We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in comfort and appeal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kata Beach Center Hotel to your Saves list
Kata Beach Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   98/47 Kata Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 80 Karon B&B and Inns
Greve, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lacking in comfort and appeal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked for 11 nights and left after 4, forfeiting the cost for the remaining 7 days. The rooms were tired, nothing compared to the photos. The bed was solid as a brick and the pillows much the same. We booked a comfort room.. the hotel is split in two away from the main reception and with no lift, walking up the 3 flights of stairs after a long day in the heat is not too inviting. Only the temperature could be adjusted on the air-cnditioning unit and not the fan level, so sleeping at night was mostly unsettled due to the high pressure of the air-con facing the bed. We tried leaving it off but would constantly wake due to the humidity in the room. We did not eat at the restaurant so could not comment there, yet the staff were always friendly. It is set back from the main street and about a 15-20 min walk to the beach and main shopping area of Kata. The pool was pretty basic and with no pool bar. Not really suited for a romantic relaxing couples getaway but would probably reccommend for mates travelling together.

Room Tip: Maybe pay more and book a Deluxe room instead.. not sure if they are any better though
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
63
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel, located right near the beach, with a splendid view overlooking the bay. Good value for money and delicious breakfasts make this hotel well worth the money. You can go scuba diving as well, at the dive centre which is located a stone's throw away. We did a night dive- it was awesome !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I were very glad to be in the Kata Beach Center area. It is much quieter and less crowded than resorts on the beach but the hotel itself is only a couple minute walk to Kata Beach. The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating. They made us feel like family. When I was injured in a scooter accident they were very helpful and brought dinner up to our room. We enjoyed our time there and would stay there again if we are ever back in Phuket. We even bought one of the beautiful paintings hanging in the lobby!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Family run hotel within walking distance to Kata Beach, shopping, restaurant and bars.
A warm welcome, very nice and clean rooms and helpful staff. Especially the BBQ nights are worth attending with good food. The singer(s) are great and very good at involving all guests to make you feel special and you are welcome to dance too ;o). If you want to have a nice and quiet location (close to everything) I can really recommend this Dutch owned hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Reading the positive reviews I was disappointed staying here for 3 nights. The reason I call this a guesthouse with ambition instead of a hotel are the following:
- No buffet breakfast (which is a must in this price range), breakfast had to be ordered and was rather basic.
- The 'hotel' is located in a residential street and spread out over several buildings around a roundabout and street. Depending what room you're in you take a different back entry into one of the residential buildings (our room was above an Indian tailor).(obviously they started small and have gradually bought rooms in different buildings as they grew).
- The (small) pool is behind one of the residential buildings and accessible from the street.

Also note that this place is about a 15minute walk from the beach, which isnt too bad but the walk is along a smelly sewer/river/waterway.....

That said the positive things are:
- Clean & spacious rooms (although a bit basic).
- Very friendly and helpfull staff
- Quiet area so not too much street noise
- A range of restaurants is nearby

For this price range you can probably find a better place if you shop around. (depending on how busy it is)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

In this hotel I had a wunderful time. The restaurant is cosy, the meals (breakfast also) very good, the bbq evenings a real happening. Nice room to sleep, good swimmingpool with salt water en the Thais people and the management people very kind. Really e very good place to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I had a great time with my wife in this Dutch family run hotel. We had a room on the second floor with view on the swimming pool. The pool was about 4 x 11 meters and adequate for the size of this hotel. The rooms and public areas were very clean which is important for us. The breakfast was nice and could even be ordered at 14:00 after our night out in Patong. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Center Hotel

Address: 98/47 Kata Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Beach Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kata Beach Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Karon
Kata Beach Center Hotel Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.