We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing lack of customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,261 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing lack of customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have delayed writing this review but feel it is only fair to other potential guests to share our experience which unfortunately was not as good as those of a number of other reviewers. The reason that we have marked this property as average is purely down to the poor management and lack of courtesy shown to us during our stay. The location, spa etc is very good.

We travelled in October from the UK to meet relatives who were travelling from Australia. It was a particularly special holiday as our cousin was celebrating a renewal of their wedding vows during our stay in Phuket. Luckily the celebrations themselves were perfect and not affected by the choice of Hotel.

When booking we had been advised to ensure that we booked rooms allowing us access to the Club Lounge so we could meet up with family every evening prior to Dinner. We specifically checked with our Travel Agent that this would be the case when we booked the Premium Spa Deluxe room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony.

We arrived at the Hotel in a rainstorm and I would have to agree with other guests who have said that the corridors become treacherous in wet weather as this is very true. On of our group fell over one evening on a wet floor. First impressions slightly marred by the weather were not great but we also put this down to the fact that we had just left the luxury of the Shangri-La in Bangkok where the environment and service is absolutely first class.

On being shown to our room we discovered that whilst it was slightly tired in terms of decor it had the most fantastic view across the beach. In terms of location it is great. However we also discovered that provisions had not been made in the room for a third person and we were sharing with our daughter. We requested immediately some extra towels etc...but waited about 5 hours to have anything delivered. At the same time we also asked for an ice bucket this also took over 3 requests and arrived some hours later.

As I am sure you will have guessed we were informed that we were not entitled to Club benefits. The story changed with each member of staff we talked to but we did manage to establish that the policy of the Hotel changed last year (after we had made our booking) and only rooms of that class booked directly with the Hotel were entitled to these benefits. We were asked to pay extra which we were not prepared to do on principle. Over the first few days of our stay the Hotel refused to let us have these benefits and made us feel like second class citizens excluded from celebrating with family who we had travelled thousands of miles to see. Our travel agent who we have used on many trips and trust fully emailed the Hotel and asked them to rectify the situation. This was begrudgingly done after I had finally had enough of the upset and demanded to see the General Manager or Managing Director. It appears that the Management are quick to respond to reviews that they do not like on Trip Advisor but not available if you have a problem during your stay.

The Manager also holds a weekly cocktail party and also did not invite us to this but did invite all of the group that travelled from Australia. Not that we would have wished to attend but again we felt that we were deliberately being treated differently.

On a plus side the facilities are generally good. The pools are great for children and it is definitely a good hotel for families.

We are aware that a number of people have suffered from diarrhoea and vomiting during their stays here but apart from one incident with 2 of the children everyone else was absolutely fine.

The food was good (breakfast is very hectic and we would say just about reaching average) and reasonably priced in the restaurants.

The spa is excellent and my partner and I had a couples massage which I would definitely recommend.

Another point that is worth noting (assuming that the Hotel is still operating this policy!) is that there is an option called Baht Bonanza. We were again only made aware of this by our family and friends from Australia as the Hotel did not inform us. You have the option within the first 24 hours of your stay to deposit money with the Hotel to cover the cost of food and beverage/treatments etc...during your stay and dependant on how much you deposit the Hotel will match this. This is really useful if you intend to eat at the Hotel or use the Spa. You will not get any monies returned so worth starting on the cautious side and topping up during your stay.

We will not be returning to this Hotel due to the manner in which we were treated. We have previously stayed at the Cape Panwa and the Merlin Beach and both these Hotels deliver a far better all round experience.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have in writing with you what is and isn't included
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    338
    152
    56
    33
See reviews for
569
424
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from a week at Centara Gran Beach Resort Phuket. We stayed in a Deluxe Pool Suite which was magnificent. The room amenities were super and the resort facilities were No.1. Couldn't ask for more.
If you have kids, you'll love this resort. They will be kept occupied with all the pool and beach activities.

Although the resort runs at quite a high occupancy rate in January, it didn't feel crowded, probably due to the sprawling grounds and the pool that is a central feature.

The resort is located right Karon beach. although its a public beach, being at the end of the beach made it feel quite private. I've read reports about Karon Beach not being clean, but we had no such experience. The water was warm and clear.

A special mention to the Lifeguards. These guys keep an eagle eye on everyone in the water and pool. They also became good friends to our boys 11 and 8. Thanks Yu and Boy. you guys ROCK.

Room Tip: The Pool Suites are good if you want a private dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Rasem G

Thank you very much for your review. It is wonderful to learn that your family enjoyed the time here at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket. We definitely hope to welcome you back in the near future, especially Yu & Boy are looking forward to see Christopher & Thomas again 

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Was really looking forward to this holiday felt very let down was booked early 2012 family of 6 adult s I had requested a High floor quite room booked pool suite when I arrive pool suite s not Hight up and no one had contacted our agent to inform them I went to the front desk with paperwork with my request s in black and white did this make a difference no ..... I asked to see manager who was very nice and moved me and my husband to another room which was higher this turned out to be a blessing as 1st room by lazy river great for the kid s but the life guard for the best part of 2 week s while on duty kept making whay whay sound s nearly evert time a child went down the slide they also was doin repair s to the stair s with banging and drilling ( there must be a quite time to carry out work s and not in new year when resort is most busiest our room was pleasant great views ( thank s front desk manager who we complained to) shower did not work stone cold or boiling hot complained got me nowhere so I shower in the jucuzzi not very private blind s did not fit window s either in the room also noted roof work being carried out with more noise and the staff did not seem to understand english 3 times different staff I asked for tomarto and cucumber not 1 of them new what I wanted and walked away 5 star service defiantly not ......... The spa that was the best time I had at the hotel in 2 week 3 hour s of bliss so can you imagine you work all year for you and your family to have an amazing holiday 3 room s 2 week s lot s of money not at all well spent I also read artical with Bruno T sounded amazing was it no it was not . Two other thing s I would like to mention waste pipe on beach when the sea come s in and is mixed with stream has a very strong smell of urine and stagnant Water ...... POOL SUITES they do have some that sit over the car park honest ........ I wanted to share my time at this resort I am well traveled and have been very blessed to have stayed in some wonderful places and 5 star resort s this is not one of them . JJ

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear JulieJarvis

Thank you very much for sharing with us the difficulties you have experienced during your recent stay.

We have well taken note on your request to have a quiet room on high floor, however, please note that all Deluxe Pool Suites are always on the ground floor, it was not easy to have your room on a high floor as requested eventhough we put you on the highest building.

Due to the safety reason, our life guards need to monitor the traffice by the Lazy River & Water closely.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our spa treatments.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a really lovely stay at Centara Grand Beach.
We stayed in deluxe rooms which were clean and comfortable and had great views.
We started off in the pool suites but I think these rooms are not as good as the normal deluxe rooms.
The hotel is right on the beach. It is a public beach but it was very clean and really good. Massages and drinks are easily accessible from the public vendors. The pool and meals are right by the beach and so logistics are easy. Our kids had a great time in the pool- lazy river, cliff jumping and slides.
Mosquitoes do come out at night but generally the aircon in the room kept them away.
There are small issues but the staff are very helpful and you have to look past any issues.
Overall an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Barrysu

We appreciate your great review on this. We do understand that there were issues reported during your stay, however, we are extreamly delighted that you had an excellent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at centara from 20th dec. the hotel was clean excellent rooms,service. My husband had a terrible accident in the ocean whilst swimming he got caught in a wave that bashed his head on the sand and left no feeling in his arms or legs. The next wave pushed him on his back where he cried for help and some tourists and the life guard at centara pulled him out and the hotels medical team organised an ambulance for him.due to language barriers the hotel sent their head of security Karn with him to the local hospital, who helped him see a doctor and sorted him out. He organised a taxi to go back to the hotel escorted my husband till he was comfortable. The hotel guest relations sent a note and flower to wish him well. We are extremely happy with the hotel going out of their way to look after my husband in this situation. Karn and the nurse and rest of the staff deserve a thumbs up for the commendable way of handling the whole incident.

Overall my children 7 and 9 loved the hotel and facilities.breakfast excellent. It's centara is located on the beach front unless several other hotels in Phuket. Where one has to cross the road to access the beach.
We would go back to this hotel Nd recommend this hotel to anyone anytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear FamilyfromKenya

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time placing a great review on this.
We are extreamly glad to know that your family enjoyed the holiday with us. Karn, the nurse and all our team members hope that your husband is doing great.

Hope to welcome you and your family again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I came here to celebrate my 20th aniversary with my wife and we feel we took the best choice. We had the chance to see others hotel in the area and this one has the best facilities; the gyms is better than one I frequent close to home :)

Room Tip: - Don't miss the sea food nights. - Rooms in front of the beach are the best - Area for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear LBalan

We are glad to learn that you had a great time with us on your special occasion.
Hope to see you both again for 21st aniversary celebration :)

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We returned a year later with great expectations. Sadly the booking experience was not what we expected especially for returning guests requesting connecting rooms and no guarantees could be given. We felt that this is not acceptable in the case of returning guest who were now spending more having requesting connecting pool suites. Anyway, we got lucky and got our requested rooms. The hotel recently opened a beach restaurant deck and secured beach space for many loungers on the beach. Regrettably staff compliment was not increased to cater for the increased numbers of sunbathers using the now much larger pool and beach areas. Pool side service has become very slow, new staff brought in have very limited english and ones expectations of a 5 star hotel often not met. For example pool side assistants were reluctant to arrange more umbrellas, sweeteners for teas often not available in some pool side bars, towels at pool side not always available, room service slow, standard of food very variable, construction taking place from early in the morning outside ones rooms during peak Christmas times. A plans needs to also be made to ensure that if pool or beach beds are booked with towels that these are not simply taken over by other aggressive guests. This practice also occurred at breakfast when after finding a table and requesting tea and then going to the buffet one would return only to find some other family at your table with your tea. Complaints to the attending staff were just ignored and shoulders shrugged. We will not go back to this hotel unless management are able to confirm that these issues have been specifically dealt with. They were related to Christoffe who is a senior manager at the hotel and hopefully he can post a reply. Given the hotels great location and facilities it will be a pity and shame if it is not attended to.

Room Tip: Building 8 or 9, Ground floor if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jeff1996,

Thank you very much for sharing with us the difficulties you have experienced during your recent stay.

As our returning guest we are sincerely distressed to read that it was a sad return and hopefully you will give us another chance to turn that into a happy return next visit.

I hereby confirm that all the issues you mentioned have been dealt with:
-The beach club which is now three month old has been totally finalized and is now up and running properly
-We have increased the number of food & beverage attendants on the beach and by the pool, intensively trained them and hired two more supervisors for better control of our standard of service
-A new lot of pool towels have been received shortly after your stay to cope with a full house
-The breakfast staff is now well supervised with the presence on the floor of the F&B manager or his assistant every service

I do hope you had an enjoyable time at our sister property in Samui and that it made it up for the shortfall encountered during your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to demonstrate the improvements made.

Warm regards from Karon beach,

Christophe Gestin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#9 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.