We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 73 hotels in Karon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just come back from celebrating our anniversary and honeymoon at Centara. I must admit that past reviews nearly swayed my decision but I'm glad we stuck to our guns.
The grounds, reception area and our ocean facing room was brilliant. Our room was always cleaned and we enjoyed the little touches with our turndown service. Reception was always more than helpful and very prompt with any dealings.
The Buffet Breakfast was always delicious and never too overcrowded. Food and drinks I found to be reasonably priced.
My only let down was the BBQ buffet on a Thursday night. The meat and Prawns were not cooked properly.

Overall our stay was wonderful and I would recommend this place to anyone. We will definitely be back with our kids in tow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    588
    303
    133
    52
    31
See reviews for
513
376
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren North
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently returned from 7 night stay at Centara Grand Phuket and absolutely loved it. The first night on arrival i was a little disappointed as i was told that the room that i had booked and paid for was not available and we had been given an upgrade to a spa deluxe room which i dont believe was an upgrade as room was alot smaller than the Premium Ocean View room that i had booked. Spoke to reception who apologised and organised for a our room to be available for us the next morning - new room was amazing. From then on our holiday was fantastic! Beautiful pools and surrounding, perfect for kids and adults. Breakfast was great with a huge variety.

Room Tip: We had room 227. Premium Ocean View with massive balcony. Woke up to a beautiful view of the ocean e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Never thought I would be one to do this ... But I know I read a lot if reviews before we had our first visit to Phuket and the iced reviews had me worried!
We stayed for 10 fantastic nights at the resort in a two bedroom pool villa - we have 3 young boys 5-8 years and the villa was Devine! The pool was great for when we wanted to relax at home Ns we could get prompt room service and cocktails delivered :) bliss
In terms of facilities they were we one to none - pools restaurants staff cleanliness and position all fantastic especially for families - your a quick trip to the hustle and bustle of Patong or Karon if you choose - the beach is right there which boasts the massages drink stalls and restaurants.
I could go on and on - we were very close to extending our stay for another 5 days but we had commitments in Bangkok - we will definitely be back as soon as possible - even the kids were shattered to leave
Oh and I must add everyday they asked (yes that's right) to go to kids club :)
Perfection on all fronts!
Don't hesitate - I k ow it is one of the more expensive options but you so t be disappointed :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Anyone who says this is the best hotel they have ever seen has not been to a proper 5 star hotel. We were meant to stay at the hotel for 6 nights, having spent the first 2 weeks of our stay in another part of Phuket. We stayed roughly 3 hours before checking out! Our first impression was the lobby, which was dated and not at all grand. The staff were unfriendly and the corridors seemed more suited to a hospital than an apparently luxury hotel. The room which was sold as a Deluxe Ocean View Room had absolutely nothing deluxe about it. In fact, it was filthy! There were dead insects lying around the floors and skirting boards. The skirting boards also had months worth of dust and hairs. The glass toilet door was smeared with dirty fingerprints and there was an awful stench throughout the room. There were also wires sticking out of the wall where some of the light-fittings were. Having a three year old with us; this was a serious safety concern, since they were within reach. On complaining; I was told I had "only booked a standard room'! On taking the complaint further with a manager, I was informed that we should go for a complimentary lunch, while they tried to come up with something better. The lunch didn't lift our mood any. It was extremely greasy with sloppy presentation. The restaurant did not up the stakes on cleanliness either. After seeing this and having a quick walk around the pool area, which looked like something from a 3 star 1980s hotel in Tenerife, we decided to leave. The best part of the short stay was the air conditioned departure in one of the hotels taxis. I can honestly say that the manager genuinely did seem concerned and tried to help us and avoid us leaving, but he could not have fixed the problems that were there. This hotel needs a major renovation to even be in with a chance of becoming a 5 star resort. The rooms look to be modern enough, but the luxury details are missing and I believe that cleanliness should never be an issue, whether you stay in 3,4 or 5 star hotels. I would never have imagined walking out of a 5 star hotel, but in this case it just was not an option to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Guest Relations Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very for taking the time to place a review.

It is disappointing to read of your unhappy experience at our hotel, but perhaps it is a shame that you did not spend more time with us, so that the issues you raise could have been more properly addressed. If, as you said the room was in an unclean state and is need of repair, then I must apologise and assure you that this is not our normal standard.

Our staff are rewarded for their friendly and courteous approach to guests, so I am somewhat puzzled by the comment concerning “unfriendly staff”.

I agree that the lobby area is more functional than grand but the normal quality of service more than compensates for the lack of splendid decor.

Again it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your complimentary meal.

I agree that the cleanliness should not be an issue in any hotel but all the tropical locations the occasional insect or small lizard cannot be avoided.

It is unfortunate that our manager could not persuade you to stay to allow us to show you a true picture of the hotel.

Warm regards
Fongfa Eadjongdee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had 8 nights at the hotel and I never wanted to leave. Room was perfect food was great and the service was fantastic. Great pool area for all the family. Would stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to have a great holiday. Thanks Grand Centara.

Room Tip: Block 8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Centara Grand Resort at Karon Beach for 9 nights. This was our first time to visit Thailand and also our first visit to any of the Centara group of resorts.

The resort is located in a very nice location with a private beach in Karon which is 10 min drive from Patong. There are taxi services at the front of the resort. Also, car rentals are offered via the resort. Our room was number 621, The Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing room had pool views and (partly) ocean view.

Cleanliness & service is great in this resort. Our room was cleaned twice a day. In the morning, we had clean sheets, clean towels, clean bathroom & 4 sealed bottles of water (drinking and brushing teeth) & fruit plate. In the afternoon, service will come to turn down the bed, sometimes they leave a lovely note or a flower on the bed, we also get little cheese platter or dessert in the afternoon.

"Swatee Ka or Swatee Kub" ( thats Hello in Thai ) from every staff who will greet you with a lovely smile and very polite attitude.

I had a Spa credit which I have used. It was a bit dearer compared to outside prices however the great service & professional massage skills they offer in the spa club were worth the extra money.

We had breakfast everyday in the resort and the food is amazing ... enough to fill you to dinner! You name it , it was on the morning buffet. We also tried the Italian restuarant and it was a great meal.

I have to mention that we both got sick from eating at a local night market. Although this was not the fault of the resort, when they knew, they provided us with access to an in-house nurse and a doctor to the room . The staff were very caring. They provided us with a room service meal (at no cost). They continually called us to ask about us and we had flowers and a "get well soon" card from them. How lovely !!!

Overall, we would rate this resort as excellent. Great location, service and facilities. Just a couple of suggestion...free wi-fi in the rooms would be good. Softer mattresses would also be good and fresh milk in the room each day would help.

Thank you for a fantastic holiday and for all your care and attention to detail. We would love to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its a hotel that you can easily see yourself staying in for a few weeks and not realising where time went. There is so much to do if you can get yourself out of the pool. The kids, ours was only 2 yrs old, loved the pool and the kids club. The staff are great and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, although we would have liked to have got one slightly closer to the pool rather than the one farthest away. Moving around with a stroller did get a little challenging at times. I have to say that the breakfast is one of the most amazing that i have come across. Such a vast selection of food, something for everyone. The only negative point that i would make is the lack of vegetarian options on their menus. The also need to also be more flexible with being able to make meals for kids. They are unable to make a half sized portion at half the price for a child but instead were ok to see the remaining half go to waste. Club benefits are great, no vegetarian options here either but they fixed that after the first day or so. This could be looked at and improved. These are minor things but overall, we had a great time and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#11 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.