We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else not 5 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 69 hotels in Karon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else not 5 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Was really looking forward to this holiday felt very let down was booked early 2012 family of 6 adult s I had requested a High floor quite room booked pool suite when I arrive pool suite s not Hight up and no one had contacted our agent to inform them I went to the front desk with paperwork with my request s in black and white did this make a difference no ..... I asked to see manager who was very nice and moved me and my husband to another room which was higher this turned out to be a blessing as 1st room by lazy river great for the kid s but the life guard for the best part of 2 week s while on duty kept making whay whay sound s nearly evert time a child went down the slide they also was doin repair s to the stair s with banging and drilling ( there must be a quite time to carry out work s and not in new year when resort is most busiest our room was pleasant great views ( thank s front desk manager who we complained to) shower did not work stone cold or boiling hot complained got me nowhere so I shower in the jucuzzi not very private blind s did not fit window s either in the room also noted roof work being carried out with more noise and the staff did not seem to understand english 3 times different staff I asked for tomarto and cucumber not 1 of them new what I wanted and walked away 5 star service defiantly not ......... The spa that was the best time I had at the hotel in 2 week 3 hour s of bliss so can you imagine you work all year for you and your family to have an amazing holiday 3 room s 2 week s lot s of money not at all well spent I also read artical with Bruno T sounded amazing was it no it was not . Two other thing s I would like to mention waste pipe on beach when the sea come s in and is mixed with stream has a very strong smell of urine and stagnant Water ...... POOL SUITES they do have some that sit over the car park honest ........ I wanted to share my time at this resort I am well traveled and have been very blessed to have stayed in some wonderful places and 5 star resort s this is not one of them . JJ

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear JulieJarvis

Thank you very much for sharing with us the difficulties you have experienced during your recent stay.

We have well taken note on your request to have a quiet room on high floor, however, please note that all Deluxe Pool Suites are always on the ground floor, it was not easy to have your room on a high floor as requested eventhough we put you on the highest building.

Due to the safety reason, our life guards need to monitor the traffice by the Lazy River & Water closely.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our spa treatments.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    287
    132
    51
    30
See reviews for
492
365
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a really lovely stay at Centara Grand Beach.
We stayed in deluxe rooms which were clean and comfortable and had great views.
We started off in the pool suites but I think these rooms are not as good as the normal deluxe rooms.
The hotel is right on the beach. It is a public beach but it was very clean and really good. Massages and drinks are easily accessible from the public vendors. The pool and meals are right by the beach and so logistics are easy. Our kids had a great time in the pool- lazy river, cliff jumping and slides.
Mosquitoes do come out at night but generally the aircon in the room kept them away.
There are small issues but the staff are very helpful and you have to look past any issues.
Overall an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Barrysu

We appreciate your great review on this. We do understand that there were issues reported during your stay, however, we are extreamly delighted that you had an excellent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at centara from 20th dec. the hotel was clean excellent rooms,service. My husband had a terrible accident in the ocean whilst swimming he got caught in a wave that bashed his head on the sand and left no feeling in his arms or legs. The next wave pushed him on his back where he cried for help and some tourists and the life guard at centara pulled him out and the hotels medical team organised an ambulance for him.due to language barriers the hotel sent their head of security Karn with him to the local hospital, who helped him see a doctor and sorted him out. He organised a taxi to go back to the hotel escorted my husband till he was comfortable. The hotel guest relations sent a note and flower to wish him well. We are extremely happy with the hotel going out of their way to look after my husband in this situation. Karn and the nurse and rest of the staff deserve a thumbs up for the commendable way of handling the whole incident.

Overall my children 7 and 9 loved the hotel and facilities.breakfast excellent. It's centara is located on the beach front unless several other hotels in Phuket. Where one has to cross the road to access the beach.
We would go back to this hotel Nd recommend this hotel to anyone anytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear FamilyfromKenya

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time placing a great review on this.
We are extreamly glad to know that your family enjoyed the holiday with us. Karn, the nurse and all our team members hope that your husband is doing great.

Hope to welcome you and your family again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I came here to celebrate my 20th aniversary with my wife and we feel we took the best choice. We had the chance to see others hotel in the area and this one has the best facilities; the gyms is better than one I frequent close to home :)

Room Tip: - Don't miss the sea food nights. - Rooms in front of the beach are the best - Area for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear LBalan

We are glad to learn that you had a great time with us on your special occasion.
Hope to see you both again for 21st aniversary celebration :)

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We returned a year later with great expectations. Sadly the booking experience was not what we expected especially for returning guests requesting connecting rooms and no guarantees could be given. We felt that this is not acceptable in the case of returning guest who were now spending more having requesting connecting pool suites. Anyway, we got lucky and got our requested rooms. The hotel recently opened a beach restaurant deck and secured beach space for many loungers on the beach. Regrettably staff compliment was not increased to cater for the increased numbers of sunbathers using the now much larger pool and beach areas. Pool side service has become very slow, new staff brought in have very limited english and ones expectations of a 5 star hotel often not met. For example pool side assistants were reluctant to arrange more umbrellas, sweeteners for teas often not available in some pool side bars, towels at pool side not always available, room service slow, standard of food very variable, construction taking place from early in the morning outside ones rooms during peak Christmas times. A plans needs to also be made to ensure that if pool or beach beds are booked with towels that these are not simply taken over by other aggressive guests. This practice also occurred at breakfast when after finding a table and requesting tea and then going to the buffet one would return only to find some other family at your table with your tea. Complaints to the attending staff were just ignored and shoulders shrugged. We will not go back to this hotel unless management are able to confirm that these issues have been specifically dealt with. They were related to Christoffe who is a senior manager at the hotel and hopefully he can post a reply. Given the hotels great location and facilities it will be a pity and shame if it is not attended to.

Room Tip: Building 8 or 9, Ground floor if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jeff1996,

Thank you very much for sharing with us the difficulties you have experienced during your recent stay.

As our returning guest we are sincerely distressed to read that it was a sad return and hopefully you will give us another chance to turn that into a happy return next visit.

I hereby confirm that all the issues you mentioned have been dealt with:
-The beach club which is now three month old has been totally finalized and is now up and running properly
-We have increased the number of food & beverage attendants on the beach and by the pool, intensively trained them and hired two more supervisors for better control of our standard of service
-A new lot of pool towels have been received shortly after your stay to cope with a full house
-The breakfast staff is now well supervised with the presence on the floor of the F&B manager or his assistant every service

I do hope you had an enjoyable time at our sister property in Samui and that it made it up for the shortfall encountered during your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to demonstrate the improvements made.

Warm regards from Karon beach,

Christophe Gestin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great place, would recommend.. very affordable, free wifi, great air con.. a choice of 4 pools is great, huge hotel.

not very good on checkin but the service was great by ground staff.
photographic gardens could not be Beaton and the terraces are set out very well

Room Tip: rooms up in the terrace are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Jonty M

Thanks for your great review and very positive comments regarding the staff and grounds. We apologise for the delay at check-in. This can sometimes occur during peak check-in and out periods but we do offer compensation if the delay is extensive. We are pleased that your overall experience was a good one and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merthyr tydfil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed over Christmas and New Year 2012/13 and will comment under different headings.
Location.
Good with excellent pools and beach. We used the adult only pool most of the time but the main pool looked great fun for the kids with waterslides and the lazy river for inflatables etc.
The ten minute walk to Karon along the beach was ok in daylight but at night a 200 baht taxi ride was a must as the main road is unlit and dangerous. The same applies to Patong which is too far to walk (about 4k) and entails a 400 baht taxi ride. Over a two week stay this adds up and is worth factoring in your calculations.
Room
We stayed in 447 which has a jacuzzi on the L shaped balcony together with a very comfortable seating area. The super large bed was very comfortable and feather pillows, our preference, were available on request. The Venetian blinds fitted all round were a bit of a pain as they are very low geared and took an age to raise and lower. This is a particular nuisance if one of you wakes early and fancies sitting out on the balcony as they are also noisy to operate thus waking your partner.
The room was quite large with plenty of storage, likewise the bathroom complete with a glass rain shower cubicle and separate toilet. The sliding wooden doors that separate the bathroom from the bedroom were jammed open and despite asking for it to be fixed nothing happened.As the toilet door is glass this meant reduced privacy when using the toilet.
We were supplied four bottles of water daily as tap water cannot be used for drinking. This was adequate for our daily needs and a small jug of fresh milk was delivered within minutes of requesting it for tea and coffee.
We only used the jacuzzi once as the brown water was a bit offputting. A constant temperature was difficult to achieve in the shower, hot and cold fluctuations being the norm.
Restaurants
My partner is a coeliac sufferer so gluten free is a must in her diet. On our first day Sandro Agulero the executive chef (Spanish) assured us that this would be no problem and went out of his way to ensure that her choices from the buffet and a la carte met her requirements. Not all of the staff were as professional and plainly did not understand her requirements,which was a slight worry but thankfully no harm was done. Perhaps a better understanding of this allergy could be incorporated into staff training.
The Cove Restaurant is where breakfast is taken and the choices were very good from the buffet, everything from bacon and eggs to cold meats and cheeses, cereals, yoghurts,fruit, all being offered in abundance together with tea and coffee and fruit juices although the latter could do with real fresh orange juice as opposed to the " made from concentrate" on offer.
In the evenings the buffet was again first class, the seafood nights being particularly good with everything you could ask for including rock lobster and fresh oysters. On other nights the hot meats from the carvery were also very good and again in abundance.The buffet charge of 990 baht although not cheap compared to outside prices is good value for what you get.The cheapest bottle of wine on the list is 1200 baht but is of good quality.
The Italian Restaurant, where we ate three times during our stay gave us the only reason for complaint. The first time it was faultless, food good and service equally so. The second time, a disaster. We waited half an hour for our bottle of wine to arrive, a further half an hour for our meals and when they did arrive were so poorly cooked and presented that a transport cafe could have done better. The excuse given was that several people had ordered at the same time! I complained and offered to pay for the wine but not the food.To be fair they apologised and accepted that it was not to standard and removed the bill for food.I spoke to Sandro the executive chef the following day and he informed me that he had been away the night before but would make enquiries. He was as good as his word and came back to me to apologise and also sent the chef from the Italian restaurant to do likewise (he was European). They both assured me that the next visit would faultless. We decided to visit again on our last night accompanied by a Swedish couple we had met. Sandro himself would do the cooking for us.
The food was excellent, the only problem was that we the men had ours served together, one, which was not that which had been ordered, of the womens a while later, and the fourth one not at all! As it was going cold we ate the first two served, the wrong meal was taken away and finally the two correct meals for the women, freshly cooked, arrived later. Profuse apologies from Sandro for the inefficiencies of the staff followed yet again but for a supposedly five star hotel this is not good enough.

Overall impressions.
We had a good holiday but this is not a five star hotel, it cannot compare with The Penninsula in Bangkok which is a real five star. Also, we preferred the Dusit Laguna where we stayed on a previous visit to Phuket. There, the New Years Eve Gala Dinner included complimentary wine throughout the evening and complimentary champagne at midnight. In the Centara Grand we had the impression that you pay for everything handsomely. The 400% tax on alcohol charged by the Thai goverment does not help but a little goodwill by the hotel would not go amiss on special occasions.
The dress code asked for in the hotel restaurants is ignored by most of the guests (many are Russians) and out of control children a pain in the neck. However, these are paying guests and it is difficult to know how to enforce it without causing offence.
We would not go back there but if you have children and are happy to stay in the hotel complex for the duration of your stay it would be a good choice as there is enough to keep them occupied safely day after day.

Room Tip: The first floors are reached by up to sixty steps from ground level in most of the blocks. This keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Keith R

Thank you for your constructive review and your positive comments regarding many of our facilities. We are pleased that generally your room was to your liking but apologise for the inconvenience caused by the maintenance issues. We can assure you that we are diligently trying to address such maintenance requirements.

Again, thank you for highlighting the potential problems relating to guests dietary needs. We are enhancing our training to ensure all restaurant staff have a greater understanding of such issues.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the themed buffet nights but equally disappointed by your mixed experience in the Mare. This is not in keeping with the usual high standards normally demonstrated at this restaurant and the usual experience of our guests. We are constantly reviewing and identifying ways in which we can enhance our guest’s experience and your valued comments will greatly assist us.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Family Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.