

I am disappointed to read that unlike the majority of the guests who posted recent reviews you did not have same positive feelings.

Not knowing who you are it made difficult to track the room you were given on arrival. The majority king size bedroom are furnished with a day bed which can be turned into a Children bed at night. On request, we often add an extra bed. I believe this is what was offered to you.

End of February and for a day; we encountered a broken pipe in our sewage system which was repaired within hours.

The season has been particularly dry this year making difficult for our gardeners to keep up with the dry leaves collection in our 6 hectares of landscaped property. Surely the arrival of a better leader as Chief Gardener and some seasonal rain will bring back our garden state as it should be.

As for the beach you must refer to the part which remains outside our control, our part being racked and maintained 3 times daily by our own staff.
Being newer we remain cheaper than our 3 direct competitors in the area.

Warm regards,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I went to this hotel last year in September 2012. The hotel is fabulous, staff were very friendly and always helpful, and the rooms are very clean and bright.

We paid to upgrade our room to a pool room but as the weather at this time of the year was not too great we decided to change back to a deluxe sea view spa room, which we found was lot better as the Jacuzzi tub was warmer than the pool. The staff were very helpful in moving us back to our original room.

The hotel is situated with lovely views and is within close walking distance (approx 5-7mins) to the nearest town Karon where there are lots of restaurants, shops and a market.

Me and my husband are both vegetarians and often found it difficult to find a good choice of food but the head chef (Anand) in the main restaurant was lovely and made us food just as we wanted. The price is reasonable too.

The pool area was lively and clean, and there was plenty of sunbeds available (if was off peak when we went).

We would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back with our children too as it has loads for children to do (slides, lazy river, children’s pools and activities, dunking pool).

Thank you staff and Management at Centara for making our holiday a very memorable one.

Mr & Mrs Varsani

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view, the ones which are furthest from the hotel just near the beach great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Dina V Bolton

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are really glad to know that our team made your holiday a special one to remember.

We all look forward to having you at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket again soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#9 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.