We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 73 hotels in Karon
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel in November. After our sightseeing and shopping marathon in Bangkok and Chiang Mai it was lovely to get away from it all in this lovely hotel facing the beach at the quieter end of Karon Beach. This is a beautiful resort, even if you don't like the bright pink buildings, the maintenance of the grounds and the location are some of the best in Thailand.

The staff were amazing, so friendly and approachable and keen to help whenever they can especially if you take the time to be polite and patient. They make the resort special and I would go back just because they were so pleasant.

The spa is second to none as far as we are concerned; we selected the 2 day 5 hour treatment and were amazed at the quality, variety of treatment and value for money.

Finally, the breakfast is to die for; I have never encountered such a wide choice in any hotel in any country before. Take your pick and it's already included in the buffet breakfast and the staff no matter how busy were always polite.

This hotel doesn't ever appear to be quiet and for that I really do appreciate the way the staff conducted themselves.

The only cons I can thing off is that the hotel is let down by it's small lobby and receptions area and the rooms are suffering more wear and tear than I was expecting. The rooms are lovely but because of the costant flows of guests they don't get time to make good small damages which you would expect to be remedied in an international five star hotel before new guests arrive.

Room Tip: Great view from our room in block 5 on the 3/4 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Good Vacations

We are extremely pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful for your wonderful comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff and the quality of our food and our Spa.

As you correctly point out, it is difficult to constantly maintain the rooms during peak season and with such high occupancy levels but our Engineers are constantly striving to do their best to keep on top of maintenance issues.

We are glad that some of the smaller issues didn’t detract from your overall enjoyment. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    304
    133
    52
    31
See reviews for
514
376
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is set right at the Northern tip of Karon beach, slightly away from the bustling town centre. Great views over the sea. Hotel clean and tidy and away from main roads.

Lovely room (was in black 8) with a fantastic bathroom.

Staff were happy to help with anything. Lazy river and pools were excellent. Breakfast was as would be expected - a large buffet catering to all tastes.

Downsides - Water from the taps not always the cleanest, sometimes did come out a bit yellow, not a huge problem for me, just used the bottled water (hotel provided 2 bottles each day). Apparently this is an issue with the local supply so not a lot the hotel can do about it. There is a large sewage pipe entering the sea next to the hotel, apparently this is safe treated water, but a little unnerving all the same. The pool/beach bars and the hotel restaurants were very expensive compared to everywhere else (even the other hotels restaurants/bars).

The hotel ran a shuttle into the town, but this was only once or twice a day and could have been more frequent (the walk to Karon town is not a particularly nice one! - either down a busy unlit road, or along the beach where you had to cross a stream so would get your feet wet!!)

Sounds like a lot of downsides compared to upsides but this really is a great hotel and I am just picking holes. I really enjoyed my two weeks here and would definetly go back. From what I saw of the other hotels in Karon this was is definetly the best.

Room Tip: Blocks 8+9 are apparently newer so should be better quality. All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Andrew R

Thank you for your very positive review. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and our facilities.

We do try and ensure that our prices are comparable to other similar hotels but obviously cheaper food can be found at local outlets.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We travelled as a family over New Year and had a fantastic experience from start to finish. The team of staff at this resort are a credit to the hotel from the restaurant staff to the fabulous life guards who knew our kids names within the first two hours of being at the pool and were great fun.

We stayed in a premium spa deluxe room above the pool which was very well positioned and nicely appointed. The restaurants were very good, especially the Italian restaurant which was superb and brought the children's meals out early as they were really hungry and getting tired.

The New Year's Eve party was a great event which took days for the hotel to pull together and involved many of the staff who has worked all day in other areas of the hotel but continued to give a smiling service right through to the early hours.

The water park kept the kids entertained every day, but it was the life guards down there that really made the experience at the pool. Ton, Boy and Nok keep the pool safe while making sure that those kids have fun, a big thank you to them from all of us.

Please don't be put off by some of the recent negative reviews especially about the staff here, we witnessed several fantastic members of staff being treated very disrespectfully by a couple of the guests, those members of staff were very professional in the way they handled these unacceptable out bursts. We found the staff here to be great and had no cause for complaint as they often went the extra mile.

One of many examples of the team going the extra mile:

One of the waiters at the pool restaurant noticed that my daughter had scraped her foot. He called over one of the managers who offered to take her over to the health centre for first aid, as she was just about to eat her lunch he called over one of the life guards instead who gave her first aid at the table so that she was ready to go back to enjoy the pool straight away.


Great atmosphere, great team and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are fun for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear 40trip

Thank you for your tremendous review. Your wonderful comments regarding our hardworking and dedicated staff are very much appreciated and warmly welcomed by the staff.

Our Lifeguards are often the key to enjoying a safe but fun time for families and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

We are delighted you enjoyed your New Year stay with us. Come back soon!

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at Centara Grand was the best holiday my family has ever had. The hotel is fantastic and in a great area. We are trying to get back, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and especially families with children that are old enough to use the lazy river, cliff dive and water slides!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear gjv2474

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable time. Perhaps it wasn’t just the children who enjoyed the lazy river, cliff dive and slides?!!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having just stayed at this resort for 10 days, I have the following comments: while the rooms are beautiful, staff friendly and wonderful for kids, the service is really not good. The main problem with the service is the lack of English spoken by staff. This is portrayed as 5 star international hotel and as such staff need to be able to understand what guests are saying and requesting in order to provide good service. It was really frustrating when you asked for something and staff did not understand. Also, the hotel didn't have enough pool towels which is unacceptable and also ran out of chicken the one day, sweetener for coffee, diet coke at the pool bar and pizzas, also unacceptable for a 5 star hotel . The air conditioning seemed to be set on one temperature and was freezing and there is also an unpleasant smell in some areas of the hotel, especially outside the kids club. We are now at the centara in koh Samui and while the rooms are not great, the service and ambience is fantastic. If we return to Phuket, I don't think it will be to the centara.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Ian L

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the friendliness of the staff, the quality of our rooms and the excellent children’s facilities.

We apologise for the numerous supply issues. While delivery delays can occur, this should not occur so regularly in a 5 star resort and is a matter that is being addressed.

While there is room for improvement, the majority of our staff speak English to a sufficient level to carry out their role and this ability is reflected in the usual positive reviews. The staff are mainly exposed to English, Australian and American accents and can often find other accents difficult to understand. This is being addressed through training.

We are sorry you are not considering a return as a future visit would undoubtedly show many of your concerns had been addressed.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 12 nights at this wonderful hotel. I would by no means call it a 5 star resort, as it by no means measures up to other 5 star resorts we have stayed in previously. A decent 4 star would be appropriate. We stayed in a deluxe pool room overlooking the "lazy river". Kids absolutely loved the hotels pool facilities, and the restaurants were all good, although much better value is to be enjoyed out in the streets. Hotel staff not up to 5 star standard though, but overall experience was good. Great situation on Karon beach, and close to all the best beaches, Kata being our favorite, and to Patong for a little nightlife and shopping. All round a fantastic holiday in Phuket.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Tony R

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt the resort was not up to your expectations of a 5 star hotel. We are however, delighted that you found your overall experience an enjoyable one.

Please visit us again and perhaps we can show you many of the improvements we are trying to implement.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My sister aand I have just had 9 nights here, from the moment we checked in we were made to feel special.. The service was truly amazing!!! The staff are fabulous and soooo friendly!!! We were in Block 7, perfectly situated in the middle of resort..We were on the 3rd floor. Great views. Check in was a breeze which was much appreciated after the long flight from Cairns.. Welcome drink was a nice touch.
This resort has the best of all worlds,the quietness of Karon Beach, but close enough to Patong if you really felt the need for the hustle and bustle..The ADULT only pool was a great touch, just having the silence and no splashing etc from kids was Fab..
The food was amazing, the buffet breakfast WOW!!! Could there have been anymore choices?? Thank Goodness for the well set up Gym!!! The Spa treatments are to die for..We had a 4 hour package that was amazing.. If we had this treatment in Aus it would have been four times the price.. The staff here were so good we wanted to take them home with us.. Overall a 10 out of 10. couldn't find a thing to fault and I trave a lot.. We are already planning a return visit next year!!!

Room Tip: Try and stay in block 7, it is situated in middle of resort, conveniently located to everyhting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Denise P

The staff have fond memories of you and your sister. We are so glad you had a memorable stay with us and are very much looking forward to your return this year.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.