We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, highly recommend this hotel to family with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, highly recommend this hotel to family with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

It was an excellent experience to my family, all of us are very happy with the facilities and service! Especially to the kids pool, although it was very big of the pool, but the slide is in a good function with enough quantity of water to push the kids sliding from high and the two longer slides are fabulous!! Besides, the diving area is also very nice, it has two jumping points (I guess one is about 3 metres height and the other is about 5 metres height), it is very exciting!!! Their lifeguards are doing the great job to keep safe by control the guests jump one by one!!

Besides, I enjoyed the breakfast very much!! Many choices of foods, and they are in good quality!!

The staffs are very helpful and cheerful!! Although they english is not good enough but still can be communicated!!

Room Tip: House 9 is the most nearest building to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    390
    164
    66
    40
See reviews for
641
473
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The two weeks we were in Phuket, we ended up staying in four different 5-star resorts,
giving us an excellent opportunity to compare the different hotels, and so therefore I decided to write my first reviews after being an avid user in here for several years.

We stayed for a week in room 435, a standard ocean view room.
The room was great, being very open and you had an ocean view while sitting in the bathtub in the bathroom.
Compared to Patong, the beach was nice and quiet, but still had several sunbeds for rent and around 5 restaurants nearby. The hotel also provided sunbeds and umbrellas, but these were a bit away from the water.
The Luna bar holds happy hour between 5 and 7 PM, and lying here in the lounge beds while watching the sunset with a drink in hand, was one of our nicest moments in this hotel. Also in the Luna bar and other places they have a lighting ceremony of some sort at sunset where they place oil candles for great ambience. The managers also sometimes show up here to have a talk with the guests - a nice touch.
The breakfast was pretty good. They have a cook preparing eggs anyway you'd like and a full assortment of the regular stuff. Like everywhere else they also fail to keep the milk proper cold and the juice is, as any breakfast buffet I've ever experienced, more like lemonade than proper juice. Guess the real stuff is too expensive.
They have two PCs with Internet in the lobby, free of charge, which often had people waiting in line to use them. WiFi costs an arm and a leg. I still don't understand this. Why should people who use their own PCs instead of the hotel's have to be punished? Since two PC's is way too little for such a big hotel, it should be a lot cheaper to just provide free WiFi instead of having to set up a decent amount of PC's so there won't always be a wait for them.
Water in the rooms is another problem. For such a fancy shower head, it's sad that there's no water pressure to make full use of it. Just getting the shampoo out of ones hair took ages.
Also a few times, we got some weird brown water out of the faucets.
The hotel grounds is huge and has a rather confusing layout. You don't just pop up to the room for a water, if you're lying at the pool, because it's quite a trip to get there.
The walking path into Karon needs serious improvements. You either risk your life by walking in the road ditch for a few hundred meters with traffic coming right at you at high speeds, or you take the beach path, where you have to walk down a steep slope, under electrical wires and without any lights whatsoever. After this choice, you have to pass the sobriety test and walk the appx 60 cm wide and 4-5 meter long bridge without arm railings across murky water. After this you're home free :-)
All in all it's a good hotel for a longer stay as it has the beach, is pretty close to Karon and also only a 300 baht taxi trip to Patong.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samutsakorn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Centara is the perfect place that you can stay with your family . There are many facilities and activities to do on the club and the beach.It is not far from shopping centre. Food is goo Quality. You will happy to stay at Centara.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Amazing! Only about 12 months old. We had our honeymoon as our wedding gift list. You get so much for your money in Thailand. Amazing Hotel. Cannot fault it in anyway. Staff are amazing. Food and drink excellent. Adult pool area is very calm and relaxing, but you can pop over to the lazy river, the main pool or in-pool bar. Beautiful beach. We had a jacuzzi suite which gave us access to the club suite for cocktails and snacks throughout the day. Well worth the extra if you can stretch it. Not far to walk into Karon town or taxi or tuk tuk into main town. Would give anything to return. Maybe for an anniversary if I'm lucky! Better start saving .....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I'm not one to generally write reviews, however this hotel is well worth a stay, and my way of expressing my gratitude for such amazing friendly service, spotless cleanliness, and an overall delightful 4 days break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Same dates as the last reviewer, yet not a mozzy to be seen??
Fantastic resort, really could not fault it....
This resort clearly recently opened so unfortunately a little building dust here & there & not yet used to its full potential....
Bonus for us as it was so quiet, great main pool with a super area for children plus a separate adult pool,.
A stroll onto the very clean beach, a few resident dogs but doing no wrong,
The few bars on the beach are ridiculously cheap & the food very good.
You can walk to the very far end of the beach to where "The Marina" hotel is where there is a super restaurant for both lunch & dinner with beautiful views,
We walked on the beach most evenings to get to the Restaurant & Bars of Kata & felt very safe, A short taxi ride to Patong to a more fun, lively & vibrant town, great Restaurants, many bars with live music.
The people of Thailand are just so warm & friendly needless to say the staff at Centara beach were wonderful, helpful & very hardworking.
We would recommend Centara to any couple or family looking to visit Phuket,
(unless you are super fussy & expecting 5* plus, this is a good 5* Hotel)
It is a beautiful hotel in a super central location, having tested out a couple of other beaches along the coast, you wont get much better than Karon unless you want something a little more secluded which you can find a short ride away.
We upgraded to a bigger ocean front room for a very small nightly cost.
There are far too many Thai Restaurants to recommend, If you are looking for Indian...
visit Royal Tandoor in Patong, Down the main street where no cars are allowed down a side street (78/6 soi moh wattana, Thaweewong road)
Not much to look at, but fantastic food.
Enjoy your stay at Centara beach, We are looking forward to visiting Centara in Samui next time in hope that we will enjoy it just as much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed in February 11 for 4 nights...very good location just 10 min drive to Patong and 5 min to Karon right on beach...spa was good...club lounge was also good...internet was very cheap in the room...being vegetarian food was problem for us,I think they should have some more variety of veg food...we wanted to stay in a pool villa but when we were surprised to see that these rooms had zero privacy and no view in spite of high room rates...we were fortunate to get a jacuzi room no 941...i think this room had maximum possible privacy in entire hotel...room was far away from reception and buggy service was poor...being a new hotel they should have paid more attention on these matters.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.